We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo a Merse B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Rocco a Pilli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palazzo a Merse B&B
Save
You added Palazzo a Merse B&B to your Saves list
Localita Palazzo a Merse, 22, 53010 San Rocco a Pilli, Sovicille, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2014 via mobile

We accidently found this place on our way to Siena. Wonderful family run B & B. Very clean great breakfast. Be careful of the low roof in the bathroom!! I got to practice my Italian with their 4 year old daughter over breakfast, we played with her toys animals, just off the main road, but you feel you are in the last century.

Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

We enjoy a week here; we got spacious room, great hosts greeted us; Everything was excelent. Maybe the place itself is too remote and at the same time we hadn't found too many walking trails. Apart this highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We just left this beautiful place after one week of vacation. We stayed in one of the apartments and it was perfect. We went there with our three children who enjoyed it just as much as we did. The owners are so helpful and smiling and they all make you feel like home, the pool was a wonderful place to rest a couple of hours every day and the surroundings- the beautiful garden, all the flowers, the rabbits and the cats just made the place perfect to all ages. We recommend this place to anyone and we are already planning our next trip to this place:-).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed here in early September 2012 having booked through Inn Travel. The photos didn't do it justice - it was absolutely fantastic in every way. The location, the accommodation, the welcoming family who live on site, the scenery and the weather all lived up to expectations. Andrea and his family are delightful and helpful and although are going about their daily lives around the property, we never felt our privacy was compromised. We spent most days travelling around Tuscany visiting Siena and all the large and small places seeing the most wonderful scenery and architecture. There are a couple of lovely rustic restaurants nearby where Italians eat which is always a good sign and we were not disappointed as the food was delicious. The property has a beautiful garden and pool so we spent a couple of days just relaxing, reading, swimming and generally unwinding and we were the only visitors around. We stayed in the Granaio accommodation and there was everything we needed, so much so that we catered for ourselves most evenings after our busy days out. This place is a real find and much recommended for a holiday in a country we love.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We used Palazzo a Merse as our basecamp for bicycling the nearby areas. We stayed five nights and had a very pleasant experience. The apartment was nice and clean, but most importantly the atmosphere was very warm and welcoming and all our needs were handled well.

This was an ideal place for bicyclist, since Andrea (the owner) is a bicycling enthusiast and a co-author of a book about bicycling routes in Tuscany. So the route tips were good and the bikes as well. :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

We were recommended palazzo a Merse B&B by chef Gina Stipo who runs a cooking school on the premises. it was our best experience in Tuscany. The proprietor was warm and welcoming. Breakfast was a delight. Our B&B was most comfortable and cozy. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Cons:
- tended to be cold, in October, no matter the heater, the room was a bit cold.
- the hot water was not constant, as a morning showerer, it came and went. I think the other rooms challenge u for your share of the hot water.
- Bugs - but your in the country, it's expected

Pros:
- pet chickens which were. Cute
covered parking
- free wi-fi ( need to be near signal)
- beautiful property in historic home that has been redone.
- rooms come with kitchen and stocked with cooking equipment so you can make your own dinners.
- located 20 min from Siena, 1 hour from Florence, and central to a lot of the Tuscany haunts.
- can take Italian cooking classes in the old mill on the premise (run by someone different)
- nice garden and peaceful in warmer climates.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo a Merse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo a Merse B&B

Address: Localita Palazzo a Merse, 22, 53010 San Rocco a Pilli, Sovicille, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sovicille > San Rocco a Pilli
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in San Rocco a Pilli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Palazzo a Merse B&B San Rocco a Pilli, Province Of Siena, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo a Merse B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.