We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous get away from it all” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saturnia Tuscany Hotel

Save Saved
You added Saturnia Tuscany Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Marco Pantani | Loc. Poggio Murella SATURNIA, 58014 Saturnia, Manciano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Saturnia
Calne, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous get away from it all”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We booked this hotel through Secret Escapes, as did a few guests staying at the hotel and I must say we were more than happy with the hotel.
The hotel isn't easy to find, as signs to it, seem to be few and far between, but we eventually made the hotel at 1am......we were met by an extremely efficent, very helpful Manuel who appreciated how tired we were and showed us to our beautiful room.....Our only gripe here was that there aren't tea making facilities available so, tired, thirsty and hungry we had to wait until breakfast the next day to have a drink - there is a minibar in the room with prices that you expect from a minibar!!
The breakfast was continental - not something I am particularly keen on but when in Rome - oh we weren't, lol.
We ate outside each morning, but I must say the 'smokers' drove us mad.....why oh why do people who smoke think we want to passively smoke with our breakfast.....hotels need to look at this for non smokers....we don't always want to eat inside.
The hotel has only 39 bedrooms and is small and friendly.
Our room had a balcony that overlooked the pool and the sunsets were incredible....it was spotlessly clean and was kept that way for our stay. It was our anniversary while we were at the hotel and staff and the owner all remembered and wished us a happy day, how nice, they seemed to care.....not quite enough for a bottle of wine with our meal that evening though...
The hotel was a 4* and in the main reflected this - there weren't many facilities though, just an outdoor very cold pool (it was obligatory to wear swiming hats!!! How dreadful and we had to pay for them!!) and then the spa, I can't comment on the spa, as we never used this, as the weather was good and we wanted to be out and about.
There was free WiFi, but even this was terribly slow and at times could only be accessed in reception - not some where I want to sit for any length of time when I am on hoilday.
We ate in the restaurant twice - excellent food, but not very cheap, so be prepared. There are several good restaurants that are much cheaper, close by that are well worth visiting.
Nearby were the hot springs an absolute MUST for a visit - we went twice, they are very busy as they are free, but we found going on a week day and at around 4pm was ideal...the smell of sulpher is quite noticeable long after you have showered....but a wonderul experience.
On the whole we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would definitely go back - but only if the price was as good as through Secret Escapes.
Thanks to Uno and all the staff for a fabulous week with you...

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 210 - it was fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    228
    164
    30
    13
    9
See reviews for
41
270
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nendaz
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed in September, thankfully only for 3 nights.
Dreadful road leading to hotel.
Changed rooms, to room overlooking pool, stunning views over the countryside.
Staff friendly, although found it a little strange for a 4 * hotel, to have late breakfast time, 8 - 10.30. Unable to get even a coffee on departure morning, at 7.30.
Only 1 restaurant open, did not have pizza oven as stated on Booking.com. Limited menu, good if you like beef. Reasonably priced.
Wi-fi poor.
Additional payment for swim towels, bath robes, and swim hats, apparently obligatory for pool, although not told when we checked in.
No info in rooms, so remember info given when you check in!

Bonus, hot springs close to hotel, although it did take a little while to stop smelling the sulphur!!!

Ideal if you want a remote hotel, restaurant in hotel opens at 8pm, and in local towns, from 7pm.

Booked through Secret Escapes, so fi not pay a huge amount of money. Would we return.....NO

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking pool & countryside are better than those facing road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHIGWELL
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This was our first time visiting Tuscany.The Saturnia Tuscany Hotel was a great find. It was off the beaten track but well worth the effort.The bedroom & bathroom were spotless ,what you would expect from a good 4* hotel. The pool area was superb and the salt water pool was great as the weather was extremely hot the first week in August. The breakfast menu was sufficient and being able to eat outside every morning was lovely.The evening menu was possibly limited but the food was good and the views outside and the sunsets were great. I would return to this hotel and using Secret Escapes was also a great find as it was brilliant value for money.
We travelled to Pisa as we were lead to believe it was 2 hours away.This was not so more like
3 1/2, hours.Rome is nearer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pully, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Clean, comfortable, quite, helpful and friendly staff, beautifully situated (albeit somewhat remote from a larger town). Wonderful swimming pool surrounded by a grassy area with bar - really very nice. Also a nice and ultra clean spa, with wellness treatments available. The restaurant was good, but at times we longed for simpler fare. But that was not really a problem, because 5-10 minutes away there were some nice restaurant options in the nearby village of Saturnia. We travelled with a small dog, which was more than welcomed - we never felt that we were imposing.

Now for my "pet peeves":
- absolutely "steam engine" slow "free" WiFi, the kind that frustrates and angers you - a band width so thin that you could cut the local cheese with it.
- on our 3rd day they began posting signs that bathing caps were obligatory, and available at the front desk for 3 Euros - a clear "money making" scheme. In a public swimming pool I could understand, but not as a guest in a hotel! We offered "passively resistance", but most guests seemed to feel obliged to fall in line.

On the whole, a great stay if you are looking for a quiet and romantic get-away.

Room Tip: Go for a superior room with a pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We had stayed at this hotel at the begining of july.we booked only 2 nights as we thought to travel arround and stay in another hotel , but since this hotel was so good, we extend it to the whol stay -4 nights. The stuff of the hotel is more then welcoming, they give you a feeling like you are at home.The hotel it self is very kept,modern yet with nice colores, very clear and give the feeling of relaxing.
The room was big , great bathroom and the view from our window is somthing we will never forget .Breakfast was excellent and was served in the dining room and also in the garden,
The pool was great ,big and with a view to the hills.
we would defently come back as this hotel gave us the most wonderfull vacation,and most of the pleasure is thanks to this hotel and the pople who run it. !!! thank you !!!

Room Tip: pls ask for the room on the 2nd floor with a view to the pool.might be expensive but worth evry penn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Have just returned from here...would go back again and again. The hotel was lovely, the service and staff quietly attentive..... location to die for. The only noise were the Cicadas, well worth the drive from Pisa. The natural springs down the hill were the icing on an extremely great cake.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A gorgeous hotel in the most wonderful location with 180 degree views of the surrounding countryside. We would have loved to stay longer rather than just 3 nights. The owner S. Bergonzini is charming and really cares that you have a good stay. We arrived from Rome on our motorcycles on a really hot day and we were welcomed by him as much as he would have welcomed anyone arriving cool and sophisticated in a Ferrari. He was often around and ate in his own restaurant. The pool is large and wonderfully located with views of the countryside and has lots of sun beds and a few gazebos. Very good breakfast. Nice bedroom at the back (we didn't see the better bedrooms with the best views). It was adequate size and had a nice terrace. All you could want. You can pay more and get the great view from your terrace and bathrobes. The restaurant is very good. Good restaurant manager, Eduardo. A little pricey but considering the location and view not outrageous. Very nice Wellness centre is a bonus. Good parking. Wireless. We would strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good. You can pay more and get a view to die for with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saturnia Tuscany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saturnia Tuscany Hotel

Address: Strada Marco Pantani | Loc. Poggio Murella SATURNIA, 58014 Saturnia, Manciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Manciano > Saturnia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Saturnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saturnia Tuscany Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a place, in southern Tuscany, where the silence is the loudest noise, where the landscape sees the infinite and where the scents of vineyards and olive groves evoke country atmospheres, by now, for those who live in cities, completely forgotten. Standing atop of a hill overlooking the valley at 360°, just two Kilometers far from the famous thermal waters of Saturnia that flow at 37° through all the seasons, rises the Saturnia Tuscany Hotel, a 4 stars Hotel designed by the Italian architect paolo Portoghesi with all the services.The house offers rooms having private veranda or balcony, all overlooking the surrounding contryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Saturnia Tuscany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saturnia Tuscany
Saturnia Tuscany Manciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saturnia Tuscany Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.