We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and awesome location!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort to your Saves list
Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Ward 7, Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Duong Dong
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great service and awesome location!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Great spot, better service and better than average rooms! It is not without fault but I would not hesitate to recommend it to everyone.

We got a complementary taxi service to the resort on arrival and all we paid for was the toll charge.

Rooms are spacious and A/C works well. When we arrived we got an upgrade as the room we had booked was not available but staff was super friendly and made us feel welcome.

Bar/restaurant is beautifully located on the beach with reasonable prices and good food. Every night there is an impressive display of fresh fish and seafood and staff are always on hand to help with a smile.

If you are very fussy you might find little things to complain, the most blatant being that some of the finishes to the bungalows could be of a higher standard which is why it gets 4 and not 5 stars but all in all incredible spot if you enjoy rest and relaxation.

Staff at reception are always on hand to provide tips on where to go and what to see and you can also rent a motorbike here and explore the island.

If you find yourself thinking of going to Phu Quoc this is certainly a contender and gret value for money!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    73
    43
    27
    21
See reviews for
24
97
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Having read some previous comments with regard to the Arcadia, I can confirm that the early teething problems seem to have been sorted. So what if the staff don't speak much English...It is Vietnam after all!! There was no building work going on and the staff were extremely helpful when needed. Intermittent wifi..not while we were there.
We opted for a sea view bungalow and it didn't disappoint. very clean, pricing ok, large open plan with good bathroom. Beds might be too hard for some, but this seems a common issue in Vietnam. Breakfast absolutely fine and a location overlooking the ocean,(also great in the evening for the sunset) which is hard to beat. The private beach front is a bit measleading as all the hotels on Long beach seem to have the same. It won't stop the locals from trying to sell you something but this really isn't a problem.
Long beach it's self is quite well maintained and this is the only part of Phu Quoc which presenlty caters for tourists in any number. Having said that it is still extremely quiet in comparison to Thailand and mainland resorts of Vietnam. Venture away from here and you will be a lonely westerner.
There are a number of restaurants on the beach. Our favourite was left on the beach front next to the Arcadia. I can honestly say this will serve you up the best hot pot ever. We also ate in the Night Market one evening and the fish dishes, while being cheap, were incredible.
Location wise, the Arcadia is set down a some narrow road with other small hotels. At the top of the road you will find (5mins walk) ATMS, few shops, laundry, few restuarants, massage salon and taxis into Duong Town. Some google maps position the hotel near the old airport. This is not true as it is in fact south of the town.
Hiring a motorbike is easy from reception and once you understand that there appears to be no rules on the road, go for it> I only fell of once but that was my own stupidity.Roads on the island vary from mud/dust to tarmac. one can lead to the other without warning so beware.
With the new aiport now open (Dec 12) and road infrastructure growing, Large international hotels will arrive. There is plenty of scope for growth near the new airport and so for that reason hotels presently on Long Beach should not suffer.
One slight amusing aspect was that on arrival we had 3 chairs on our veranda. By the time we left we had none! No reason given but they did seem to vanish in the middle of the night.
Phu Quoc is presently a gem, but if the global forces of tourism and foreign investment take hold, there is no doupt the island will lose some of its charm. As for the Arcadia, It is clearly one of the better ones on Long Beach. The closure you get to Duong the more colonial the hotels appear and the less inviting. It is here that any package groups will be located but these will be few and far between.
I have given the place an 'excellent' rating as their travel industry is still in its infancy compared with other SE Asia countries.As such be prepared for some local issues, it adds to the flavour. If you want 5 star stay in Thailand or Malaysia: After all the Vietnamese are so friendly and what then cannot supply with mod cons they make up with their enthusiasm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading, berks
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

When we arrived, our beach front bungalow wasn't available and we were given a garden bungalow instead. This room costs less and is probably better value for money - we were actually disappointed when we were given the room we had booked. The beach front bungalows are said to have 180 degree views but as one large window opened up onto a path leading to the beach, we ended up keeping the windows closed.

Rooms are fairly large and cleaning is OK but not perfect. Bed was very comfortable and A/C worked well, apart from having to reset it every time you had left the room. Bathroom was very small but shower eventually provided lots of hot water. It was nice to be able to sit on a patio and watch the sunset.

The bar/restaurant was good and reasonably priced. Breakfast was good with the option of freshly cooked eggs and pancakes. There are good restaurants either side of the hotel

Beach is nice, wide and clean. There are plenty of sunloungers and towels but while we were there other guests put towels on the loungers with the best shade, even before breakfast meaning that choice was limited if you were a bit later.

The staff is very pleasant but English is very limited and there were sometimes long waits for service.

The management does need to pay attention to maintenance though. This resort isn't very old but the patio doors stick and creak, the toilet cistern kept filling, the fittings in the bathroom were obviously cheap and not very good (considering we paid over $100 per night) and the closet is too small.

Room Tip: Don't bother with a beach front bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

The resort has a good potential: good position on Long Beach, nice bungalows (especially those with the sea-view) and, compared to other hotels in PQ, a wide and not too crammed beach area.

The way the resort is managed however is terrible, absurd almost. Rooms and the beach are not properly cleaned. Maintenance is non-existing (the windows in our bungalow could not be closed and hordes of mosquito could get in; most of the chairs/umbrellas on the beach are broken).

I had to ask twice for a table and chairs for our terrace. The day after the staff took them away and I had to ask again. The last day the staff took the table away but I could not be bothered to ask once more.

The beach-volleyball court exactly in the middle of the beach area seems a silly idea considering people go there to relax and not to have people (mostly non-guests) to play in front of them and make noise.

The service at the restaurant is almost surreal: the only time we had lunch there, clients at 4 out of 5 table stood up and left because it took more than 1 hour to have food on the table. We waited 45 minutes before a waiter told us what we ordered was not available. At that point we stood up and left as well.

It is a shame the potential the resort has is completely wasted and I hope management will understand that to make the rates charged to customers worth service must improve significantly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver island
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

The beach in front of the Arcadia is the finest along Long Beach which is probably the best beach during wintertime in Vietnam. We planned on staying 5 nights but changed to 9 because of the lovely location. We originally booked a regular room but upgraded to a waterfront bungalow No.11 because it was truly luxurious and wonderful. The bathroom was larger than anything we've ever seen before. The restaurant staff are helpful and very nice but more training is needed. For lunch and dinner it's advisable to go elsewhere although breakfast is pretty good. A cheap taxi ride to Ganesh Indian Restaurant which is the best Indian food we've experienced anywhere in the world is a must do. Rory's along the beach to the left is a good place for happy hour.

Room Tip: Any bungalows along the front facing the beach are lovely although a bit more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

Loved it here. Stayed for 7 days, didn't want to leave. Nice room, upon arrival told room upgraded (for free), having not seen original room can't compare but I like the room.

Negatives Previously Mentioned By Others

A few comments mentioned before are correct, some I didn't agree with but everyone has different experiences.
The doors and windows in your room are left open constantly by cleaning staff, allowing the mosquitoes easy access, NEVER ending battle, eaten alive!
The shower/water is a bit random it has to be said, but as long as you shower when outside temp is up, it's no biggie.
I personally thought the staff were ok. Friendly, made the effort to talk, a few had good English, some only a few words, but hey, you're in Vietnam, not England or America!! I liked a line from the film Blood Diamond, when Danny Archer says "TIA" meaning, "this is Africa". I personally use the term for "this is Asia". You're not at home or at a 50 years experience 5* destination, these people are not familiar yet with high end tourism so if you don't come here expecting it and say to yourself, "TIA" you'll have a much nicer holiday!


Breakfast/Restaurant

Well, there's certainly enough food to choose from but get there at 9 latest (on till 10) we got there twice after and found food not being replaced and run out. I can't say we had an issue sitting, there was always at least 5 tables spare anytime we arrived. Agree with others, the egg guy does a great job, always smiling too, lacking in English but his ear to ear smile more than makes up for it. Now, my only real issue was drinks. It was watermelon, pineapple or lemon juice EVERY morning. Now, I dislike all of those and with water constantly running out, was often left thirsty. They make amazing fresh orange juice which I personally feel should be included as a breakfast juice.
As regards lunches/dinners, we ate here a few times, always had in what we ordered, but then we only ordered rice and noodles (noodles came out totally different both times, though nice both times). I loved the fried rice with chicken, very tasty!
A tip for food, have a look at the islands top restaurants, the number 1, which I think is called Sakura is AMAZING. It's not in town, it is 20ish mins away but the food is to die for, we hired bikes so took ourselves. We went twice and would've happily gone back every day! The shrimp spring rolls, pork with fish sauce in clay pot and chicken fried in coconut milk were all divine, VERY reasonably priced compared to the restaurants near the hotel.

Beach/Sunbeds

So the umbrellas will all be gone by 8:30 if hotel is full. It gets VERY hot here from Jan-April so if you're fair skinned and burn easily like me, I'd advise you to get up early and get one! We found the beach towels were not always ready to take so remember to take your own! I think this is the best beach on the island, having driven around the island and seeing the rest, this is the nicest! Never saw an issue with rubbish on 'our' beach but saw evidence of rubbish further down.

All in all, a very nice place, very peaceful and relaxing, a nice get away and I would definitely return.
If you want better English, service and *** you should go to Thailand or come here in 10 years!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erfurt, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Our room as situated in a building next to the entry, we had a view on a concrete tower containing a water tank and a very noisy pump for 57 dollars a night, 'special offer' at agoda.

What we hated most was that in our room was a constant stench of excrement coming from the shower drain. It was so annoying!
Also, we could hear a permanent noise produced by something sort of pump como from the ceiling which is why we had to use earplugs every night.

The Wifi didn't really work in the room, even though there were three Wifi networks provided by the hotel. If you had reception, the speed was extremely slow, insufficient for voip / Skype.

The lamp near the bed was not working.

The breakfast was ok, but the cheese and the sausage were of poor quality without taste. The freshly prepares Omelette and the fruits were very good, though. The coffee was only filter machine coffee, no real Vietnamese style coffee.

In the end we moved to another resort further down the beach . We prefer the atmosphere of the new place. Guests as well as staff are much friendlier and welcoming than in Arcadia. We got a nice bungalow with bathroom, air conditioning and fridge for 40 usd a night and are much happier there.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort

Address: Ward 7, Tran Hung Dao Street, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get ready for an exotic getaway in one of the jewels of the Orient – Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam. Revel in the Gulf of Thailand’s crystal clear turquoise waters. Bask in the tropical sun on the golden sands of Long Beach, one of the top beaches in Asia. Soak it all up at Arcadia, the newest luxurious private beach resort. Located in the heart of Phu Quoc’s tourism- Duong Dong Town.The freshly opened resort, provides 19 guestrooms and 9 bungalow suites- each warmly designed to be the epitome of luxury. Each bungalow suite is built with coconut-thatched roof. This architecture perfectly blends in with the island’s surrounding environment; whilst, delivers you a tropical utopia. Designed with utmost contemporary interiors- all guestrooms boast of marble flooring and bathroom counter-tops. Our bungalow suites are engineered with dark hardwood floors and floor-to-ceiling windows for panoramic views. Every care has been taken to deliver an exclusive island beach vacation to our valued clients. The entire resort is beautifully landscaped- such that wherever the eyes turns, there are green lawns running into extensive stands of preserved native trees. Direct private access on Long Beach entitles you to the best of both worlds- natural setting with coziness of the tropical forest, and the warm sunrays dazzling on the crystal clear blue water. As one of the best beaches in Vietnam, Arcadia Resort promises you the beach vacation of a lifetime. Take one of the multiple daily flights that connect Ho Chi Minh City with Dong Duong. Or enjoy a 1.5 hours ferry ride up from Rach Gia or Ha Tien port. A brief interlude and you will soon be far away from the madness of metropolitan life, reveling in the calm waters of the Gulf of Thailand. Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort welcomes you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arcadia Phu Quoc Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.