We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Osteria del Ghiotto

L'Osteria del Ghiotto
Via de Lardarel, 34 | Canneto, 56040 Monteverdi Marittimo, Italy
+390565784435
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $44 - $73
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Manly, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

No fault at all! I don't know if it's Italy or the food but everything has been so wonderful so far!
My fiance and I both had pasta that's tomato-based and I just have to say they are so wonderful! I cannot think of anything else to say but the superlative. Someone on our tour has recommended this place to us and I though I'd pass the good news online!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    22
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
milan
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Tuscan cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

A very cosy small restaurant on the hills behind bolgheri/san vincenzo area, family owned and run. Menu changes depending on the season and what good is available. Have Cristiano suggest what is good that day and what wine to combine, and you will not be disappointed.
I strongly suggest to visit out of season, during the winter when the menu contains more hunting game food.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravensburg, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Tuscany in Style”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

Small but very good place in the middle of nowhere in Tuscany's outback.
You would not expect such excellent service, great food, exquisite wine selection and lovely family atmosphere in this tiny village.
Always worth a visit, when around - but remember to book a table!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Tuscan home cooking at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

Sunday lunch here today was a highlight of our holiday - the food was faultless and the atmosphere truly Italian. Nadia and Christiano were great hosts. We recommend any pasta (we had with rabbit and with sage and butter) and bistecca alla Fiorentina. Enjoy!
If you want a great place to stay nearby, try agritourismo Villetta do Monterufoli - wonderful.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“SIMPLY THE BEST”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

An absolute gem, situated in one of those pretty little Tuscan towns, off the beaten track this restaurant is one of the finest Tuscany has to offer. Absolutely flawless. Top quality food, wine and service! Truly the best, perhaps that's why we keep on going there again and again and again. We just can't decide whether we like it better in Summer, al fresco, with all those wonderful Summer flavours or in Winter, chomping away on comfort food in front of the log fire! Cristiano we love you and the rest of the family of course!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Osteria del Ghiotto also viewed

Monteverdi Marittimo, Province of Pisa
Santa Croce Sull'Arno, Province of Pisa
 
Bolgheri, Castagneto Carducci
Volterra, Province of Pisa
 

Been to L'Osteria del Ghiotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Osteria del Ghiotto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.