We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Guest House which Cannot be Bettered” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunchraigaig House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kilmartin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dunchraigaig House
Save
You added Dunchraigaig House to your Saves list
Kilmartin Glen, Kilmartin PA31 8RG, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Kilmartin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Glasgow
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A Guest House which Cannot be Bettered”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Lynn and Cameron go out of their way to make your stay at Dunchraigaig a memorable one.
The house is beautiful and spotlessly clean. The accommodation is 5 star. The food is fantastic. Add to all of this the fact that the entertainment includes red squirrels, pinemartins and some of the finest scenery in all of Scotland and you have a holiday that is second to none.
We will certainly be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunchraigaig, Owner at Dunchraigaig House, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you so much for writing a review of your stay at Dunchraigaig House. We loved meeting you both and so pleased that you got to see our performing wildlife! We look forward to seeing you both again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
106
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stirling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We returned again this year for a long weekend and thoroughly enjoyed our stay once again. It's just impossible to think how it could be any better. Wonderful tranquility, wildlife aplenty and Lynn & Cameron doing everything to make their guests feel welcome and at-home. Cannot recommend highly enough. Many thanks again for looking after us so well

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunchraigaig, Owner at Dunchraigaig House, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your stay - we loved having you back at Dunchraigaig and hope that your onward journey to Mull was good. Thank you also for sharing your photos of the pine marten on facebook - the first photo of our 2013 pine marten kit! We do hope to see you both again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire. UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We couldn't have found anywhere better for our all-too-brief stay in Kilmartin. Dunchraigaig has to be one of the best B & Bs we have ever visited. Beautiful, quiet surroundings, delightful, well-equipped room and breakfasts to die for! Lynn and Cameron couldn't have made us more welcome - and even took the trouble to call us when the pine marten decided to make an appearance in the garden. Lynn is an amazing cook and each afternoon a plateful of different flavoured cup-cakes appeared in the guests' sitting room for visitors to enjoy.
No wonder so many of our fellow guests told us that they have returned to Dunchraigaig time and time again. We'll certainly be booking next time we travel through Argyll!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunchraigaig, Owner at Dunchraigaig House, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Dunchraigaig House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it is good to hear that you enjoyed the cupcakes - I am always experimenting in the kitchen and love getting guests feedback! We do hope that you will visit again - we would love to see you both.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Second time stayed at Dunchraigaig House both visits felt very comfortable and spotlessly clean. Location and surroundings perfect. Ideal for exploring the area Local attraction and not to far away from Beavers in Knapdale Forest

Room Tip: Lynn and Cameron make you feel very welcome on arrival tea and cake available, both very helpful wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunchraigaig, Owner at Dunchraigaig House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Dunchraigaig House. It was lovely to see you all again and hope that you enjoyed your onward trip to Mull. We do hope that you will come back again next year and give the pine marten a chance to redeem herself - I still cannot believe that your patience wasn't rewarded! She does now have a kit which she is bringing into the garden so we hope this will increase next years chance of a sighting!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunblane, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Lovely holiday in lovely house with so many thoughtful extras...tea and cake on arrival, breakfast specials (scrambled egg with smoked salmon, kippers etc) different each day and home made muffins to be eaten at breakfast or taken away. We enjoyed biscuits or cake in the sitting room after visiting the beautiful countryside.

Room Tip: Lilac was very comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunchraigaig, Owner at Dunchraigaig House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Dunchraigaig House. We are pleased that you have some happy memories of your stay and hope that the history of the glen will tempt you back to explore further. Although that weekend was especially active because of the St Columba celebrations at the museum, there is always something to discover in the Kilmartin Glen!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed for three nights. The welcome and advice given on all things about the locality including - history, wildlife and restaurants was excellent. Attention to details to make your whole stay as enjoyable as possible were part of the service offered. The breakfasts were also outstanding. The house makes an excellent choice for those wishing to explore the area. Seeing the pine marten, a beaver and nesting Ospreys was a joy too.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunchraigaig, Owner at Dunchraigaig House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Dunchraigaig House. You certainly had some great 'wildlife watching experiences' during your stay. We loved seeing your photos of the beaver - proving that a little patience can reap great rewards! We do hope that all of the wildlife (and history) will tempt you to make a return visit to Dunchraigaig House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

On our first trip to Scotland, my husband and I decided to spend five nights in the west after having visited Edinburgh and then done a walking tour in Perthshire. To be honest, it was the pine marten pictures that first attracted me to Dunchraigaig House, but it was the reviews about the perfect hosts and the ideal location that decided me. Despite the fact that we didn't get a glimpse of the pine marten, Lynn and Cameron and the house and Kilmarten Glen all lived up to our expectations. Breakfast every morning was amazing, from the fresh eggs to the homemade muffins and granola and jams to the specials, which included my husband's favorite, kippers, fresh from a nearby smokery. Dunchraigaig House was an ideal place from which to explore the area, from the near islands to Inverary to Kilmartin, which we took a lovely walk to see. Lynn and Cameron went out of their way to make our stay easy and enjoyable. We would love to come back again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunchraigaig, Owner at Dunchraigaig House, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your stay at Dunchraigaig House. We loved meeting you all and enjoyed your stories of your adventures during your stay (including talking to puffins!). We do hope that you enjoyed the kippers that you took home and that they have helped you to relive a bit of your Scottish experience.... and we really hope that whilst it was your first visit to Scotland it wasn't your last and that you might plan a return trip to Dunchraigaig House!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunchraigaig House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunchraigaig House

Address: Kilmartin Glen, Kilmartin PA31 8RG, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Kilmartin
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Kilmartin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated in the heart of the Kilmartin Glen, a mile south of Kilmartin Village and 7 miles from Lochgilphead, with views across to the Ballymeanoch Standing Stones and the bay at Crinan, Dunchraigaig House provides comfortable B&B accommodation from which to explore Argyll. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dunchraigaig House Kilmartin, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunchraigaig House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.