We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must Stay in Tuscany” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tenuta la Santissima

Save Saved
You added Tenuta la Santissima to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tenuta la Santissima
Loc. la Santissima 17, 53018 San Rocco a Pilli, Sovicille, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free parking
GreenLeadersGold level
Delta, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A Must Stay in Tuscany”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Tenuta la Santissima for two nights in August and it was perfect. Everything you would ever want in a Bed and Breakfast is here. And frankly, calling it a "Bed and Breakfast" simply doesn't justify how wonderful of an experience this place provides. We not only had breakfast but, for the most part, also had lunch and dinner and it was quite literally some of the best food we have ever tasted. We had dinner with the family on both nights and we ate and drank until we could no more. It was simply wonderful. During the second day of our stay, we used their bikes to tour the countryside and, at their wonderful suggestion, went to a local river where we swam and lounged, as they say, under the Tuscan sun. They are the most gracious, warm-hearted, thoughtful and helpful hosts we have ever encountered. The rooms are wonderful and made for a fantastic stay. I would say, if you’re going to Siena, do yourself a big favour and stay least one night at Tenuta la Santissima. I could write about this place for pages but it wouldn’t do it justice. Do yourself a favour and spend a night or a few at Tenuta la Santissima. I know I will forever have fond memories of the people and the place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    122
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
73
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Elk Grove, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Tenuta la Santissima was one of the highlights of our month long travels in Tuscany! With a car we were able to take easy day trips to the Chiani region, Montalcino, San Quirico d'orcia, Pienza, Montepulciano, San Gimignano and of couse, Siena! The room was very clean and comfortable with the most beautiful view of Siena and the surrounding countryside! Therese and her family were very welcoming and the food was absolutely sublime! We stayed a total of seven nights and breakfasts were different each morning, always including fresh baked pastries, and a savory dish (quiche, souffle, frattata). We were very impressed. If you intend to visit Siena, Tenuta la Santissima is highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wayne, nj
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We found and stayed at Tenuta la Santissima through the great reviews on trip advisor. Trust me, it did not disappoint. The house was immaculate, the rooms were large and half the house was at our disposal. The breakfasts were to die for (we had two). They were a combination of Italian and french, each day was a new eating adventure. We were hoping to have dinner there, because of the rave reviews on this website but it was not offered to us and we were not sure if we should ask. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

If you do just one thing in Italy, eat and stay here; this b&b is a destination in itself. The dinner was not only one of the best meals I have had in my life, it was a truly wonderful experience as well. The b&b is nearly impossible to find, so get detailed directions before you go.

Make this a part of your trip; you will not regret it!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed as a family of 4 for I night on the way from Venice to sorrento. My wife was a bit scared when we first arrived as the nearby town is very basic and the grounds of the house aren't pristine, but we had the most beautiful Italian authentic experience as the very lovely Maria Therese and her family made us feel like family as we shared their house (literally as our kids played with their 3 dogs all around even the private parts of the house). The dinner was our best in an 18 day tour of Italy and the family came and are with us (at our request). Thankyou for a truly lovely experience!!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Really tough to put this experience into words but will try - amazing!

First, the details of the place . . . we had a hard time finding it because at the time there was no sign. Do not fret, call the house and they will come find you which is what we did :) We stayed in the Lily room and it was huge. Large sitting area with couch/2 chairs, large wardrobe, desk with chair, king-sized bed with extra blankets, entry hallway for all your extras, large bathroom, plenty of hot water, blow-dryer and windows in each room with great Tuscan views. There was also breakfast provided each morning (prepared by "mom") and it was amazing. All home made and can expect things like quiche, tarts, crepes, eggs, crumbles, souffles, etc. Also included were meats/cheeses, yogurt, juice and coffee (several preparations) each morning.

The Family. The warmest family we have ever meet in all of our travels! Very welcoming and willing to include you as their own. The head of the house, Therèse ("mom"), is all smiles. Loves to take care of you. Always offering something to eat or a lending hand. Also makes AMAZING meals (see above and more to come about dinner). Three of her children live with her (Pierre, Eric, Marike (sp?) to help her run the house, along with their 3 dogs (Margo, Tina, Stella). We got to know Pierre and Eric the best who speak great English. They are both very friendly and make you feel like a sibling immediately. They both helped us with directions, recommendations on things to do, introduced us to Vin Santo, and were always willing to share a glass of wine or a good laugh!

The Dinner. Do this at least once! Therèse will make you a home-cooked, traditional Italian meal. To die for. We recommend not eating for 12 hours before, seriously. The meal is HUGE. To give you an idea, we had the following - Apps: grilled veggies, 3 types of crostini, fried squash blossoms from her garden, meats, cheeses; Pasta Course - pasta al forno (lasgna); Meat Course - lamb, guinea hen, pork loin; Dessert - variety of cookies and pastries. All this with wine and Vin Santo. Note, we wanted the family to eat with us. Not sure if they normally do but I recommend highly to get to know them. Very fun!

Lastly, the Vibe. Can't stress this enough, it felt like you were staying with long lost family who wanted to take you in and make sure every minute was enjoyable. Always around to offer advice, a glass of wine or just chat. The dogs are all friendly and loving. Mom and children love each other very much and it shows. They all take care of each other and it spills over to their guests. You don't ever want to leave.

All in all, the was the best B&B we have ever stayed at and that is our preferred accommodations when traveling. Not pretentious and very comfortable. You will absolutely leave feeling like the family is a part of your own and Tenuta la Santissima is a home away from home.

We WILL be back!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

There's a restaurant chain in America with the slogan "when you are here you are family" it's a nice enough place but a pale reflection of the real thing which is what you will find at Tenutta La Santissma. My husband and I stayed here for two nights. Upon our arrival we were warmly welcomed by Marie and her sons Pierre and Eric. Our room (the Daisy) was large, clean and very comfortable. We loved that there was a pitcher of cold water waiting for us after a long trip getting there. The best part of our stay was the food. We had dinner with Marie and Pierre and a really great couple from Australia. The evening was wonderful. Marie started us out with two different pasta dishes and then moved into an eggplant dish that was superb. The meat course was fantastic - especially the pork in a cream sauce with sage. The guinea hen was wonderful too. It was so fun to get to know our hosts as well as the newlyweds :) We felt as though we were at home. Breakfast the next day was equally amazing. Our second dinner there was terrific as well - risotto and ossobuco. We think Marie should create a cookbook. Our stay at Tenuta was wonderful and we whole-heartedly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Tenuta la Santissima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta la Santissima

Address: Loc. la Santissima 17, 53018 San Rocco a Pilli, Sovicille, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sovicille > San Rocco a Pilli
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in San Rocco a Pilli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tenuta la Santissima is part of an old hamlet and first descriptions of the inn date back to the 13th century. The inn was a meeting place for pilgrims and it preserves his history of welcoming. Located a few minutes outside Siena, Tenuta la Santissima is a cosy place surrounded by nature. Enjoy the beauty and peace of nature just from your room or go out for a walk in the surroundings or make a trip by bicycle. Tenuta la Santissima is only 5km away from Siena. Here you can combine relaxing holidays with pleasant tours in the city and its surroundings. If you wish you can join the lifestyle of this places, contemplating or taking part to the activities in vegetable gardens and in the farmland. Back from your visiting tours of monuments and villages, enjoy the traditional dinner with the family. Everything is prepared with our organic natural products. Let yourself be inspired by the peace and beauty of the genuine Tuscan countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and T4B so you can book your Tenuta la Santissima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta La Santissima San Rocco a Pilli, Province Of Siena, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tenuta la Santissima, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.