We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my first visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thermal park Besenova

Thermal park Besenova
Besenova 136, Besenova 03483 , Slovakia
+421 44 4307 708
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Attractions in Besenova
Attraction details
slovakia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
142 attraction reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“my first visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

As I remembered more than 30 years ago we first visited this place. It was only small pipe with thermal watter located in the field. We had been use, with my young daughter and my wife, this thermal watter in small pit. Just now it is the famoust wellness centre in Liptov area

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    15
    7
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A Good Place to Relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We went to the place in February and our toddler son was with us, so I didn't have an opportunity to try the outdoor pools. However, we did spend 2 hours in the indoor pools and it was quite fun. There is a bit unpleasant smell when you just enter the pools but then you get used to it. The kids zone is really tiny and incorporates only a small fountain feature and a slide.

Then, there is a new zone called 'adrenaline zone'. And it's much less crowded than the thermal pools. There are a few water slides (quite good) and a huge kids zone. Ah, and there is a wave pool with really huge waves, like in an ocean. It's cool but you have to be careful. My husband couldn't hold the balance while holding our son. It's good I was near and took the kid while husband was fighting with waves. And they stood not far from the water edge...

There is also a spa complex but I didn't go there so can't tell anything.

I would agree with others that the whole thing is a bit overpriced and would do with a bit renovation. But still it was a good experience and a change from skiing.

I wouldn't recommend buying the whole day admittance. Three hours should be enough.

Oh, and I forgot to mention the changing rooms. There are no personal cubicles, just rooms for men and women. It's weird but much faster to change. Especially when you have a toddler on your hands. Maybe, there are personal cubicles for additional fee, one might need to ask at the reception.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent outdoor atmosphere at night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Our visit to Besenova was late in the evening and in winter time - that made it all the more special! It was fantastic sitting in the steaming outdoor natural pools while snow is falling. Even the running from pool to pool was an adventure! The indoor bit of the thermal park is not so great, smells of chlorine and is very generic, however, the outdoor pools are super!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overcrowded”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

You can buy all day pass or just 3 hours one. I recommend the second option as it gets really hot in the outdoor pools and you won't be able to sit there for more then 2-3 hours anyway. We didn't use indoor pools or wellness, that's why my review is only about the outdoor facilities.
The pools would need some renovating, they don't really look particularly clean or fresh. Don't get me wrong, they are not dirty, but could use some refreshing.
For the price they charge, there should be towels, bathrobe and slippers included. Especially that we actually didn't really plan to visit these pools and we weren't prepared. The fact that these are not included only shows that these pools still have to go through a lot of changes before they reach Western Europe standards.
The whole experience is good. Water temperature varies between 26 and 39 degrees. It's a really good exercise to spend some time in hot water (36-39) and then have a swim in the cold one (26), and then go back to the hot one again. The hot water pools are overcrowded, the cold ones are completely empty, obviously.
I think they should invest in some basic shampoos and conditioners in the showers. All these little changes would make this place much more attractive.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good, lovely wellness a bit overpriced:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spend couple of hours in Besenova and we liked the whole thing. They have just opened the new toboggans there, very high and fast ones:). The wellness is beautiful and quite large. Pitty they don't hire bathrobes, as it can get very windy outside.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thermal park Besenova also viewed

Liptovsky Mikulas, Zilina Region
Liptovsky Mikulas, Zilina Region
 
Liptovsky Mikulas, Zilina Region

Been to Thermal park Besenova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thermal park Besenova, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.