We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome view!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rory's Beach Bar

Rory's Beach Bar
118/10 Tran Hung Dao | Phu Quoc Island, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
+84 91 933 39 50
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 42 Restaurants in Duong Dong
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $15
Cuisines: Hamburgers, Pizza & Pasta, Australian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Description: Rory's Beach Bar is now owned by Australian Couple Rory and Yoon. (Formerly Amigos, owned by 3 Aussies who opened for business October 2010.) We have 4 recently renovated bungalows with queen size bed, air con, hot water, cable tv & mini bar. With Competitive rates but ensure a truly wonderful stay. Our Bar & Restaurant is situated on lovely Long Beach, offering delicious home cooked Australian, Western & Asian Fusion cuisine. Our bar offers a wide range of cocktails, wine & ice cold beer, as well as good music.Rory's entertainment has a pool table, dart board, dancing area, wifi & childrens play area. Everybody is welcome Day and Night for the best place on the Island to relax and unwind and let the good times roll. It is the latest place open on the Beach and the Earliest to get in and have a Bloody Mary or a Bloody good Breakfast. Also check out our Facebook Page, Rory's Beach Bar Phu Quoc.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Awesome view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

We came here two days in a row thanks to it's funky ambiance and beautiful view of the ocean. Some of the tables are right on the beach, while others are on the deck just two steps up from the beach. No matter what, you're going to have a great view. We ordered the softshell crab one night, which was good. I think the food is a little pricey for Vietnam and even Phu Quoc standards, but you get what you pay for. The music playing was american, so fit to my taste :) . Just a place I can imagine going out with friends for a chill afternoon. I'd definitely return on my next trip.

The owner offered us some of his shortbread cookies that he got for Tet, which was kind of him. Friendly owners/workers, but not overbearing, which was great. The Australian woman working made sure to put mosquito repellent coils beneath our feet so we wouldn't get bitten more than we already were!

Thanks, Rory's!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    130
    42
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We liked the atmosphere, and a really helpful owner and bartender. Has a pool table, televisions, and music. Didn't try any food, but the drinks were good. They did have pizza and burgers, and it looked good. Overall a little pricey, but to be expected for a beach side bar.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A place to eat decent burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

If you want something ells than Vietnamese food, here you can get a good burger and nice fruit smoothies!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Super”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

The owners are great (the called around and found a place for us to watch the Super Bowl). The burgers are good. And the drinks are cold. Great experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great place to have a drink on the beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

This place really had the best vibe along the whole beach! Super relaxed, with great chairs on the beach to watch the world go by - or pass the night!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rory's Beach Bar also viewed

Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
 
Phu Quoc Island, Kien Giang Province
Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island
 

Been to Rory's Beach Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rory's Beach Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.