We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views, service and food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saturnia Tuscany Hotel

Save Saved
You added Saturnia Tuscany Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Marco Pantani | Loc. Poggio Murella SATURNIA, 58014 Saturnia, Manciano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Saturnia
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing views, service and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed (sadly) just one night here and enjoyed every moment of it. We will be back on our next visit to Italy. We drove in from the south and were worried that we'd have trouble finding it, but there were signs for the hotel as soon as we reached the village. The staff was very nice and helpful, spoke very good English and arranged our dinner reservations, etc immediately. We sat by the lovely pool enjoying the views of the valley, and drank cocktails from the poolside bar. For dinner we ate on the deck overlooking the gorgeous scenery and enjoying one of the most beautiful sunsets I've ever seen. The food was superb, the service very good, and the ambiance was to die for. The room we stayed in was small but comfortable. The bathroom was had was big, though the shower was a bit small. I also got a nice massage at the spa. A real gem in Tuscany with plenty of fun things to do around the area and a nice respite from the touristy beaten path!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    230
    168
    30
    13
    9
See reviews for
40
265
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Set in landscaped countryside this is a fabulous hotel for any occasion. Just outside Saturnia, far enough away to feel secluded but only a 10 minute drive away from civilisation.
Beautiful setting, staff very helpful and friendly, couldn't really find fault with it.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We are a german family with 2 children and we make hollidays in the Toscany since 10years, but we have never had such a perfect stay. The hotel is wonderful, the service too and the restaurant is just perfect. For us it is one of the best hotels in the tuscany! I' m shure we will come back next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.ireland
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

This is a nice hotel, it is situated quite close to Saturnia natural spring waterfall - about a 5-10 minute drive. The road to the hotel is very bumpy! The rooms were nice and very clean. Our room was small but had a gorgeous view. There is a lovely outdoor pool with panoramic views which would be gorgeous in the height of summer. The town of Saturnia is about a 10 minute drive - its a lovely town and there are 4 or 5 restaurants, we ate in 3 of them and all were lovely. We did not get a chance to eat at the hotel but the menu looked nice. Breakfast was good - a choice of breads, fruit, cereal, meats and cheese. Staff were friendly at this hotel and happy to help if needed (which is not something common to everywhere is Tuscany). I have to give a special mention to Sebastien on the Reception desk - he is the best member of staff at this hotel - very friendly, goes out of his way to help and didn't mind speaking English to us :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed here when we would visit the hot springs of Saturnia. The hotel is quietly situated slightly off the beaten track, but the way is paved.

The rooms were decorated in "shabby chic" style, very nice with large bathrooms and a great view of the pool and the Tuscan countryside.

It´s a good 10 minute drive to the Saturnia "center" from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We spent a couple of days in this wonderful hotel just in the middle of Tuscany and we found everything fantastic: rooms are clean (with minibar free for light drinks), the swimming pool is well located just few meters far from the main building, the restaurant is very good and the staff nice; the hotel is in the middle of the countryside and offers beautiful views: we'll come back there for sure!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

This hotel is located in a southern area of Tuscany, outside the beaten path of most foreign tourists. I got the impression it caters mainly for local tourism, coming from nearby Lazio (and also Tuscany) to enjoy the spa and beauty treatments. One would think that a newly built, alleged four-start hotel could offer more comfort and more style, but unfortunately, this is not the case.

On the plus side: it is a relatively new building and situated in the middle of nowhere, so no problems with noise or traffic. The hotel’s restaurant is quite good, but there are plenty of decent restaurants nearby, for the same price or even less. You can easily get a room with a great view and there is a large parking (albeit crumbling down). Housekeeping is very efficient and our room was always cleaned thoroughly before the end of the morning. Reception staff is friendly enough.

On the minus side: despite the fact that the building is quite new, it has an unfinished air and several logistic problems. The hall is definitely not cosy at all and looks more like the waiting room of a station, ditto for the breakfast room. Breakfast itself is nothing special, a couple of cakes, some bread, a small selection of cereals – on the whole rather disappointing. The breakfast room should also be used as bar in the evening, but it was always closed. The pool has a nice view, but the water is ice cold.

Our room was “standard” and I was astonished by the fact that in such a new hotel, rooms are so small. Perhaps only in Florence, were hotels are situated in old buildings, rooms are - understandably - that small. But a newly built hotel? There was space only for a double bed. The wardrobe was placed in the tiny corridor leading to the equally tiny bathroom. If you open the wardrobe door, you cannot open either the entrance or the bathroom door.

It was easy to get entangled in the door situation and equally easy to stumble on the only chair situated next to the tiny desk, next to the window and next to the bed. Overall, the “standard” room resembles a doll’s house and feels just as claustrophobic. Again, I find it extremely weird that in such a new hotel they could not feel compelled to offer a bit more comfort to “standard” customer.

Since I was so disappointed by the room, I did not try the spa, which anyway had very high prices and for those prices one can get treatments in central London. Would definitely not recommend or go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Saturnia Tuscany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saturnia Tuscany Hotel

Address: Strada Marco Pantani | Loc. Poggio Murella SATURNIA, 58014 Saturnia, Manciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Manciano > Saturnia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 hotels in Saturnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saturnia Tuscany Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a place, in southern Tuscany, where the silence is the loudest noise, where the landscape sees the infinite and where the scents of vineyards and olive groves evoke country atmospheres, by now, for those who live in cities, completely forgotten. Standing atop of a hill overlooking the valley at 360°, just two Kilometers far from the famous thermal waters of Saturnia that flow at 37° through all the seasons, rises the Saturnia Tuscany Hotel, a 4 stars Hotel designed by the Italian architect paolo Portoghesi with all the services.The house offers rooms having private veranda or balcony, all overlooking the surrounding contryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Saturnia Tuscany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saturnia Tuscany
Saturnia Tuscany Manciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saturnia Tuscany Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.