We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach resort with excellent staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc to your Saves list
Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Group of Households 4, Cua Lap Hamlet, Duong To, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Available Rates
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Duong To
Kelowna, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great beach resort with excellent staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Just spent 7 days here. The setup of the hotel into 9 different buildings is great. Each building has 8 rooms. The rooms are good and clean. Lots of wood carvings which makes it a little dark unless drapes are open. Lots of lush vegetation,ponds with lotus plants, water fountains.

The best part of the resort was the staff....very friendly and helpful and fun if you engaged them.

Breakfasts OK. Had Italian food on the beach 1 night...not great but the Asian food in the restaurant was fantastic. We were sorry we did not try prior to our next to last night.

Only down point was wifi service being so sporadic but I needed to remember I was on holidays after all.

Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    67
    27
    14
    8
See reviews for
35
71
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
newzealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We recently celebrated our daughters wedding at Long Beach Ancient Resort. The ceremony was held on the resort's beach and the reception in a covered area within the resort grounds. The venue is absolutely idyllic for a wedding. The scenery, sunsets and architecture are amazing and these all lend themselves beautifully to wedding photography.

The reception was beautiful, the table layout gorgeous, staff attentive, food and service superb. Management, and in particular Mr John (Truong), were really helpful and keen to make the wedding as successful as possible.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

This resort is beautiful, the rooms are comfortable (apart from the too hard mattress!), the food (and the chef) was great and the location was fantastic (close enough to get into town but also quiet). The one thing that lets it down is that while the staff are doing their very best to be attentive and helpful, on the whole their standard of spoken english is poor.
We were there over Christmas and were treated to fantastic hospitality from the staff, all overseen by the widely grinning Malaysian who no doubt was the manager.... who despite often being visible and propping up one of the bars, never approached any of his guests. If you are indeed the manager then you ought to acknowledge how good your team is and should invest in improving their English and reduce the frustration of your guests (something I think many of your guests would have told you if you had asked!!)
Don't let that put you off staying, it is a slice of paradise and provides an idyllic holiday experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tromso, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Me and my girlfriend spent one week in ancient house 1. We were very happy with our room. It was beutiful and had an ocean view from the balcony. The room was also close to both beach and pool, and was cleaned spotless every day. The french chef Hugo Barberis seemed to be working day and night. He made us the most incredible pasta with seafood. The day we checked out he even packed us a little snack for our flight back to Ho Chi Minh.
The hotel is about 3 km from the "city", but it was easy to get a taxi or just renting a motorbike.

Room Tip: Ask for Ancient House 1, first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed for eight nights in January. We had a suite - a large bed upstairs and an extra bed in the "living room", and our son slept on the sofa. Two nice bathrooms. There is a short walk to the beach and pool, and we enjoyed both very much. There are two restaurants - one on the beach and one in the main building, where they also serve breakfast. We especially enjoyed the food of the French/Italian chef, Mr Hugo, served at the beach restaurant. He really made wonderful, well composed and beautiful dinners for us. His is very knowledgeable about local products, Vietnamese cuisine and knows how to combine it with a touch of French and Italian food. We ca especially recommend his Pomelo Salad and his great dessert: Fried chocolate balls. The only thing missed was good wine (but that seems to be the same all over Vietnam). Go for the good fresh / draft beer instead.

Room Tip: Choose Ancient House 8 or 9 if you prefer to be close to breakfast restaurant. Choose Ancient House...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed here for one night, because La Veranda was fully booked. The rooms and grounds are stunning. However, this hotel is very badly managed. Staff don't seem confident, or able to act independently. The restaurant service is astoundingly bad, and we are not picky about such things.
Breakfasts ok, not special.
we moved to La Veranda for 4 more nights, and the contrast was incredible. That is a great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

This is a nice hotel, with an excellent beach and good overall facilities, the location is good with 2$ for a taxi to restaurants or into the town. Staff area only ok, as language was a bigger issue here than in any other hotel we stayed, for example we asked for a non seafood restaurant recommendation and couldn't get any. Check in and check out is also amateurish with too many people doing the same job with no planning or preparation.

The beach is really good, but there is a needless shortage of loungers, so we stayed at the pool. Rooms are to a good size with good overall fittings except in two important areas, the shower and bed. The shower head is off the tap and attaches to the wall with a loose bracket which didn't really work and had to be held in place by hand. Not really ideal and well out of date.

As to the bed,or more correctly the mattress, I personally prefer a soft mattress and it's been a long time since I slept on anything so hard. The mattress in question was just a hard foam block, see attached picture and well below the standard we would expect from a hotel charging these room rates.

I personally don't understand the hotel that makes the significant investment to build a good quality hotel and cuts corners in key areas.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc

Address: Group of Households 4, Cua Lap Hamlet, Duong To, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong To
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Duong To
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc 4*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stretching along the pristine beach, Long Beach Resort with 72 rooms open in the first phase possesses a unique architecture of Vietnam traditional village. The resort offers a new standard of exclusive and bespoke indulgence. Our unbridled luxury with obvious attention to design, details and pure escapism making the resort stand out in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.