We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful start to our safaris in Africa” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linyanti Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp
Save
You added Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Botswana, Linyanti Reserve, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blue Mountains Australia
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“What a wonderful start to our safaris in Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Duma Tau was our first camp and provided the bench mark for the other 2 camps we would stay at. The camp is relatively new and offers reasonable comfort in what is a harsh environment. This part of Botswana is semi-arid.
All the staff are friendly, gracious and nothing is to much trouble. The drives are excellent and our guide Lazi was extremely knowledge and such a happy soul. The food is served buffet style and is of a high standard. I note another reviewer mentioned the solar power and lack of lighting at dinner. Yes this could be an issue however I thought it was lovely having candles and lamps everywhere, it makes one appreciate mains power supply!
I think they do an excellent job with an extremely comfortable camp since everything and I mean everything has to be brought in by truck...no mean feat given the isolation and the state of the roads. If we were to return to Botswana I would not hesitate to return for us we have very happy memories.
Oh and don't expect to much sleep the hippo's can be rather noisy at night.... still this is all part of the experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    22
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
62
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This was the first camp we stayed at in Botswana, and what a lovely place to start! This camp has 10 rooms with a maximum capacity of 24 guests. There are 60 staff members. Our guide was Moses and he was knowledgeable, friendly and professional. We were traveling as a family of three. Out of the 4 game drives and one boat ride, we only had to share a vehicle once, and that was with one other person, Moses was really our own private guide! The rooms were fabulous, the staff was friendly and the service was really excellent. The food was varied and very good. My sister doesn't eat red meat, so they always had fish/chicken prepared for her as an alternative. The other guests were interesting and friendly. The game viewing was great. Here are some of the animals we saw during our two-night stay at Duma Tau: leopard eating a warthog, giraffe inside the camp, 2 male lions (brothers), a large herd of elephants swimming across a channel, hippos, wildebeests, red lechwe, badger, pigmy geese, open-billed stork.... I would definitely recommend this to anyone going to Botswana.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Duma Tau and it was a beautiful property. We stayed in Rooms 4 and 5, and preferred 5 a bit more. The interior design and architecture of the rooms was amazing...first class all the way. The rooms are situated directly over the lagoon and you could hear the hippos passing through the camp and calling aloud! It was amazing. While Duma Tau deserves an excellent rating, there were a couple of items I think they could improve upon. Granted when we stayed there, they had just opened at their new site and perhaps they were working out the kinks! The property was a bit passive. At dinner, unlike some of our experiences in South Africa and at Xigera Camp, all the guests seemed to keep to themselves a bit. We typically enjoy sharing our days experiences with one another, and that "vibe" just wasn't present at this property. Also, between safaris we asked if they had a chess or checker board or any other board games we could play in the lobby area. We were surprised when they told us they had nothing like that available for their guests. So I guess we were just a little disappointed with just how tranquil the property was between safaris and in the evenings. We found that the staff/general manager was often the key to the atmosphere at the properties we stayed at. It was not clear to us during our stay, who the manager of the property even was. At other properties the manager would greet you after the safari and encourage conversation among the guests, this just didn't happen here. The safaris on the other hand were amazing. We arrived here from South Africa and we were pleased that we saw much more wild life in Botswana than we had in South Africa. Our guide was Bobby and he was amazing!! We had a private vehicle for our family of four and we were never disappointed. We saw all of the main wildlife except for rhinoceros, as there are not many left in Botswana. We especially enjoyed all of the lions we saw and the hippos! All in all, our wildlife viewing with Bobby was incredible!! We stayed at Duma Tau for 2 nights and then moved to Xigeria Camp in the Okavango Delta for another 2 nights. Prior to arriving in Botswana, we stayed at Selati Camp for 2 nights and Bush Lodge for 2 nights in the Sabi Sabi game reserve in South Africa. We felt 8 nights in the Safari camps was perfect. We highly recommend visiting both South Africa and Botswana, the two countries offered a nice variety of accommodations and wildlife viewing. The accommodations in Botswana were much more tent-like than we had in South Africa, so it was nice to be able to experience both room types. If you are planning a visit to Botswana, I would definitely consider Duma Tau, but be sure to also check out Xigera Camp. Packing wise, we found it best to bring the lightweight safari shirts/pants available at REI type stores. They packed well and were perfect. Also if you are flying into Botswana, it is best to bring duffle bag/backpack-type luggage (nothing with large frames) The planes you take into Botswana are very small and they don't have a lot of space for luggage. As we brought typical carry-on type luggage, we were given large soft sided duffle bags at the Botswana airport to use instead of our carry-on bags. They stored our carry-on bags for us (all of this was free of charge....the use of their duffle bags and the storage) and we received our luggage back as we were exiting Botswana. For our family of 4, we brought two pair of good binoculars and 2 good digital cameras with zoom lenses, etc. We found this combination of viewing "tools" perfect! I hope you found this information helpful as you plan your upcoming safari!! Have fun!!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 4 and 5. We preferred 5 a little bit more, but both were amazing and located qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We had a marvellous time in Botswana, and Duma Tau was one of the highlights. Our guide, Name, was an amazing tracker as well as being a lovely person.

The rooms are spacious and nicely decorated. It was cold at night when we went (6 degrees C) but they very thoughtfully put hot water bottles in the beds, plus there are extra blankets in a chest in the room. On the plus side, the cold meant that we didn't see a single mosquito the whole time. The rooms did have mosquito netting around the beds, anyway. I will never forget the sounds of the elephants and hippos splashing in the water at night, right outside our tent.

The food was plentiful and absolutely delicious. We were awakened at 5:30 each morning (I know, but it's worth it) and escorted to breakfast at 6. By 6:30 we were on our way for our morning game drive. It was cold, but we had ponchos and hot water bottles waiting for us in the Land Rover! It warms up rapidly when the sun comes up. We saw wild dogs, hyenas, lions, leopards, hippos, elephants, buffalo, zebras, giraffes, crocodiles--you name it. At around 11:30 we were brought back to the camp for brunch. Then we had free time until 3:30, when afternoon tea was served. At 4, it was back in the Land Rover for another game drive. We would be out until dark, then back for dinner.
It amazed me that every staff member we encountered greeted us by name. That is quite a feat, I think. Our 13 year old daughter accompanied us and was doted on by the staff, and made to feel quite special.
I can't recommend Duma Tau highly enough, and hope to be lucky enough to return one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were at Duma Tau six years ago and it was entirely rebuilt last year. The rooms are wonderful – big and luxurious. Light controls on the headboard, fantastic open views, double sinks and large outside seating. The mosquito netting on the bed was really good – it stood away from the bed so I didn’t get that claustrophobic feeling.

But it’s really the guides and animals that make it an unforgettable experience. Our guide, Name (yes, we can’t forget his name) was an excellent tracker and had unending patience with both finding animals and putting up with the tourists.

Food was not the greatest (buffet style, so the meat got overcooked), but certainly good, and the camp staff was enthusiastic and cheerful all the time.

Room Tip: Number 5 is closest to the main area, but put your toothpaste in the metal clothes cabinet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

I am doing Deluxe Vacation Tours to Botswana, Zambia and South Africa in May and November. We stayed in Duma Tau Camp for 2 nights and I have to say it is 1st class! I have been doing Tours to AFRICA since 1995 and I have to say Duma Tau is one of my Top Safari Camps in Botswana! Lazi our guide was great! We saw wild dogs on a hunt and they took an impala away from a leopard who jumped into a tree in front of our vehicle. Incredible 2 days I must say! I am doing another Tour with 6-8 Guests this November back to Duma Tau Camp. Like to join me on a trip of a Lifetime in Botswana? Let me know!

Room Tip: Rooms #'s 8,9 & 10 are quieter! Plus it is closer to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

This was our first trip to the new camp. This camp has the feel and design to be in the premier camp category. The camp is more modern than our previous camps Mombo and Chitabe. I must admit I usually go for the more rustic...I ended up really enjoying the atmosphere and the differences in design. The barge is very relaxing for an afternoon sundowner. The camp fire is out over the water which is different than other camps we have been to. We had great viewing and the fact we had three days of viewing the dogs was just terrific. Our guide Bobby really went out of his way to track and make it a real adventure. In addition we had lots of other great viewing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp

Address: Botswana, Linyanti Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Linyanti Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Linyanti Reserve
Hotel Class:4 star — Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps the best game viewing in far northern Botswana - from its newest and most stylish camp. DumaTau means "roar of the lion," but the elephant reigns here. The camp is set on a lagoon on the Linyanti River between two "elephant highways," affording unparalleled viewing of these iconic mammals, along with other wildlife. Together with sweeping, dramatic views of the river, the architecture of the camp expresses the explorer aesthetic, as well as the idea of space. There is an airy dining and lounge area, and a pool, all taking advantage of the superb view of the lagoon. Highlights DumaTau is located close to the source of the Savute Channel, with access to the Linyanti Swamps, floodplains and extensive mopane woodlands, thus offering an excellent combination of land and river. During winter, large elephant herds traverse the area. Chances of viewing leopard, lion and wild dog are excellent, along with other large mammals like hippo, red lechwe, giraffe, waterbuck, kudu, impala and occasional buffalo. 10 Tents (including 2 Family Tents): Rebuilt 2012; en-suite; spacious; raised off the ground; clear-storey window; 100% solar powered Experiences: Day and night game drives • Nature walks (on request) • Boating and barge (seasonal) • Game viewing hides • Catch-and-release fishing (seasonal) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duma Tau Camp, Linyanti Reserve Hotel Linyanti Reserve
Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp Botswana/Linyanti Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.