We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and great stay with family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc

Save Saved
You added Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Cua Lap Hamlet, Duong To Commune, Duong To, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Room from USD145
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Duong To
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and great stay with family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

We stayed for eight nights in January. We had a suite - a large bed upstairs and an extra bed in the "living room", and our son slept on the sofa. Two nice bathrooms. There is a short walk to the beach and pool, and we enjoyed both very much. There are two restaurants - one on the beach and one in the main building, where they also serve breakfast. We especially enjoyed the food of the French/Italian chef, Mr Hugo, served at the beach restaurant. He really made wonderful, well composed and beautiful dinners for us. His is very knowledgeable about local products, Vietnamese cuisine and knows how to combine it with a touch of French and Italian food. We ca especially recommend his Pomelo Salad and his great dessert: Fried chocolate balls. The only thing missed was good wine (but that seems to be the same all over Vietnam). Go for the good fresh / draft beer instead.

Room Tip: Choose Ancient House 8 or 9 if you prefer to be close to breakfast restaurant. Choose Ancient House...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    50
    25
    11
    6
See reviews for
31
57
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

We stayed here for one night, because La Veranda was fully booked. The rooms and grounds are stunning. However, this hotel is very badly managed. Staff don't seem confident, or able to act independently. The restaurant service is astoundingly bad, and we are not picky about such things.
Breakfasts ok, not special.
we moved to La Veranda for 4 more nights, and the contrast was incredible. That is a great hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

This is a nice hotel, with an excellent beach and good overall facilities, the location is good with 2$ for a taxi to restaurants or into the town. Staff area only ok, as language was a bigger issue here than in any other hotel we stayed, for example we asked for a non seafood restaurant recommendation and couldn't get any. Check in and check out is also amateurish with too many people doing the same job with no planning or preparation.

The beach is really good, but there is a needless shortage of loungers, so we stayed at the pool. Rooms are to a good size with good overall fittings except in two important areas, the shower and bed. The shower head is off the tap and attaches to the wall with a loose bracket which didn't really work and had to be held in place by hand. Not really ideal and well out of date.

As to the bed,or more correctly the mattress, I personally prefer a soft mattress and it's been a long time since I slept on anything so hard. The mattress in question was just a hard foam block, see attached picture and well below the standard we would expect from a hotel charging these room rates.

I personally don't understand the hotel that makes the significant investment to build a good quality hotel and cuts corners in key areas.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012 via mobile

This resort was very good and is recommended to anyone who would like to relax.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed for 7 nights in January with 3 teenagers. We booked two ancient suites, two level villas style rooms.
The Good.
The rooms are great, very large and nicely appointed. Their are a few minor maintenance issues and yes, the wooden baths do leak, which I guess is why baths are now not made from wood. The grounds are very well kept and quite beautiful. The resort would be ideal for weddings with many places for photos. The pool area is great and the beach set up is only of the best on long beach. Location wise, the resort is perfectly placed, a short taxi ride to the main town and night markets, but far enough from the madding crowd. Another 40 rooms to open soon with a new restaurant area will really enhance the place.
The Bad
The breakfast buffet is ok, but really it is unforgivable to always run out of everything, including plates, cups and cutlerly. Towards the end of service, such food isn't replaced, so you have less choice. We had breakfast early one day due to a dive course and again there were less choices. Replacement of items, even tea and coffee takes a long time. The only way to get
service around the pool and beach is to go to the bar area and ask one of the many staff standing around to serve you. Glasses etc around the beach and pool are not collected for a long time, and like other contributors stated drinks and meals take a long time to get to you. That said, the bar and snack foods are quite good but the cocktails aren't great. We didn't have dinner at the resort but there are many other choices around.
The Ugly.
We had a package due to be dropped off at 8 pm but it didn't arrive until 10 pm. We were in bed early because of said dive course. Reception rang at 10 pm basically ordering us to come up and pick up the package. I refused and ask that it be held at reception for us until mooring. Problem solved? Five minutes later another call saying that the person would deliver the package to my room, again I asked that it be held at reception. Ten minutes later, a knock at the door, with the package so I guess my room number was given out. Some staff have seemed to have an attitude towards certain guests, which is noticeable, and definitely food and beverage and admin staff need to be trained in hospitality.
The Summary. I don't think you can charge resort prices (which we certainly have paid) without offering resort service.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012 via mobile

We arrived and staff treated us as if we were a hassle to book in. Our room was beautiful, bed a little hard, but the biggest pain was the layout of the resort. For $200 US a night in Asia I was expecting to be closer to the beach.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

Loved the beach, with shallow sandbar and gentle current. I was comfortable letting my 4 year old play and swim in the water while I watched from my lounge chair. But... restaurant service was really bad. Some items were ok, others just blech. An order of fried rice took an hour to be served at the restaurant. The cocktails at the beach bar were watery and took forever to arrive. There's not much around the resort, so we would take cabs to the "town" to try out the restaurants there. Island itself was really lovely, unspoiled, and undeveloped. Quite a change from the Thailand or Mexico beach places that are just crawling with tourists and the people who prey on them.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc

Address: Cua Lap Hamlet, Duong To Commune, Duong To, Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam
Phone Number:
Location: Vietnam > Kien Giang Province > Phu Quoc Island > Duong To
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Duong To
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stretching along the pristine beach, Long Beach Resort with 72 rooms open in the first phase possesses a unique architecture of Vietnam traditional village. The resort offers a new standard of exclusive and bespoke indulgence. Our unbridled luxury with obvious attention to design, details and pure escapism making the resort stand out in the region. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc Phu Quoc Island, Vietnam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Long Beach Resort Phu Quoc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.