We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for bicycling” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo a Merse B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Rocco a Pilli
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Palazzo a Merse B&B
Save Saved
You added Palazzo a Merse B&B to your Saves list
Localita Palazzo a Merse, 22, 53010 San Rocco a Pilli, Sovicille, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Helsinki
1 review
“Great for bicycling”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

We used Palazzo a Merse as our basecamp for bicycling the nearby areas. We stayed five nights and had a very pleasant experience. The apartment was nice and clean, but most importantly the atmosphere was very warm and welcoming and all our needs were handled well.

This was an ideal place for bicyclist, since Andrea (the owner) is a bicycling enthusiast and a co-author of a book about bicycling routes in Tuscany. So the route tips were good and the bikes as well. :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2010

We were recommended palazzo a Merse B&B by chef Gina Stipo who runs a cooking school on the premises. it was our best experience in Tuscany. The proprietor was warm and welcoming. Breakfast was a delight. Our B&B was most comfortable and cozy. We didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

Cons:
- tended to be cold, in October, no matter the heater, the room was a bit cold.
- the hot water was not constant, as a morning showerer, it came and went. I think the other rooms challenge u for your share of the hot water.
- Bugs - but your in the country, it's expected

Pros:
- pet chickens which were. Cute
covered parking
- free wi-fi ( need to be near signal)
- beautiful property in historic home that has been redone.
- rooms come with kitchen and stocked with cooking equipment so you can make your own dinners.
- located 20 min from Siena, 1 hour from Florence, and central to a lot of the Tuscany haunts.
- can take Italian cooking classes in the old mill on the premise (run by someone different)
- nice garden and peaceful in warmer climates.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

We stayed in the B&B rooms within the house for 2 nights in August. They were well appointed with nice furniture, big bathroom (although bath tube and handheld shower only), and great breakfast served in the lovely garden. The location is good and it's worth visiting the Cloisters in Torri if you are there on the appropriate days. The host also offers guided bike tours which sounded good but we didn't know about them until the morning we were leaving - ask in advance. Would stay there again and recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

We stayed 5 nights in the Tinaio apartment. Palazzo a Merse is very peaceful and quiet, located in the country, but not far from the hill towns of Orgia & Torri and a larger town, Rosia. Our hosts Margherite & Andrea were very helpful and greeted us with a bottle of wine. Andrea sat down with us and a map and pointed out local places of interest that we really enjoyed. The location seemed central to the areas we wanted to visit, we drove in a different direction every day. We used our small kitchen for breakfast and a couple meals, which we ate at a garden table. Also a good place to sit in the evening.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo a Merse B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo a Merse B&B

Address: Localita Palazzo a Merse, 22, 53010 San Rocco a Pilli, Sovicille, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sovicille > San Rocco a Pilli
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in San Rocco a Pilli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Palazzo a Merse B&B San Rocco a Pilli, Province Of Siena, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo a Merse B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.