We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We couldn't believe our luck” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saturnia Tuscany Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Saturnia Tuscany Hotel to your Saves list
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Marco Pantani | Loc. Poggio Murella SATURNIA, 58014 Saturnia, Manciano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Saturnia
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“We couldn't believe our luck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

A gorgeous hotel in the most wonderful location with 180 degree views of the surrounding countryside. We would have loved to stay longer rather than just 3 nights. The owner S. Bergonzini is charming and really cares that you have a good stay. We arrived from Rome on our motorcycles on a really hot day and we were welcomed by him as much as he would have welcomed anyone arriving cool and sophisticated in a Ferrari. He was often around and ate in his own restaurant. The pool is large and wonderfully located with views of the countryside and has lots of sun beds and a few gazebos. Very good breakfast. Nice bedroom at the back (we didn't see the better bedrooms with the best views). It was adequate size and had a nice terrace. All you could want. You can pay more and get the great view from your terrace and bathrobes. The restaurant is very good. Good restaurant manager, Eduardo. A little pricey but considering the location and view not outrageous. Very nice Wellness centre is a bonus. Good parking. Wireless. We would strongly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be good. You can pay more and get a view to die for with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    178
    38
    16
    10
See reviews for
50
302
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I booked in here on the 18th April 2013. The season had not quite started so there were only a few couples in the hotel. The rooms are super and have a great view of the terrain.Staff really friendly. We had a balcony. You have to drive to the hot springs from the hotel as its just too far to walk. In the evening we were greeted by the owner who organized for the chef to cook us an amazing Moray Eel dinner. Would have liked to spend another day or so as the hot springs are fantastic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirimido, Lombardia, Italy
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Well I wont get long on this hotel as I havent got much to add to what already has been said.
Scenery is one of the best I have seen in Tuscany...really special,. the sunsets are out of this world! Gorgeous!
The room, mine was 204, was super, big conforteble and above all in the afternoon the sun wasnt in that part of the hotel, therefore since it was 32 degrees outside, it was wonderful to sit and admire the view without sweating! Must also say that the hotel being up on a hill, there was always a very nice breeze. Breakfast was excellent...personnel outstanding, the restaurant can definetly be improved. But there are so many little restaurants in the area that you really have an enormous choice. The cleanliness in the WHOLE hotel is spotless! a huge bravo to the personnel, all of them! The pool is magnificent and overlooking the surrounding Tuscanian Hills, a spettacular location! I did not use the SPA, so cant say much about it, except that I did visit it and must agree that it is a bit small.
I definetely would go back and recommend it to anyone that wants to "get away from it all"!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing the garden or the parking lot, if you go in summer. those are the fresh rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flemington, NJ
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We read about the Maremma region in Italy and drove to Saturnia. It is a small town in Manciano. I believe there are only about 275 residents in this town. We had no hotel for 10 out of 17 days of our 25th wedding anniversary trip to Italy. The local tourist center in Saturnia suggested Saturnia Tuscany Hotel. We took a ride outside the town of Saturnia to another small town of Poggio Murella where Saturnia Tuscany Hotel is located. We knew right away that we wanted to spend the next 4 days (that included our anniversary) at this spa hotel. It was the most peaceful place with the most beautiful panoramic views. We had a room with a balcony. The bed was situated so that you could see the views right from your bed. In addition, you can see the views outside the bathroom window while taking a shower.

I would highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a place that is a quiet getaway.

The only reason I did nt give the service, value and sleep quality excellent is that we asked for an iron, and apprently they are a fire hazard. But, I think there should have been at least one iron in the hotel for the guests to use. It was our anniversary, and I wanted to wear a dress that was very wrinkled. So I wore wrinkled pants instead. Also, the prices of other B&Bs were about half the price, but they did not have the views or amenities this hotel offered such as FREE wifi, spa services, etc. We also felt the room was small. We understand they wanted to maximize the amount of rooms with views, but they were a tad smaller than we thought they should be. We were out all day so that really didn't matter much, but it might matter to others. Initially the bed felt a little harder than we had been experiencing but after two days it was fine.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a balcony room to fully appreciate and experience the views this hotel has to offe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

For the price this hotel is amazing, me and my family were literally speechless when we pulled up. The rooms are fantastic the staff is amazing and the pool is the best. The carpets could use a cleaning but the rest of the room was spotless clean. I highly recommend staying here if you are heading to the springs, and next time i am there i look forward to using the spa which looks amazing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Storrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

We stayed at tis hotel for 5 days at the beginning of September. The room was very nice, modern and nicely decorated with a fabulous private balcony overlooking the pool where we could sit drinking wine and looking at the amazing view even though it rained for our entire stay!
Only negative was the corridor floor leading to the breakfast room had been washed one morning and no warning sign had been put out resulting in my slipping and falling.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Just stayed at the hotel this weekend. It was nothing short of perfect. The hotel was booked via Expedia and as usual everything was in order. The hotel is located off the beaten track in Tuscany and is a little difficult to find if you do not have a GPS or experience in the region. When we arrived the hotel staff were very courteous and helpful. They took our bags to our room immediately after giving us a tour of the facilities.

The room was spacious enough and everything was clean. The towels and sheets were plush and everything in the room worked. We were on the first floor so we also had a semi private terrace outside our door.

The pool area has beds where couples can lay and enjoy the magnificent view of the Tuscan country side.

The breakfast was incredible. I was expecting the standard continental fare, but this went well above and beyond that. There were selections of fresh cheese, sausage, jams, and a barrista waiting to take your coffee order.

The area in which this hotel is situated is also full of great restaurants and natural attractions. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to friends or family. A perfect couples retreat!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saturnia Tuscany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saturnia Tuscany Hotel

Address: Strada Marco Pantani | Loc. Poggio Murella SATURNIA, 58014 Saturnia, Manciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Manciano > Saturnia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Saturnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saturnia Tuscany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a place, in southern Tuscany, where the silence is the loudest noise, where the landscape sees the infinite and where the scents of vineyards and olive groves evoke country atmospheres, by now, for those who live in cities, completely forgotten. Standing atop of a hill overlooking the valley at 360°, just two Kilometers far from the famous thermal waters of Saturnia that flow at 37° through all the seasons, rises the Saturnia Tuscany Hotel, a 4 stars Hotel designed by the Italian architect paolo Portoghesi with all the services.The house offers rooms having private veranda or balcony, all overlooking the surrounding contryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Saturnia Tuscany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saturnia Tuscany
Saturnia Tuscany Manciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saturnia Tuscany Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.