We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of A74 Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added A74 Hotel to your Saves list
A74 Hotel
74 Tran Hung Dao | Phu Quoc Island, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island KP7, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Duong Dong
Adelaide
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at this hotel in the part of December 2013 and really liked it. It was basic but had everything one needed. The manager and staff were awesome in helping out with whatever one needed. I would highly recommend A74 for people on a budget. Will definitely return. My regards all all there,Peter.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    54
    22
    7
    6
See reviews for
7
52
24
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Capitola, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

First of all, in the quest for helpful votes as I try to pull even with my wife, here is some advice which just has to be worth a few clicks. The best way to get to the water is NOT to turn left leaving A74 which amounts to sort of having to slink by a guard shack as you tip toe through the big box resort next door. We found it far more relaxing to turn right and walk through. Moon Resort just down the road. It is less pretentious to say the least with a simple path through their property that ends up at a more public oriented beach area.

Ok, here is why A74 works. The manager seems to delight in customer service and as there are always kinks and problems to solve like bad ac remote batteries and a zillion other moving targets in this basic facility, being treated to his clear enjoyment of making guests comfortable is as good as customer service gets. Leaving early? He offers a to go breakfast. Can't make your mind whether to extend or by how many days? He happily adjusts.

We were not bowled over by Phu Quoc as it is obviously trying to five star itself without enough of the basics in place like decent shopping, tuk tuks for easy mobility or waterfalls that actually have water. Maybe that is not fair in late December but the one we went to on our rented motorbike was pretty underwhelming and anyone spending buku bucks for a taxi there would likely be pretty unhappy.

Every day after our adventures on the island brought us back to our smiling guesthouse manager though and that was always a pleasant experience. He will do the same for you.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

I didn't stay at the hotel I just had a great egg sandwich and the staff was nice. The hotel was fully booked otherwise we would live there. Close to beach and 10 min walk to city. Fresh and clean restaurant. Im going there again this morning for this lovely sandwich :)

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

We were all well looked after during our stay at the A74 hotel. The hotel manager speaks good English and is happy to help in any way he can. The breakfasts are delicious and the rooms represent good value for money. The beach is only a short walk away (we were able to walk through the resort next door) and it is also only a 10 minute walk to the night market. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We really enjoyed A74. The manager is delightful, speaks good English, and is happy to take care of all your needs. Iced tea is on the house, the banana pancakes for breakfast are delicious, and the in-room internet is decent. Walk to town is about 1 km, and there are a handful of decent restaurants right around A74 if you don't feel like walking to town. The hotel is decently quiet except for construction, but you are going to find that kind of noise almost everywhere on Phu Quoc these days, as development is moving at breakneck speed here. Only drawback is not being on the beach, which is a 10 min. walk away since the resort next door will not let you walk through their property. Phu Quoc is so beautiful, it's a bit of a bummer not to be on the beach. But, the price is right here if you are on a budget.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

I stayed in the A74 Hotel in November 2013……….having booked 5 nights, I extended my stay for another 3 nights, partly because the weather was so good, but mostly because the location and quality of service at the hotel was so good……….the manager Bao and his girlfriend Hieu who run the hotel are just so remarkably friendly and helpful; nothing is too much trouble for them, I asked if I could have fresh papaya and mango every morning, because it was not on the breakfast menu, and it was supplied and I was not charged any extra…………the hotel is located very close to the beach, but without beach frontage; however, you can walk through the grounds of the resort next door, and if you buy your drinks from their bar, you will probably be able to use one of their sun-beds, as I did every day……………given the price, location, cleanliness of the rooms and the wonderful service, this little hotel comes highly recommended…...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK- South East
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here a total of 5 nights, first 2 in a private room then 3 in dorm room (dorms don't seem to appear online but are $8pp pn, no breakfast).

Private room was a decent size and came with places to store luggage and clothes as well as fridge and tv. Room had brilliant air con as well as a fan. Bathroom was basic but clean. Wifi worked well in room, stopped working once but manager more than happy to sort it out which he did!

Dorm room: to save a bit of money we realised that the dorms are pretty quiet here. There's 3 of them 2 X 8 bed and one 4 bed which is actually only 2 beds as the top 2 bunks aren't used. The room was fine, if 4 people were in there it would have been extremely tight on space, room had a noticeable damp problem and slight smell. Bathroom was ok, more basic than private room and shower pressure wasn't good.

The staff, particularly the general manager make this place. He is so friendly and always goes well over and beyond to help you and make conversation, despite the crazy hours he works!

Location is good, 10 minute to night market. Beach is ok at this time of year, lots of jelly fish.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to A74 Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A74 Hotel

Address: 74 Tran Hung Dao | Phu Quoc Island, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island KP7, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to A74 Hotel, on beautiful, tropical Phu Quoc Island, just 35 minutes by "Air Mekong" from Ho Chi Minh City, Viet Nam. The A74 Hotel is “Simply the best” budget hotel on the Island, offering good, clean rooms, excellent friendly service in a creative environment. We love to welcome our guests to our friendly family style hotel, where we take a personal interest in both your comfort and interests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your A74 Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A74 Hotel Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage A74 Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.