We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highlight of our Italian trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenuta la Santissima

Save Saved
You added Tenuta la Santissima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tenuta la Santissima
Loc. la Santissima 17, 53018 San Rocco a Pilli, Sovicille, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
GreenLeadersGold level
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highlight of our Italian trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at Tenuta for two days last week and absolutely fell in love with everything here. The warm hospitality of the family, the cosy room, the magnificent landscape, the cute dogs and last but not least - the most wonderful dinner experiences! If you get to stay here, don't miss the dinner. Madame's cooking is true art, all made with love!

The family lent us two very nice mountain bikes, which allowed us to freely explore the astonishingly beautiful surrounding areas - especially in the southeast where there were almost no cars. We didn't know it would be hard to find a restaurant out there, but the family thought of it of course and prepared (very delicious!) sandwiches for lunch for us. So thoughtful! After these two very memorable days, we just want to say:

Merci beacoup de tous, Madame! Nous voulons déjà retourner!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    125
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
75
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

All the prior reviews have highlighted what you might want to know about Tenuta. I seconded all of them as I stayed 3 days with the family. If you are looking for a peaceful, homey, kind, genuine family to stay with, I would not hesitate a heart beat to recommend Tenuta. Also big thanks to lovely mummy who has raised 4 kids and take excellent care of us. Grazie Mille !!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed in this lovely 400-year old B&B 2 weeks ago and had the most wonderful Tuscan countryside experience that we were looking for! We booked this B&B based on the rave reviews on tripadvisor and it definitely did not disappoint. We were warmly welcomed by the host family. Rooms were huge and spacious, bathrooms clean and modern. As it was early spring, it was still cold but we were kept warm and cosy in the house with heaters and a cosy fireplace. The highlight of the stay here has got to be the meals prepared by the mother of the family. We decided that dinner here is a must-try from the reviews and it was really really good! Dinner consisted of different types starters, risotto, meat, veg, dessert, good Chianti wine. We requested to have pasta for dinner the following night, and we were surprised with not one but 3 different types of pastas. All wonderful! Tip: do not have heavy lunch before dinner so you can truly savor her wonderful cooking! We ventured into the kitchen often to peek and it was heartwarming to see "momma" spend so much time preparing her food with love. Breakfast was a feast with homemade croissants, marmalade etc. We felt bad we had to leave very early in the morning on our last day and we expected a simpler breakfast, but no, it was still the usual feast. Thank you so much for your hospitality and the wonderful experience, Tenuta la Santissima. We are still reminiscing about our stay back in faraway Singapore.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We can not possibly begin to describe how grateful we are to the family of this bed and breakfast. They are more than hosts, they are ambassadors for the inhabitants of Siena and for that matter Italy. I feel that you would be hard pressed to find kinder more giving people. Through them and their efforts we were able to see a side of Tuscany that would have otherwise been unavailable to us. We chose to have dinner with them and in doing so created life long memories. It was by far the best meal we ate in Italy and we could not have had better company. You will not leave the table wanting.

Of all the places we have stayed through our travels this is far and away our favorite. Its not just because our room was spacious and comfortable with all the amenities you could hope for. It was because of the family that went out of their way to make sure our stay was one to be remembered.

Also, my wife wanted to say the house was beautiful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

We just came back from our wonderful trip in Tuscany, stayed with our 2 kidsin this B&B for 3 nights, and enjoyed every minute of it, the kids were very sad as they had to say goodbye to "grandma"...

The food was prepared by "grandma" with lots of love, and it's heavenly delicious... The room was clean, the living room and library are spaceful and we spent a lot of time there reading while the kids were playing with the dogs.... The hosts are extremely kind and helpful, gave us many tips for Tuscany... A must stay if you're travel around Siena. Will defenitely recommend to our friends!

We'll come back with our bambine to visit their "grandma ":))))

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

This bed and breakfast is in the middle of the country side about 10km from Siena. The rooms were very clean, comfortable, well kept and very spacious. We stayed in the winter and in our room we could control our own heat so we never had to worry about being too cold.

The family was beyond friendly. Breakfast was offered when you woke up, not between precise hours. We opted for the typical Italian breakfast, cappuccino, homemade cakes and jam and fresh juice. We also stayed in for lunch and dinner. The food was better than being in a restaurant. Absolutely exceptional. We had her surprise us with a meal that included an appetizer, first course, second course, dessert and a nice bottle of wine. Everything delicious.

We travel a lot throughout Italy and the only negative thing we have to say about this place is that we found the rooms to be a bit overpriced especially for being off season - for only this reason we are giving a rating of 4 stars and not 5.

This is a perfect getaway for those who want to spend time away from the city life and just relax. The family is very welcoming, extremely kind and beyond helpful.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Tenuta la Santissima for two nights in August and it was perfect. Everything you would ever want in a Bed and Breakfast is here. And frankly, calling it a "Bed and Breakfast" simply doesn't justify how wonderful of an experience this place provides. We not only had breakfast but, for the most part, also had lunch and dinner and it was quite literally some of the best food we have ever tasted. We had dinner with the family on both nights and we ate and drank until we could no more. It was simply wonderful. During the second day of our stay, we used their bikes to tour the countryside and, at their wonderful suggestion, went to a local river where we swam and lounged, as they say, under the Tuscan sun. They are the most gracious, warm-hearted, thoughtful and helpful hosts we have ever encountered. The rooms are wonderful and made for a fantastic stay. I would say, if you’re going to Siena, do yourself a big favour and stay least one night at Tenuta la Santissima. I could write about this place for pages but it wouldn’t do it justice. Do yourself a favour and spend a night or a few at Tenuta la Santissima. I know I will forever have fond memories of the people and the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tenuta la Santissima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta la Santissima

Address: Loc. la Santissima 17, 53018 San Rocco a Pilli, Sovicille, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sovicille > San Rocco a Pilli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in San Rocco a Pilli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tenuta la Santissima is part of an old hamlet and first descriptions of the inn date back to the 13th century. The inn was a meeting place for pilgrims and it preserves his history of welcoming. Located a few minutes outside Siena, Tenuta la Santissima is a cosy place surrounded by nature. Enjoy the beauty and peace of nature just from your room or go out for a walk in the surroundings or make a trip by bicycle. Tenuta la Santissima is only 5km away from Siena. Here you can combine relaxing holidays with pleasant tours in the city and its surroundings. If you wish you can join the lifestyle of this places, contemplating or taking part to the activities in vegetable gardens and in the farmland. Back from your visiting tours of monuments and villages, enjoy the traditional dinner with the family. Everything is prepared with our organic natural products. Let yourself be inspired by the peace and beauty of the genuine Tuscan countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and T4B so you can book your Tenuta la Santissima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta La Santissima San Rocco a Pilli, Province Of Siena, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenuta la Santissima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.