We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc to your Saves list
Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Cua Lap Hamlet, Duong To Commune, Duong To, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
12 Treats of Christmas
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Duong To
Clinton Township, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I spent two days here during a business trip to Ho Chi Minh City. From the time we were picked up at the airport until we were dropped off the next day, we enjoyed our stay. The resort is absolutely beautiful with the rooms located in groups called Ancient Houses. The rooms are carved wood and different than anything I have seen before. My favorite place though the was the beach. It is set up so beautifully. Truly picturesque. My only complaint would be the beds are not very comfortable and just as I fell to sleep, the large Chinese family reunion that was staying in the rooms in my Ancient House were up bright and early calling to each other from room to room. So much for sleeping in. My highlight was the Ancient Spa. The Vietnamese massage that I got was absolutely amazing and a great value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    60
    26
    13
    6
See reviews for
32
64
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

I liked this hotel but my wife was not quite so keen.
The hotel is located at the bottom end of the very pleasant Long beach but it is not far at all from the many restaurants and bars on the beach.
The sea was lovely except for the nuisance of the 'sea lice' which were abundant and particularly irritating to those of us who are allergic to them.
The design of the buildings and grounds offers a very nice feeling of oriental charm and the wooden room interior is also a nice touch.
There was a nice enough pool which was always very quiet, in fact the whole hotel seemed very quiet over the five days that we stayed there, there can't have been very many guests.
My wife, son and I did a cookery class with the Vietnamese head chef who was a lovely guy. A fun experience and some extremely tastey food produced.Excellent evening.
Al off the staff were very polite and did all they could to help.
On the downside: The housekeeping staff never seemed to get to grips with the fact that there were three of us staying in the room so we required three sets of towels. The aircom, room safe and bathroom plumbing all malfunctioned and needed to be repaired- though this was swiftly done. Most breakfast items had gone by 9.30 , which is pretty poor when breakfast is supposed to be served till 10.00. The head chef did one morning put out some more food when I pointed this out.
The home brewed gold beer was not available at any point during our stay, we were told it was being made and would soon be ready.
Wifi was hit and miss in our room and in pretty much every other part of the hotel also.
The quietness of the hotel and the fact that part of the hotel was closed, seemingly undergoing some sort of renovation, gave a slightly surreal feel to the whole place.
In spite of all this I liked the character of the place and thought it was reasonable value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Having read previous reviews, I had mixed feelings when I booked here but due to availability this was our best option. Previous reviews talked about the resort being half closed...and it is true most of the buildings in this quite large resort aren't being used and it is weirdly quiet.

The service, mainly provided my phillipino students was very welcoming - we were impressed by our airport collection, and attention to detail and thoughtfulness with a special cake as it was our anniversary when we stayed here.

But for the price, it lacks slickness, when you are on the beach, having to get up and walk over to the bar to order drinks gets annoying. Especially when there seem to be so many staff 'setting up' for things.

The location is at the end of the beach - this was not a problem for us as we hire a bike, but it is worth being aware that it is a cab journey to get to alternative restaurants and the tourist night market.

Overall the rooms are good, but the overall environment lacks atmosphere and feels like you are staying somewhere off-season when the focus is on doing up the resort. Depends what you are looking for, but there are plenty of cheaper places, right on the beach that I think might be more interesting to stay at.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We finished our tour of Vietnam with a 3 night stay at Long Beach. Challenging review here, because there are some things that are good, some that are not so good and some that are odd.

We are a family of 4 (2 kids 10, 7) who wanted the following: Swimming pool, proximity to beach/ocean, access to activities, and a decent room with a/c.

Breakfast is good, diversified and plentiful, despite some of the other reviews.

The construction/ craftsmenship of the buildings is quite a site, very detailed and expensive...probably a little overkill, but overall in these areas, LB served us well and receives high marks. The rooms were comfortable enough..a/c worked fine, fan fine, tv fine, bathrooms/showers spacious and nice. Service is fine, and actually some may say a little over attentive. Pool is awesome, despite the 200 meter walk.

Not so good.

worked out to about $330/night for an Ancienst suite, so I think it was a bit overpriced. Granted, we stayed there on the waning days of Tet, but still a bit pricey for the environs..

Laundry. They charged $50 for a bag full of laundry.

Meals, drinks pool side, again overpriced..8 bucks for a boubon and coke, really? Towels. Can we just get some towels by the pool? The design/layout of the resort is not good. Really , really long walk to get around, ie to the beach or pool...

Odd. Again the layout of the resort, just kinda weird, expensive build, exotic design, ponds and bridges are nice but seem to be overkill. Some big structures that are between the suites and the pool/beach are just odd..bad design. Philipino Band, playing nitely to a crowd of....no one....again odd. We felt for them.

Overall the place has some nice attributes, but we felt overpriced. We speculate that the owner/developer is the proverbial kid who has all the money and toys, but no one wants to play with him/her.

Randy Parker, USA

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed 4 days at Long Beach resort over chinese new year holidays. We had 3 rooms for 6 adults and two young children. Overall we had a great time as it was geat just being all there together. Having said that, this resort is definitely not one I would stay in again or recommend to anyone.

To keep it short, you should only consider this hotel if you really do not expect to need anything else but an air conditioned room with a clean bathroom and hot water. If you expect a "resort experience" do not stay here. As mentioned by others, the grounds of the hotel are fine and the beach area is really nice. The rooms are clean and comfortable if on the small side. Everything else is a let down:

- service is abysmal. The staff is kind and polite but completely clueless on even the most basic stuff. I think there are basically two issues: not enough staff around (which is rare in Asia) and those there (mostly non vietnamese actually) act as if they had just arrived and are discovering the resort at the same time as you are. Everybody seem to be "junior" with no experienced managers around to manage the whole thing. This could be because the resort is not managed by an international / experienced hotel management company

- food is terrible. Breakfast spread is very average and selection for lunch / dinner is both limited and really not good, particularly for the price

- pool area is small and unimpressive (a grand total of six sun umbrellas...)

- I wont dwell on the details but many other little things are really annoying (2 small bottles of water allowance per riom per day! No fitness center, Etc etc)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed at the Long Beach Resort for our last 4 nights on Phu Quoc. We fancied a bit of luxury to finish off the holiday! On arrival we were offered cold face towels and fresh apple juice which was a lovely touch. Our room was great- very beautifully decorated, clean and comfortable. The pool and beach area was amazing along with the spa treatment rooms where I had the best massage I've ever had! The staff were very friendly and attentive and made us feel very welcome but... The food was extremely disappointing. We ate at both of the resort restaurants and were underwhelmed by both. The beach seafood BBQ was especially poor and frankly a bit of a rip off. It was cooked by our waiter ( which worried me) and tasted bland. The food at the other restaurant was just fussy and trying to be something it wasn't. The location wasn't great either- it was in walking distance of nowhere. This wasn't a big deal for us as we hired a scooter for the whole time we were on the island but if you're not keen on this idea then you'd have to rely on taxis all the time.
Despite the not so great food we would still recommend this hotel purely for it's picturesque surroundings and beautiful sunsets. We enjoyed nothing more than watching it go down with a cold beer in hand!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, null, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Lovely hotel in good location. Ancient deluxe room was very spacious with incredibily lux bathroom. Only downside was incompetent manager couldnt find our booking until we produced our passports and caused a degree of stress when she realised her mistake there was no apologies and nearly no pick up from the Airport. The rest of the staff were excellent. Breakfast was busy but it was high season so to be expected. Food was good.

Room Tip: Go for the Ancient deluxe room - well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc

Address: Cua Lap Hamlet, Duong To Commune, Duong To, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong To
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Duong To
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stretching along the pristine beach, Long Beach Resort with 72 rooms open in the first phase possesses a unique architecture of Vietnam traditional village. The resort offers a new standard of exclusive and bespoke indulgence. Our unbridled luxury with obvious attention to design, details and pure escapism making the resort stand out in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.