We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fattoria di Cavaglioni

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Fattoria di Cavaglioni to your Saves list
Fattoria di Cavaglioni
Via del Poggetto 1, San Rocco a Pilli, Sovicille, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

My boyfriend and I booked 2 nights at the villa in early July, and enjoyed it so much that we extended our stay for an extra night! The villa had beautiful grounds, amazing views of the Tuscan countryside, and was equipped with a fully functioning kitchen. It is located about 20 minutes outside of Siena, and there is a fairly frequent bus that takes you right into the city, which conveniently has a stop right outside of the villa. One of the downsides is that the last bus leaving Siena to return to the villa is fairly early (around 8pm) so if you want to enjoy Siena’s nightlife be prepared to pay around 20 euros for a taxi. Also a warning, no A/C meant leaving our window open at night, and we were awoken each morning by about 5am by an incessant rooster.

Overall though, I would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
13
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

The villa is located in San Rocco, 15min drive to Siena. The town is well serviced with coop supermarket, bakery, pharmacy, restaurants and bank. The villa itself was set in an idyllic location with fantastic views over the Tuscan countryside. We had the huge garden and pool to ourselves. The room was fairly basic however comfortable and clean. Owner was lovely and spoke good English. Breakfast was good and kitchen facilities brilliant especially as you could eat on a balcony overlooking rolling Tuscan hills! A great place to stay if you'd like peace and quiet within close proximity of beautiful Siena. Thank you for a lovely few days!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

This has truly been one of my best hotel/b&b experiences ever. A beautiful old villa with an amazing view of Toscany, who could ask for more? The mother and daughter who run this place were nothing but generous and helpfull. We were there under the Palio and she told us about the race, history of the contradas ++ We were lucky we could extend our stay, because we just couldn't leave after just 2 days. Im definitely coming back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

It was amazing, incredible rooms, beautiful surroundings. The people who run it are so friendly and helpful, it was just the perfect base to see much of Tuscany.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011 via mobile

This farmhouse is the perfect base for time in Tuscany - would recommend a car or scooter rental. We didn't have a car but the bus system was sufficient (except for on Sundays, but arriving on a Sunday was our own fault - Taxi from Siena was about 30 euros). Service was great - I cannot think of one way which we could have been more annoying. We arrived earlier than expected, asked a multitude of questions, requested bookings and checked out at an early hour... through it all the service was patient, accurate and simply amazing. Rooms spacious. Kitchen clean with all the necessities for a simple meal (no microwave). Sunsets from the balcony overlook the countryside - but don't forget bug spray!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Great place, was recommended it by a friend and so glad we went. Was great to be so close to Siena yet be in the quieter country part surrounded by beatuiful fields and views with a pool and cheap wine from their own winery. I would recommend a car but up to you.

Room Tip: As far as I know all rooms have a great view, they are basic but clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

This guesthouse run by a lovely family is set in the most beautiful Tuscan countryside surroundings and makes for a very relaxing stay. Very clean, huge rooms with loads of character, common rooms, kitchen, balcony. Had an amazing stay here and if I was ever to return to Siena I would not hesitate to stay here again. It is not located in central Siena and was a little tricky to find but we liked the fact that it was a bit out of the way so it was quiet and we felt like we were really experiencing life in Italy, rather than life as a tourist. Would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fattoria di Cavaglioni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fattoria di Cavaglioni

Address: Via del Poggetto 1, San Rocco a Pilli, Sovicille, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Siena > Sovicille > San Rocco a Pilli
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in San Rocco a Pilli
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fattoria di Cavaglioni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fattoria Di Cavaglioni San Rocco a Pilli, Province Of Siena, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fattoria di Cavaglioni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.