We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed here again, high season this time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lien Hiep Thanh Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lien Hiep Thanh Resort to your Saves list
Lien Hiep Thanh Resort
2.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   118/12 Tran Hung Dao Street, Ward 7 | Long Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 47 Duong Dong B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stayed here again, high season this time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Another three month writing on the beach.

I don't think I have ever been anywhere that didn't annoy me, even, just a little. Stupid rules or unenthusiastic staff who don't care etc, you know the drill. Well this place is different. As the name suggests it is family owned and run. Most of the staff are the same as last year and they are still as happy as they were back then.

High season cost of a fan room is $20 US. In high season one can get away without A/C. The most amazing thing is they clean the rooms from top to bottom every day (even the windows). I spoke to a couple of English girls who stayed in a room next door. It cost them $15 US and it was never cleaned.

The owners work long hours and smile a lot. Mum and Dad are enjoying a little slow time and Daughter, Brother are running the place. The food and beer are the cheapest on longbeach which makes a difference during a long stay. Many other very good restaurants are just a short walk along the beach.

Swimming in high season is fantastic, not much to see when one's snorkeling off the beach but many companies like "John Tours" can take care of that side of things.

I will be back.

Room Tip: Bungalow costs $50 US (I think). Will sleep two couples with A/C. There are also rooms with A/C...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    52
    30
    6
    6
See reviews for
9
75
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

Recommended to me and good choice. Ideal location on the beach and rooms cleaned to very good standard daily. Staff always smiling and make you feel welcome. Food at restaurant also very good with fresh fish . Mrs Smith will return here

Room Tip: you can pay extra for room with balcony/AC
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Stayed here for nearly a week in mid Feb. We spent the first night in one of the rooms at the back with no A/C and a cockerel waking us up at 5am. Not ideal. Then upgraded to one of the bigger rooms near the beach, with A/C (totally necessary) and a much nicer hot water shower. Very happy with the room; could have stayed here for longer.

The staff are by far the friendliest out of any of the places we checked out along that stretch of beach, and the restaurant is pretty good too. But it's true what other reviews have said; the service is super slow. I don't think there's any way to speed it up, either. You just have to accept that it isn't a priority to get your coffee/beer/food to you straight away.

We had a slightly unpleasant check out experience; we'd booked a taxi and asked for a wake up call, and we didn't get either... We ended up missing our flight to HCM, which was completely the hotel's fault. I don't know what went wrong, they'd been really on top of things throughout the stay up until that point. Oh well.

All in all, a great place and the best choice for that stretch of beach, in my opinion. I would stay here again, but wouldn't rely on a wake up call!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012

Nice staff, very clean rooms, daily cleaned thoroughly. Bungalows quiet and dark. We were with 5 kids, no playground. Would come back again!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We phoned and made a reservation for a $35 room for 4 nights. We did not ask the amenities. Upon arrival, we were brought to our room. The room was nice with A.C. We figures this was our $35 room. Upon checkout, we found out it was a $45 room and they had not informed us of this change. The staff would not listen to our side of the story. If we had known we were in the $45 room, we would not have wanted to stay there. We proposed that we could split the difference in this misunderstanding and do 2 nights at $35 and 2 at $45. The staff did not like this at first but eventually agreed. It may have been an honest mistake but it did sour our last day here a little.

The rooms itself are nice, with the beach very close. The restaurant was not very good and the prices were high. I recommend going elsewhere for food.

Despite this issues, we did enjoy our stay. It is cheaper than other beach resorts and the amenities hold their own.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

We ferried into Phu Quoc without a reservation. We picked up a $3 shuttle into Duong Dong town and were dropped off at Mai House. That was quite expensive-- $90 a night! We walked down to the beach and made a left. We soon discovered that most accomodations were towards the right if you face the ocean but many were resorts and most expensive. To the left there were only a few accomodations but much more reasonably priced.

I preferred this end of the beach because it was far quieter and less crowded. Lien Hiep has a small stretch of sand in front of water with some rocks. You can certainly swim but I think it's considered less desirable real estate. Further away from town there are more rocky outcroppings, which make for great views and probably good snorkeling. I was really happy to have this quieter atmosphere.

Lien Hiep Thanh is great for what you pay! We paid $35 a night for a garden bungalow away from Amigo's. We were steps from the sea and slept comfortably under mosquito netting. The staff changes the sheets and cleans the rooms daily, which was really nice. Like other reviewers said, the staff works incredibly hard. When you wake up they're sweeping leaves off the walks and picking up trash from the beach. Trash washes up on the beach throughout the island. Lien Hiep is vigilant about getting it off the sand.

The hot water always worked, each evening the staff set out some more free water bottles for us, and they were really helpful with getting us a taxi to the airport on our final day. There are plenty of shady tables and chairs for the restaurant, as well as comfortable lounge chairs and umbrellas! Each guest also gets a free beach towel, which they launder daily. I've stayed at plenty of beautiful beaches and this was the first time all of these services were included, in my experience!

Like other reviewers said, the restaurant isn't amazing but it's pretty typical for town. Most menus are similar and the prices are very fair. Laying around on a lounge chair in the shade, watching the lapping waves and sipping a fruit smoothie you can't really complain! They keep a tab for you if you're a guest. I was a little jittery about this and tried to keep some track of what we ordered. When we went to pay it was spot on. This family is incredibly fair and kind.

Aroma Spa is next door with massages for about $12. There's also table massages under umbrellas throughout the beach for $4. I preferred the outdoor $4 massages right adjacent to Lien Hiep and got massaged daily! Phu Quoc was paradise.

There's a big tip box by the reception. I echo others in reccomending generously tipping before you leave! I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Staying here for 4 nights in a bungalow with AC and hot water. AC & hot water are very weak. Both take sometimes to work. Room is clean daily which is great. Expect to be without electricity for sometimes when the power went down before they turn on the electricity generator (after complains from guests). Wifi is only available in the restaurant and extremely slow. Overall, clean budget hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lien Hiep Thanh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lien Hiep Thanh Resort

Address: 118/12 Tran Hung Dao Street, Ward 7 | Long Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Lien Hiep Thanh Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lien Hiep Thanh Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lien Hiep Thanh Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Lien Hiep Thanh Resort Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lien Hiep Thanh Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.