We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a treat for free” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cascate del Mulino

Cascate del Mulino
Saturnia, Saturnia, Manciano, Italy
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 4 Attractions in Saturnia
Type: Hot Springs/ Geysers, Waterfalls, Nature & Parks
Attraction details
Leeds
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“What a treat for free”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

I'd heard about this place and have to say its well worth the trip - for us about 60km / 1and a half hours. From the road it looks spectacular and when you get there even better. There is a smell of sulphur and it does hang around on your bathing gear a bit but not enough to put you off. The whole experience is interesting, invigorating, pleasant and unique. Where can you normally get into a warm bath in the middle of the country, outdoors and just relax. its like being in a nice warm jacuzzi.
True there's not much else here and its fairly basic but its free ! and its really quite enjoyable. I'd recommend it and i'd go back again if in the area. there's a free car park nearby. Do take a towel, bathing gear and some sort of trainers / shoes to get you at least near the water.
We visited Pitigliano on the way here - very picturesque - nice meal there and worth a stop but we didnt find much else there to be honest.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

879 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    492
    284
    55
    30
    18
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
irvine
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“relax, you will not smell like rotten eggs...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is a great and unique place to visit and enjoy. My family and I spent an afternoon there after a morning visit to Sovana (a beautiful village definetely worth a visit). If you are planning to go make sure to bring: a large towel to change, or you can use the portable potty at the coffee shop, but the restroom there is not very big; also, I wished I had a pair of water shoes to walk more comfortably in the water. The sulfur does not smell too bad at all, the various little waterfall, provide a vigorous massage, and the mud, more available in the lower part is really great for the skin. If possible choose a cool day , since being this location farther away from the coast (50 minutes circa), it could get pretty warm and humid of course.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Free natural spa and massage”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

A natural wonder indeed! Lay in the water and relax or let the stream massage your back! Come early in the morning, before it's too crowded....The sulfur in the water didn't bother me, it didn't smell to bad. My skin was nice and soft after soaking in the water. It is a pitty though that people leave there trash in the area. No respect for nature. Oh, and there is no possibility to change clothes, bring a large towel so you can change under it. But t is worth the trouble!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“experience to make!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012

you would never think of finding such a beautiful & accessible place. warm but not hot water, sulphurous (softens your skin, helps breathing better), in the middle of beautiful tuscany countryside, accessible for FREE.
Recommended to those who don't look for comfortable spa (they can go to the Terme di Saturnia SPA).
very natural setting, a little uncomfortable if you stay seated long...but it's so much worthwile!!
free parking also available.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Sebastian de los Reyes, Spain
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Amazing is all I can say...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is one of those places that I had to think twice about writing a review for because it is so amazing and not visited very often by tourists. Thermal hot springs coming out of the ground cascading down natural pools of travertine and the view of the Tuscany countryside made me feel like I was in a dream. One of my highlights of my trip to Italy and definitely on my list of places to come back and visit again someday. The soil contained in the pools is full of mineral and people rub it on their faces and bodies and it is said to help heal many ailments and the healing power of these pools dates back to ancient times... We came here with locals who knew about this place and so thankful we had the opportunity to visit such an amazing place.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cascate del Mulino also viewed

 

Been to Cascate del Mulino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cascate del Mulino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.