We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family run hotel, amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lien Hiep Thanh Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Lien Hiep Thanh Resort to your Saves list
Lien Hiep Thanh Resort
Long Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 40 Duong Dong B&B and Inns
Tortola
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful family run hotel, amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights, really enjoyed staying here. Hotel was great value. Would recommend staying here.

Price:
We stayed in a beach bungalow for $40 a night. It had air con and hot water. There are a lot of cheaper rooms but the beach bungalow was lovely. We were the nearest bungalow to the beach which meant we could step out of our room and walk pretty much straight on to the beach.

Booking:
I emailed in advance to book our room, their email is lienhiepthanh2007@yahoo.com.vn we had to pay one night to confirm our booking. Only problem with this was that to transfer money from UK to Vietnam via TT incurred bank charges.

Our bungalow:
we had a a double bed and one single bed in our room. The bed had a mossie net over it. The bathroom was quite large, the shower isn't separate which meant when you had a shower the bathroom got a little flooded. There is space to sit outside the bungalow and nice chairs to sit on.

Staff:
The staff are all very friendly and helpful and the service is great. Particularly one of the girls who works on reception who I think is the daughter. The hotel is family run and the staff are all very friendly. However, it's worth realising quickly that some of the staff don't speak any English. Staff that take your drinks and food orders do, but often those that deliver the food don't. It took us a while to realise this so we would ask for something, be smiled at, and then the thing would never arrive. Once you work out who to ask for things this is fine though. But this perhaps explains some of the negative reviews about service.

Restaurant:
The restaurant is great. We had breakfasts, some lunches and one dinner here. The breakfasts were good, especially the banana pancakes. The dinner was a bbq at the beach, with red snapper. Food was great and cheap. The restaurant is right on the beach and their are lights strung up at night. Views from the restaurant are amazing.

Cleanliness:
The Bungalows, the beach and the whole resort are cleaned every day. You get fresh towels and beach towels every day. The place is pretty clean and their is no rubbish on the beach outside the hotel.

Tips:
we went out in town one night and had handed our key in at reception. Ended up staying out drinking for a while. Got back to the hotel after midnight to find everything shut up with our key inside. We had to knock and wake up one of the staff which we felt really bad for. Please don't see this as a complaint about the hotel though, bear in mind this is a small family run hotel. And if in doubt, keep hold of your key.

Also if your leaving before 7am, check out the night before.

Dogs:
the hotel has a number of dogs, including two puppies. I'm not a great fan of dogs but they were all very friendly and didn't seem to bark.

Location:
the hotel is a short taxi ride from town. We walked in one night along the beach which took about 40 mins, you can't walk the whole way though as the beach is blocked for the last section, but about 3/4 was along the beach.

The hotel is next to Amigos, a bar with bad taste in music. Unfortunately from our room we could hear their live singers most evenings, who were atrocious. However, this is not Lien Hiep Thanh's fault and the hotel more than made up for this in other ways.

The beach:
The hotel has loads of sun loungers and some deck chairs spread out over the sand. It's possible to sit in the shade or the sun. The sunset is amazing! When we were there the sea was calm so great for swimming.

Overall:
wonderful hotel. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    39
    22
    4
    4
See reviews for
7
57
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

Great service, really friendly and helpful - other posters have complained that sloppy service but I have been here for a week and haven't seen it. Some of the staff don't speak great English and don't speak French at all which could be why a couple of people have got so upset...rooms cheap, I have stayed in tons of places which don't clean your room each day, don't say hello, staff just sit about and leave rubbish in bins, not this place, cleaned every day, all the walkways swept all the time - cheap and cheerful food, great beds to lie on the beach and no annoying sound system pumping out awful music that seems to be a common problem in Phu Quoc.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011

It's a very nice place and we would recommend to stay there if it wasn't for the bar next door (Amigos) which has terrible live music every night until midnight. So lets rather hope that Amigos gets bankrupt any time soon (not many people are listening to the music but they play anyway) than the area developing in a stupid drunk party tourist place.

Price:
A Bungalow with bathroom and AC costs 35 $ a night, but they have got also rooms for 10 $ without AC.

Staff:
The staff is very friendly, helpful and not pushy. Many of them speak very good English.

Restaurant:
The decent restaurant is the cheapest one in this area of the beach. Try also the Nhat Lan Guesthouse restaurant only 20 meter south along the beach.

Cleanliness:
The Bungalows, the beach and the whole resort are cleaned every day. You get fresh towels and beach towels every day.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

We stayed here for 4 days in november 2011 and the weather was so nice. There is nothing to say about this place...its a super resort with so friendly and helpful staffs specially the owners they are very active in attending to their guests. The resort is situated where you can see other things and it is not secluded from the town. The rooms and/or the bungalow are big and spacious, and they clean the rooms daily, there is 24 hr electricity and it is very affordable from $10-$30, the restaurant serves good food specially at dinner they do barbeque on the beach. Nothing more to say just arrive there sit back and relax and enjoy your vacation!!! You can contact them by email lienhiepthanh2007@yahoo.com.vn

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Stayed her for three months while writing. Restaurant and beach beds are right on the beach. The food is excellent and cheap. Family owned and run, the people are friendly and helpful. My bungalow was set back from the beach in nice gardens. It was cleaned from top to bottom every day. it had two double beds with mosquito nets, own bathroom and A/C. This room cost US$15 a night. Without A/C, just fan, US$10. During my stay many people who had stayed in other hotels came to stay here, all of them said this is the best place.

Room Tip: All of the bungalows are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2011

Great location right on the beach.

Had a fan room for $8 per night. The fan is enough and the room also had a fridge. Room was clean and good washroom.

2 staff members that spoke english well were great. One guy in particular went above and beyond to always make sure customers were happy.

The food was good and prices are low.

Massage on the beach is great location, relaxing, and only $3.

Nice chairs and lawn chairs. Perfect for relaxing and enjoying the incredible sunset.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2011

The problem with this place is that it should be great. Location is unbeatable, the food is wonderful and cheap, the rooms DEFINITELY need a paintjob but ours was very comfy with A/C. The huge problem is this place has the worst service I have ever known. If you order something, you frequently have to ask for it 3 or 4 times, even if you are the only person in the restaurant at the time. And often what was brought to the table wasnt what was ordered. It seems a small matter but it drove us completely insane, when all you want to do is relax and enjoy the incredible sunset but you end up having to ask 5 different people for a drink as no-one takes any notice of you. Or just simply walks away. Infuriating!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lien Hiep Thanh Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lien Hiep Thanh Resort

Address: Long Beach, Duong Dong, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong Dong
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Duong Dong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Lien Hiep Thanh Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lien Hiep Thanh Hotel Phu Quoc Island
Lien Hiep Thanh Resort Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lien Hiep Thanh Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.