We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful food but the hotel needs so much TLC” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cairnbaan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Cairnbaan Hotel to your Saves list
Cairnbaan Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lock 5, approx halfway along Crinan Canal, Cairnbaan PA31 8SJ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cairnbaan
Glasgow
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful food but the hotel needs so much TLC”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We sayed here while sailing the Crinan Canal. The food for dinner and breakfast was absolutely fantastic. The hotel does need a lot done to it. Our room was fantastic as far as size went with a lovely view of the canal. There was however a musty smell and the bed was one of the most uncomfortable we have ever slept in. The carpet in the dining room was not only threadbare but dirty. If only the owner would spend some money on this hotel as with the food being so bril you would want to come back and stay again and again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    64
    24
    17
    13
See reviews for
28
91
6
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

On the positive side: The food was delicious - I had the cheese souffle, and the breakfast was great - and the staff were lovely, friendly and helpful.
However the residential side let the whole place down. It is looking tired and grubby. I was in room 3 - it's at the back of the hotel. The back of the hotel backs onto to a cliff, so it was going to be dark and without a view. But the windows are also heavily frosted, which means very little natural light enters the room, and you have to wander through to the residents lounge to see what the weather is doing. It smells and feels very damp - for my recent 3 night stay, I had the room heater on permanently in an attempt to get rid of the smell. The bed was the most uncomfortable I have ever not slept in (I think some of the springs may have gone), and some of the drawer fronts were falling off. The counterpane was dirty underneath, and a more efficient hoover may have got rid of some of the dirt from the carpet. The grout in the bathroom is black, and the paint behind the toilet and along the skirting boards is peeling off. Despite the advertised wifi, this is not available in room 3 unless all the fire doors in the hotel are open.
In conclusion - lovely food if you eat there, but if you stay, ask for a front facing room, and check it out before accepting it.

Room Tip: Go for one at the front. And if wifi is important, check that your room receives it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells, somerset
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We just spent two wonderful days at the Cairnbaan hotel. Very friendly staff. Fantastic location by the loch. We watched boats come and go all day. Took a lovely walk along the river. And the food!!! Outstanding!! Fresh Langustinies from Tarbert, and what a portion. Some of our friends arrived late for dinner which was no problem. They still were served. Great breakfast too. We will certainly be back!

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

Dined here again in the hope it had improved somewhat. It hadn't. Food is nicely described but disappointing in terms of flavour and presentation. Not cheap either. Need to increase the quality or drop the prices

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Stayed here 3/4 years ago and found it very much the same as our last stay. Firstly the food is just as good as before. They have managed to have keep their chefs who produce excellent food at a reasonable price. First night i had scallops and langoustines which i found out had been delivered alive that day and they were the best id ever had !! Scallops were superb too. My wife had the souffle then the mushroom risotto which she very much enjoyed. They had 3 real ales on too which i was impressed with and the girls behind the bar were always smiling.

The 2nd evening was very good too and the place was so busy we ended up in the residents lounge with coffee and a liquer cause the bar was so busy.

The hotel and rooms still need more work but i was happy with room 7 albeit a bit cold when we arrived. Dont get the residents lounge at all , very 1970s !!

They defo need a new carpet in the restaurant too , looked very shabby. Last complaint would be the fruit in the morning , it was tinned. Why not offer on the menu a fruit platter instead of putting our tinned fruit ??

The food makes the hotel good and with a little bit more effort the owner could make the hotel very good.

Lastly there never seemed to be enough staff on , why ?

Room Tip: Room 5 or 7 should be asked for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We always enjoy this lovely canal-side hotel. The rooms are carefully decorated, and everything about the place is well thought out.

The most notable thing about the hotel is the consistent quality of the food. It is always delicious, and very good value. My wife is a veggie, and it turns out that the head chef is too. Always something different. I love the seafood, but dishes like Caesar Salad with Cajun Chicken and a good, honest steak are also great.

Check it out. It's worth a visit

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Hotels are pretty sparse in this area so there was every chance that this hotel, without much competition, might have rested on its laurels. Not a bit of it, it's wonderful. In a seriously peaceful setting next to a canal lock, it's a welcome respite. If you're looking for faceless plastic, this won't suit. If you're looking for a bit of character, it's here. Forget the fact that the floors might creak just a bit & not be bowling green flat & level, it is after all an old building. The bar is well stocked & friendly, food is served as bar meals or in the restaurant. The waitresses should be commended, they were unobtrusive, extremely efficient & smiled a lot, which makes a change to so many places. It's obviously a place in which people enjoy their work.

My only note of caution is that breakfast doesn't start until 8am, which is a little late if you're out on business. As we were at the end of our trip we weren't in a huge hurry so it didn't matter too much. We didn't bother asking if any provision for an early cold option could be made available, but given the general mien of the place & its staff, I'd be surprised if such a request were refused.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cairnbaan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairnbaan Hotel

Address: Lock 5, approx halfway along Crinan Canal, Cairnbaan PA31 8SJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Argyll and Bute > Cairnbaan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cairnbaan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairnbaan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Cairnbaan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairnbaan Hotel Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cairnbaan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.