We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical Location, Comfortable Characteristic Accommodations, Amazing Food and Wine AND Excellent Value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Agriturismo Tenuta San Michele

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Venerina
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Agriturismo Tenuta San Michele
Save
You added Agriturismo Tenuta San Michele to your Saves list
3.5 of 5 Farmhouse   |   Via Zafferna 13, 95010 Santa Venerina, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Magical Location, Comfortable Characteristic Accommodations, Amazing Food and Wine AND Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Located on Sicily's East Coast, on the side of the active volcano, Mt. Etna, is Tenuta San Michele that has belonged to the Barons Scammacca del Murgo for generations. The farm has been actively producing and selling its wines locally for decades, but after an earthquake rendered their home uninhabitable in 2002, what didn't kill the Scammacca's will to maintain and manage their farm made them not only build the house back stronger, expand their agricultural production to an international level (exporting their wines worldwide), and turning the remaining post-earthquake ruined farm buildings into what they still characterize as an "agriturismo" which is a sort of B&B on a working farm. Personally, I have visited San Michele on multiple occasions, and in my opinion they have now far surpassed the level at which they should refer to themselves as simply an "agriturismo." It is a grand estate, with vineyards spreading out as far as the eye can see. Look east and you can see across the Straits of Messina the southern coast of Calabria, look west and you gaze in awe at the smoking crater on Mt. Etna which still occasionally spews volcanic ash into the sky, raining down on the vineyards causing their soil to be extra fertile and their wines more delicious. Pietro Scammacca, 5th of the 8 sons of the current Baron, is responsible for the vision that has transformed this family home, into a sumptuous locale in which to relax, dine and explore the esoteric charms of Sicily.

Room Tip: The best rooms are the ones closest to the swimming pool. Try to reserve a room on the second level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    32
    5
    3
    0
See reviews for
18
58
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Indonesia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

What a great find....a "real" vineyard with exceptional wines, amazing location with spectacular views on Mt Etna, bundles of true warmth from the owners and well appointed apartments.
If you like wines, good food and relaxed atmosphere then I would recommend San Michele 100%.
We will be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

A working vineyard on the slopes of Etna; breakfast beside the swimming pool with wonderful views of the Sicilian countryside dropping away to the sea; an authentic Sicilian dining experience in a relaxed atmosphere; a large airy apartment, simply furnished with a fully functioning wet room; all excellent value for money.

Our first impression of the apartment was not quite as we anticipated given the 4 star rating, as it was simply furnished with basic furniture, standard bed linen (the bed might prove firm for some) and a small and elderly TV. Typically Sicilian. It might be what we would expect from a farm stay in the UK.

Over the course of our 7 days we found the apartment entirely satisfactory and the small kitchen facility very useful. The outdoor areas and pool were attractive and well-kept with good quality furniture.

San Michele is on a hillside and the apartments are approached by steps, so that this probably makes them unsuitable for those with mobility issues. A car is essential to access the property, and this is an excellent base to explore North East Sicily.

The evening meal taken in the restaurant proved excellent value for money with house wine and mineral water included; far removed from the standard international menu, in fact there was no menu! The anti pasta and pasta courses were always excellent and we enjoyed a range of Sicilian dishes.

The staff were generally pleasant and helpful. We cannot speak too highly of the help and assistance we received from the manager Pietro when we had a need to visit the local hospital.

We would certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marko1979
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We spend a week here and had a great time. Nice and spacious apartment, we could even cook for our little one. Very helpful people. Great breakfast, and if you like you can have a lusciuos, but simple diner.
The views are magnificent and the surroundings beautiful.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tilburg, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here several nights in this very enjoyable appartment. We also dined at the on-premise restaurant several times.
The place is absolutely marvelous, good accommodation clean, spacious and a beautiful setting and lovely views and seating.
Breakfast was served at the main-building and we enjoyed our small morning walk in the sun together with the dogs who unmistakingly accompanied us to and from. Breakfast was absolutely delicious and plentiful with fresh strawberries, melon and tomatoes.
Dining at the on-premise restaurant we were absolutely stunned with the anti-pasti and enjoyed the primi and secundi. It was only later that we learned the next to nothing fee they charged us for this marvelous food (a 40 Euro for a full meal for the pair of us). We went eating out a couple of times, but with the value of hindsight concluded we should have eaten at San Michele more often.
We absolutely warmly recommend this very nice hotel and restaurant.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

We had heard about the tours to the Murgo winery in Santa Venerina, but we were excited to stay in their agriturismo/bed and breakfast accomodations. The estate sits on the shoulder of Mt. Etna. There are fabulous views of the mountain and the sea below. You are surrounded by vineyards and gorgeous plantings. The accomodations were spacious and adequate for our 3-day stay. We added the 20 Euro dinner each night, which included wine tasting of all of the offferings of the vineyard. A most special place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Lovely 4 day stay here, sweet breakfasts by the pool, great location, rooms by the pool charming, small, get one with kitchen, worth it. Dinner is lovely, fresh ingredients. Weather was beautiful in October. Short drive to Taromina, Syracusa and Mt. Etna.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view and kitchen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Agriturismo Tenuta San Michele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Agriturismo Tenuta San Michele

Address: Via Zafferna 13, 95010 Santa Venerina, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Catania > Santa Venerina
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Santa Venerina
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Agriturismo Tenuta San Michele 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The San Michele estate is situated on the eastern slopes of Mt Etna in the area of the village Santa Venerina, at an altitude of about 500 m over sea level and on one of the main roads that leads to the summit craters.The winery and a part of the cellars are situated in an ancient building in the typical Etna style. The new cellar was built in 1999, in an innovative structure on two levels, in perfect harmony with the surrounding countryside.It is a family winery, active since 1860. Nearby other buildings surrounded by the vines are used for tourism. All around is the wonderful panorama that goes from the Taormina promontory to Capo Mulini. Mt Etna dominates this magnificent scene towering up to its summit at 3,300 m. The vineyards are in a single area, distributed on large terraces and cover 26 hectares. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Agriturismo Tenuta San Michele Hotel Santa Venerina
Agriturismo Tenuta San Michele Santa Venerina, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Agriturismo Tenuta San Michele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.