We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saturnia Tuscany Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Saturnia Tuscany Hotel to your Saves list
Saturnia Tuscany Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Strada Marco Pantani | Loc. Poggio Murella SATURNIA, 58014 Saturnia, Manciano, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Saturnia
Munich, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2011

We are a german family with 2 children and we make hollidays in the Toscany since 10years, but we have never had such a perfect stay. The hotel is wonderful, the service too and the restaurant is just perfect. For us it is one of the best hotels in the tuscany! I' m shure we will come back next year.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    179
    38
    16
    10
See reviews for
50
302
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
n.ireland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

This is a nice hotel, it is situated quite close to Saturnia natural spring waterfall - about a 5-10 minute drive. The road to the hotel is very bumpy! The rooms were nice and very clean. Our room was small but had a gorgeous view. There is a lovely outdoor pool with panoramic views which would be gorgeous in the height of summer. The town of Saturnia is about a 10 minute drive - its a lovely town and there are 4 or 5 restaurants, we ate in 3 of them and all were lovely. We did not get a chance to eat at the hotel but the menu looked nice. Breakfast was good - a choice of breads, fruit, cereal, meats and cheese. Staff were friendly at this hotel and happy to help if needed (which is not something common to everywhere is Tuscany). I have to give a special mention to Sebastien on the Reception desk - he is the best member of staff at this hotel - very friendly, goes out of his way to help and didn't mind speaking English to us :)

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2011

We stayed here when we would visit the hot springs of Saturnia. The hotel is quietly situated slightly off the beaten track, but the way is paved.

The rooms were decorated in "shabby chic" style, very nice with large bathrooms and a great view of the pool and the Tuscan countryside.

It´s a good 10 minute drive to the Saturnia "center" from the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

We spent a couple of days in this wonderful hotel just in the middle of Tuscany and we found everything fantastic: rooms are clean (with minibar free for light drinks), the swimming pool is well located just few meters far from the main building, the restaurant is very good and the staff nice; the hotel is in the middle of the countryside and offers beautiful views: we'll come back there for sure!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2010

This hotel is located in a southern area of Tuscany, outside the beaten path of most foreign tourists. I got the impression it caters mainly for local tourism, coming from nearby Lazio (and also Tuscany) to enjoy the spa and beauty treatments. One would think that a newly built, alleged four-start hotel could offer more comfort and more style, but unfortunately, this is not the case.

On the plus side: it is a relatively new building and situated in the middle of nowhere, so no problems with noise or traffic. The hotel’s restaurant is quite good, but there are plenty of decent restaurants nearby, for the same price or even less. You can easily get a room with a great view and there is a large parking (albeit crumbling down). Housekeeping is very efficient and our room was always cleaned thoroughly before the end of the morning. Reception staff is friendly enough.

On the minus side: despite the fact that the building is quite new, it has an unfinished air and several logistic problems. The hall is definitely not cosy at all and looks more like the waiting room of a station, ditto for the breakfast room. Breakfast itself is nothing special, a couple of cakes, some bread, a small selection of cereals – on the whole rather disappointing. The breakfast room should also be used as bar in the evening, but it was always closed. The pool has a nice view, but the water is ice cold.

Our room was “standard” and I was astonished by the fact that in such a new hotel, rooms are so small. Perhaps only in Florence, were hotels are situated in old buildings, rooms are - understandably - that small. But a newly built hotel? There was space only for a double bed. The wardrobe was placed in the tiny corridor leading to the equally tiny bathroom. If you open the wardrobe door, you cannot open either the entrance or the bathroom door.

It was easy to get entangled in the door situation and equally easy to stumble on the only chair situated next to the tiny desk, next to the window and next to the bed. Overall, the “standard” room resembles a doll’s house and feels just as claustrophobic. Again, I find it extremely weird that in such a new hotel they could not feel compelled to offer a bit more comfort to “standard” customer.

Since I was so disappointed by the room, I did not try the spa, which anyway had very high prices and for those prices one can get treatments in central London. Would definitely not recommend or go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

The hotel is in the middle of the beautiful Tuscan landscape close to the terme di Saturnia. We stayed in an appartment for 220€/night. The appartment had two bathrooms, two bedrooms and a large balcony with two sunbeds. Overall, the hotel was clean and well kept. The pool is big enaugh and has a seperate kids section with shallower water (not for babies). The breakfast was typically Italian but absolutely okay with quite a nice selection of bread, cakes, jam and two kinds of salami and cheese.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Location: the hotel is secluded but not difficult to reach. No dust roads, but all paved so don't worry; you won't need a 4 wheel drive. The scenery is beautifull and at night you hear nothing but the sounds of nature. So if you need your peace and quietness it's an okay hotel.

But don't get your hopes up to high for the spa and rooms. Both are very small. Our room # 212, didn't have a balcony or terras but only a window. There was barely room for our suitcases. We both are short (160-170 cm) but the bed was really small. So if you are tall don't expect to keep your feet inside.

Because it is a wellness/spa hotel we expected nice bathrooms and great stuff like showercream, shampoo, bodymilk etc. But nope.. They only provide a little soap and showercream. Besides that; the bathroom is very very small. Everything is packed in 2,5 square metres. Shower, sink, bidet, toilet.
The brochure says you get slippers (for room and pool) a robe, fresh fruit bowl....but again; nothing of that.

Internet is free (which of course is a good thing!!!)
Satellite tv only had italian channels.

The spa is small, only 4 beds to lay down, a Turkish bath, sauna and 2 jacuzzis. The water in the jacuzzi smelled really awfull and overall we didn't feel like it was cleansed very well. We didn't try any treatments because we just didn't trust them to know what they are doing. It just looked very unprofessional to us.

The restaurant has a wonderfull view. The food is good but also a little overpriced. There are no restaurants in the neighbourhood. The first day they served us really cold red wine. They keep the open bottles in the fridge so if you want to drink red wine; order a bottle.

Breakfast is okay. Not spectacular though. The breakfastroom is really not attractive. We had our breakfast in the garden most of the time. But if the weather is bad and you want to have a drink, you have tto sit in the breakfastroom.... There is no area inside where its nice to sit and have a drink.

The hotel refurbishing is not in style. They combine different styles of furniture, colours and materials and now it just looks like couldn't choose.... It makes the total impression look cheap. They need a good interior decorator.

For us the hotel lacks of style and luxery atmosfere that you may expect in a 4 star hotel.
We won't go back here. (by the way; we paid 507,- euro for 3 nights, B&B and free entrance in spa.)

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Saturnia Tuscany Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Saturnia Tuscany Hotel

Address: Strada Marco Pantani | Loc. Poggio Murella SATURNIA, 58014 Saturnia, Manciano, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Manciano > Saturnia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Saturnia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Saturnia Tuscany Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is a place, in southern Tuscany, where the silence is the loudest noise, where the landscape sees the infinite and where the scents of vineyards and olive groves evoke country atmospheres, by now, for those who live in cities, completely forgotten. Standing atop of a hill overlooking the valley at 360°, just two Kilometers far from the famous thermal waters of Saturnia that flow at 37° through all the seasons, rises the Saturnia Tuscany Hotel, a 4 stars Hotel designed by the Italian architect paolo Portoghesi with all the services.The house offers rooms having private veranda or balcony, all overlooking the surrounding contryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Saturnia Tuscany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Saturnia Tuscany
Saturnia Tuscany Manciano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saturnia Tuscany Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.