We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Linyanti Reserve
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp
3.5 of 5 Lodge   |   Botswana, Linyanti Reserve, Botswana   |  
Hotel amenities
Dingle, Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Fabulous is the word for everything at Duma Tau! Lions, leopards mating, wild dogs, lots of elephants, zebra, wildebeest, and more. The staff and guides are amazing, friendly people with a warm demeanor and great sense of humour. Can't wait to go back!!!

Room Tip: Duma Tau is building a new camp nearby. The current camp will close in a few months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    65
    19
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
44
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Randolph, MA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

This resort has beautiful rooms, professional staff, and knowledgable, experienced guides. The meals were very nicely presented and delicious. The first two resorts prepared us for this one. Since the guide knew we didn't need to stop for elephants, giraffes, or impalla any more he tracked the wild dogs during a hunt. We saw the kill, the feeding and the puppies arriving and squeeling with excitement. Later we saw a lion attack a young elephant. The elephants mother was able to scare the lion away before it died so it was able to walk away. These types of experiences require a guide that has patience and enough knowledge to be at the right place at the right time. Awesome trackers at this camp. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2011

We stayed at Duma Tau for three nights in late August and loved it especially our guide Carlton. He was extremely knowledgable about wildlife and passionate about providing great experience. We saw large herds of elephants, wart hogs, leopard, lions and lots of zebra, water buffalo, giraffe, antelope and baboons. We also saw a wild dog chase and kill which was amazing. Be sure and drive across Savute Channel for larger concentration of wildlife and barge cruise for elephants swimming. Food was above average but not great. They don't have eggs for breakfast but do a brunch instead for lunch. Ask for room 1 with private look out over swamp for incredible view.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011 via mobile

Duma Tau is located in the Northern part of the Savuti-Linyanti concession. At the time I was there planned renovations had not taken place ad yet.

The rooms were clean, albeit a little more rustic than Savuti camp. The camp's Linyanti river aspect is a sight to see.

Game drives are around the channel, where you can see red lechwe (a water loving antelope). I was able to see them crossing water, which was a rare treat.

If you want classic African safari style then stay here. If you prefer something a little more modern then stay at Savuti Camp. If you something more luxurious them stay at King's Pool Camp.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights - the first camp of three in Botswana. It's a little older than the other camps we stayed at (Xigera and Vumbera Plains) but still very nice. Apparently they are going to tear it down in a year or so and relocate to a new location close-by and upgrade it. They feed you a ton, the service is great, managers are friendly and we LOVED our guide Name. Yes, his name was Name. He was an excellent tracker (personally I think the best one there since he was the one that found a leopard and a cheetah before the other guides). We saw a lot of animals and would recommend this camp to others. Oh, and the animals definitely come close by! We had an elephant who would come right up to our room each afternoon during siesta. We also appreciated the hot water bottles they give you to keep warm under a poncho during those cold, early morning safaris.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

My husband and I stayed with a large group at Duma Tau Camp back on Nov '08. Where should I begin....

DumaTau (meaning 'roar of the lion') is a luxury tented camp, in the private Linyanti Wildlife Reserve which borders the western boundary of Chobe National Park in northern Botswana. The camp is built on raised boardwalks under a shady grove of mangosteen trees, overlooking a large hippo-filled lagoon on the Linyanti waterways.
The source of the Savuti Channel is close to the camp and game drives along the Savuti are one of the highlights of the camp. The rooms are spacious, raised off the ground and under thatch with canvas walls - with king size beds that were comfortable and kept ME warm during the night. Yes, all the beds come with mosquito nets. The bathroom facilities are en-suite, with hot and cold running water, flush toilet, and shower. Each room has an additional outside shower. Each tent comes equipped with its own patio with chairs and table right outside the tent--not too mention the view of the Savuti Channel. There is a dining room, pub, lounge, plunge pool and a special guest toilet with a fantastic view. There is a small souvenir shop with lots of great yunk make by the staff themselves! The lounge overlooks a hippo lagoon and we often saw hippos walk next to the camp. Activities are diverse and include time on the water, on land and occasionally on foot. Day and night game drives are conducted in open 4x4 vehicles along the Savuti Channel and the banks of the Linyanti River-- they wake you up around 0530 -literally- one of the camp staff walks up to each tent bringing hot tea and gently wakes you up from outside the tent, of course!- now that's service! Game drives are typically at 0630 and around 1600--there are late night drives as well.

One of the best hides is right at the source of the Savuti and many species of game and birdlife can usually be seen from this hide. The area is famous for great game viewing all year. During each game drive, you will join other vehicles at designated areas to stop and have cookies and tea- sunset tea stops were the best!

The dining experience is typically what you encounter when you lodge at smaller camps--typically all dine together at one large table. The talented staff often performs for the guests prior to dinner. It is buffet style - for all meals- breakfast, lunch, dinner. Food is to die for! You will not go hungry in Africa! It was my bday during one of the nights here and the staff not only sang but made me a gorgeous bday cake! If anyone of the staff is reading this, and you were working here in early November 2008, "Kea leboga"! I was part of the large group from Colorado.

The service and the staff here at the camp are probably the best I've encountered during my two trips to Africa. We were lucky to have Ron as our driver the ENTIRE TIME--they're all great but our vehicular group got particularly attached to Ron. He had the eyes/vision of an owl--during one of our late-night drives, he actually spotted a rare owl sitting on a tree branch....in the dark! He is extremely knowledgeable, friendly, and skilled. Because this is a private reserve, the drivers have the freedom to drive anywhere and anyHOW!

Animals that we've been lucky to see include African wild dogs, herd of lions, leopard, elephants--lots!, list goes on. We did witness a wild chase between a wild dog and an impala including a disembowelment!

What to bring - what you would expect to bring...but remember to bring a binocular, rain gear, HAT, mosquito repellent, and neutral colored clothing-- you'll be easily noticed by predators in bright colored clothing!

I can't recommend this place enough--the ENTIRE experience at Duma Tau was superb. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

The camp itself is fine, the staff lovely and very accomadating, the food was plentiful and quite good. The issues we had .. the elephants over the years have destroyed the land .. it is not lush, not green all you see is dead trees.
Our guide Bobby while he was nice enoughl.. he seemd as though he did not care, he put very little effort into looking for game. To me it seemd as though he drove us around in circles everyday on the same route over the sme bridge he was very uninspired.
Abby one of the amnagers was lovely and arranged a champagne lunch for me and my daughter which was lovely and very appreciated. We saw very little game maybe we were during a bad week not sure or mayeb it was just Bobby did not try very hard.

It does get very cold in the morning and evening dress in layers need gloves, and fleece regardless of the time of year. Rooms were warm beds were warmed by hot water bottles.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WildernessSafaris, Manager at Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp, responded to this review, August 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback after your recent trip to Botswana. It’s great to see that overall you had a good time, but we would like to respond to the concerns that you raised. Winter in the Linyanti is a quite a different scene compared to that of the delta. The delta remains lush due to the fact that the annual flood arrives when the climate is actually at its driest, while in the Linyanti the opposite occurs. Without the life giving water the flood brings elsewhere, the inland areas of the Linyanti become extremely dry and barren. Along certain riverine fringes of forest, one can get the impression that elephants have destroyed everything in sight as there is not a leaf or blade of grass to be seen, and the large dead trees from a wetter era stand hauntingly as reminders of a greener day!! These groves of dead trees are not only due to elephant destruction, which is a common misconception, but also due to a drop in the water table. Initially, when the Savute Channel dried up, the elephants did indeed infiltrate the Linyanti River system more than before, having an impact on the short term environment. This, coupled with less water in the system as a whole, resulted in some of the species of trees in the area dying. The advantage of this is, of course, that animals are really easy to see without foliage hiding them away.

The Linyanti is a mosaic of different habitats, a large component of which is the mopane belt - it is the mopane tree that so attracts the elephants to the region, as well as numerous other browsers. During winter, the mopane loses its leaves and also give the impression that they are dead - when in fact they are not. The advantage of the mopane belt , and why the Linyanti presents such great game viewing opportunities, is that the soil type in which mopane grows holds water extremely well - the many pans that contain water well into the dry winter months attracts animals from far and wide for a drink.

The comments about Bobby will be addressed with him by management- guiding is such an integral part of the guest's journey in our camps that we appreciate any feedback that assists us to monitor their performance. We pride ourselves that our guides are enthusiastic and passionate representatives of Wilderness, and are disappointed that you did not find this to be the case on this occasion. We do hope however, to have the opportunity to host you again – perhaps at a different time of year. The summer months are quite special: rains result in a lush, green landscape; there is beautiful light for photography and young animals abound, often followed by predators
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp

Address: Botswana, Linyanti Reserve, Botswana
Location: Botswana > North-West District > Linyanti Reserve
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Specialty lodging in Linyanti Reserve
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perhaps the best game viewing in far northern Botswana - from its newest and most stylish camp. DumaTau means "roar of the lion," but the elephant reigns here. The camp is set on a lagoon on the Linyanti River between two "elephant highways," affording unparalleled viewing of these iconic mammals, along with other wildlife. Together with sweeping, dramatic views of the river, the architecture of the camp expresses the explorer aesthetic, as well as the idea of space. There is an airy dining and lounge area, and a pool, all taking advantage of the superb view of the lagoon. Highlights DumaTau is located close to the source of the Savute Channel, with access to the Linyanti Swamps, floodplains and extensive mopane woodlands, thus offering an excellent combination of land and river. During winter, large elephant herds traverse the area. Chances of viewing leopard, lion and wild dog are excellent, along with other large mammals like hippo, red lechwe, giraffe, waterbuck, kudu, impala and occasional buffalo. 10 Tents (including 2 Family Tents): Rebuilt 2012; en-suite; spacious; raised off the ground; clear-storey window; 100% solar powered Experiences: Day and night game drives • Nature walks (on request) • Boating and barge (seasonal) • Game viewing hides • Catch-and-release fishing (seasonal) ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Duma Tau Camp, Linyanti Reserve Hotel Linyanti Reserve
Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp Botswana/Linyanti Reserve

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Wilderness Safaris DumaTau Camp to your Saves list