We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Galley of Lorne Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Galley of Lorne Inn to your Saves list
The Galley of Lorne Inn
3.5 of 5 Inn   |   Ardfern by Lochgilphead, Ardfern PA31 8QN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Ardfern B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Great pub/hotel/restaurant. Glorious setting by a loch with a restaurant overlooking the loch.
Great friendly hosts and the food was very good. You can eat in the pub or the restaurant.We only stayed one night but will return in the future. Great places to visit from this Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    98
    16
    12
    5
See reviews for
52
348
12
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I really don't know where to start. I could rave about the food. I could rave about the music in the restaurant. I could rave about the room. I could rave about the location. I could rave about the peace and quiet. But if you haven't visited you will not understand how fantastic this place is. The rooms would grace any top London Hotel and the views over the Loch are lovely.
The food has got to be some of the best I have ever tasted. A wonderful variety of meat, fish and vegetarian.
All I can say is if you only ever spend one night in Scotland in your lifetime just make sure it is spent at The Gallery of Lorne at Ardfern.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed in the hotel for three weeks on business , on arrival very good impression, Rooms were perfect for our needs, comfortable and very clean, Free Wi-Fi. Staff superb could not do enough for us. Food and service was excellent, great choices on the menu. Lovley location overlooking the Loch, Definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant to anybody on business or leisure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catterick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I've eaten at the galley of lorne fairly often over the last decade - stretching as far back as the previous owners. I've also stayed there overnight. The food is good and it is very clear that the present owners have brought up the standard in every area.

But...............you know, I wonder if the bar meals are becoming a little overpriced? I was in the bar rather than the restaurant and ordered the port and apple burger with chips and salad. It was really good but when I compare the quality of similar meals elsewhere it is more expensive than similar places and meals. The following week I ate a similar quality of lunch in Edinburgh and it was significantly cheaper. I like and use the restaurant from time to time, and happy with the prices there, but I am thinking that the bar meals are getting too expensive. The locals and the sailors from the marina will be chased away!

Having had my moan, the food is good, the service is good and the atmosphere is the best in the area. I recommend this inn as a warm and friendly place to stay or just to drop in for a meal or drink. There is nothing else to touch it for many miles around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galley_of_Lorne, Owner at The Galley of Lorne Inn, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear David,

Many thanks for your review. Ordinarily a four star review would not require a response other than a note of thanks and such comments as 'There is nothing else to touch it for many miles around' are simply heartwarming. However I feel it important to come back to the wider Tripadvisor community reference the comments re pricing.

As you are aware we are a village inn / hotel who prides itself on quality, fresh, homemade produce and as has been remarked upon both in yours and in many reviews other reviews. The food we produce has been constantly referred to as a far higher level than one would ordinarily expect from an Inn. Furthermore, on many occasions has been said to be most fairly priced given the level of cuisine now being produced.

However for a village Inn to be compared to an establishment in Edinburgh is simply not a fair comparison to make. Edinburgh is a metropolis with a footfall of potential customers equivalent in one day to what our village would be lucky to experience in an entire year. Admittedly there is far more competition in Edinburgh and thus establishments must be more competitively priced, but this is rebalanced by the sheer numbers of diners that go through the door.

The costs of running an equivalent establishment would perhaps be the same in terms of wages etc, but the margins are totally different if an establishment in Edinburgh can do 100 meals a day on average every day of the year. To achieve those kind of numbers in a small village is simply impossible. In the depths of winter we are sometimes fortunate just to do a handful of meals and yet we need to have a chef just in case. (Believe me, you wouldn't want to taste my cooking) He or she will still be paid regardless of how many people walk through the door. This is the price we pay for being open all year round.

Costs of raw products are typically more expensive in rural areas than that in the city and suppliers offer cheaper prices, based on quantities ordered (economies of scale) and location (delivery costs). As such the exact same produce we buy will cost us more than an establishment in a major city. The best local produce also comes at a price, but we will never compromise quality over cost. I'm afraid it is a case of basic economics.

An excellent example of the difference in running costs would be with gas. In Edinburgh they have the benefit of running on mains gas, at most at 20p per litre. In rural locations we have no choice but to use LPG which is currently charged at 60p per litre (businesses are charged higher than private households as private dwelling LPG gas prices are capped by the government and subsidised by businesses). Given that we use in excess of 20,000 litres of LPG per annum, this in itself is a monumental on cost, than an equivalent establishment in Edinburgh would have to endure. The comparisons could go on.

As you will be aware we do not have a bar menu and a separate restaurant menu. We afford the same high quality food regardless of where you wish to dine throughout the premises. Again the reasoning behind this is straightforward. We have many dog owners who wish to dine (they are limited to the public bar area) and many yachtsmen and women who perhaps have had too hard a day to feel relaxed in a restaurant environment, but they still wish to have the high quality food we serve.

It is important to stress that we are cheaper than all of our comparable competitors in the mid Argyll area, and of course I wish we could charge lower prices. If we had thousands of people a day walking past our front door as happens in Edinburgh then this might be achievable.

However, if we did lower our prices in our location, which is very seasonal and simply does not and will never have such a capability to attract people in the number of an establishment in Edinburgh, then it wouldn't be long before we joined the list of the thousands of establishments like ours that have become bankrupt in the past year. Pricing is established in any premises based on expected / actual custom and overheads of running the business.

We hope that this response is taken in the way it is intended, as an explanation as to why it is unfair to compare pricing of an establishment in a rural village to an establishment in a large city. We are operating on a totally different playing field, but again we thank you for all your kind comments re our efforts to make The Galley of Lorne Inn a destination of choice in the area.

I would be delighted to explain in more detail if you make yourself known to me the next time you visit The Galley of Lorne Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

On arrival we had a warm welcome from chris the manager, who was very helpful and friendly throughout our stay as all staff were.
Food was excellent, a lot better than expected. Couldn't fault it at all. Tremendous views of the Loch from the restaurant.
The bar was very traditional in a Scottish sense, the warm coal fire was delightful. Lots of friendly locals that made our stay pleasant.
The surrounding area was beautiful, very picturesque.
We will definitely return!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Superiour Skye suit. Room had all the facilities that we required. Enjoyed relaxing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and myself spent two nights at this excellent hotel in early April.Room was very good,clean warm and comfortable with some nice additional touches such as the i pod docking station.Food was excellent,served in the lovely dining room overlooking the loch with the additional bonus of some well chosen background music.Welcoming bar with roaring log fire in an old stone fireplace and drinks served by bar manager Chris, who is a real gem.
Ideal base for exploring the surrounding countryside with lots of info provided by owner Andrew and his helpful staff.Looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a lochside view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed at The Galley of Lorne Inn for two nights on our way to the outer hebrides. We chose the location because of the boat trips to the Corryvrecken from Ardfern and also it's easy access to Oban for the Calmac ferries. We really enjoyed the relaxed and friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Galley of Lorne Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Galley of Lorne Inn

Address: Ardfern by Lochgilphead, Ardfern PA31 8QN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Ardfern
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Ardfern
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Galley of Lorne Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Galley of Lorne Inn is a 17th Century Drover's Inn and country retreat situated in the picturesque village of Ardfern which nestles among the hills beside Loch Craignish. This beautiful corner of Argyll has long been a favourite for yachtsmen, artists and those who appreciate beauty, wildness plus the good things in life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Galley of Lorne Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Galley Of Lorne Hotel Ardfern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Galley of Lorne Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.