We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in this area.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Osteria del Ghiotto

L'Osteria del Ghiotto
Via de Lardarel, 34 | Canneto, 56040 Monteverdi Marittimo, Italy
+390565784435
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $44 - $73
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Best in this area.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food. You must book in advance. Meat is original Chianina. Even dessert is excellent. I love the service. Family run.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ainz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

No fault at all! I don't know if it's Italy or the food but everything has been so wonderful so far!
My fiance and I both had pasta that's tomato-based and I just have to say they are so wonderful! I cannot think of anything else to say but the superlative. Someone on our tour has recommended this place to us and I though I'd pass the good news online!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leanniecooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
milan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tuscan cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A very cosy small restaurant on the hills behind bolgheri/san vincenzo area, family owned and run. Menu changes depending on the season and what good is available. Have Cristiano suggest what is good that day and what wine to combine, and you will not be disappointed.
I strongly suggest to visit out of season, during the winter when the menu contains more hunting game food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blessthechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravensburg, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Tuscany in Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Small but very good place in the middle of nowhere in Tuscany's outback.
You would not expect such excellent service, great food, exquisite wine selection and lovely family atmosphere in this tiny village.
Always worth a visit, when around - but remember to book a table!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Feyden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Tuscan home cooking at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Sunday lunch here today was a highlight of our holiday - the food was faultless and the atmosphere truly Italian. Nadia and Christiano were great hosts. We recommend any pasta (we had with rabbit and with sage and butter) and bistecca alla Fiorentina. Enjoy!
If you want a great place to stay nearby, try agritourismo Villetta do Monterufoli - wonderful.

    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SomersetReporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Osteria del Ghiotto also viewed

Volterra, Province of Pisa
Monteverdi Marittimo, Province of Pisa
 
Pomarance, Province of Pisa
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to L'Osteria del Ghiotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing