We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hosts - you don't get more authentic than this” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antico Feudo San Giorgio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Antico Feudo San Giorgio to your Saves list
Antico Feudo San Giorgio
4.0 of 5 Farmhouse   |   C.da San Giorgio Strada Statale 120, km 45+990 | 4 Km (2,5 Miles) Tremonzelli Exit Motorway Palermo Catania, 90028 Polizzi Generosa, Sicily, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic hosts - you don't get more authentic than this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We stayed one night at the Antico Feudo which is an agriturismo near Polizzi Generosa. It's a three hundred year old family farm run by Fabiola and Giancarado who were amazing hosts. Unlike other agriturismo, it's run more like a subsistence farm than a business. We had some of the best olive oil and wine (produced on the farm) of our entire trip to Sicily. The rooms are in the original workers' quarters and are large but not luxurious. Our room was very clean, spacious and had a great view. Our only complaint was the small shower. Both dinner and breakfast were simple but delicious. We had a three course dinner of antipasta, pasta, sausages and dessert. Breakfast was fresh bread, honey, jams, juice, and fruit. If you want to experience the Sicilian countryside and have an authentic experience, then I would highly recommend staying at the Antico Feudo.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    19
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
25
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2010

We were looking forward to a 'farm experience' and considerded ourselves ripped off. It was the beginning of Oct. but no crops to see must less 'harvest'.. No one to greet us. We had to roam around until we found someone. Rooms were large but fairly primitive. Service was almost non existent. The biggest insult was the food . Dinner was acceptable but the wine from San Giorgio itself was ghastly. Breakfast was literally bread and water. Way overpriced.
WE loved Sicily so one bad experience didn't ruin it. Grateful we had only booked one night.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nederland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

It's allmost the best place to stay in Sicilie if you like to stay in a quiet region for some time. Making walks, a nice swimming pool and Palermo, the Coast and Cefalu close by.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
361 helpful votes 361 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed at his agriturismo (farmhouse) for one night on our way to Palermo. To get to this place you should turn from the road and drive about 3 km by the picturesque country road that ran across the fields. Definitely it worth to drive. The country road ends with a small parking and a beautiful palazzo, the former farmhouse.

We were given a very large apartment with 2 bedrooms and a dining room. The apartment was very authentic with stone walls and green shutters on the windows. Basically the room was above our expectation and we have nothing to complain about. It was other couple in the house except us. And we had dinner all together in a dining room of the guesthouse. The dining room gave us a feeling that we are in Medieval castle. It was decorated with old brass kitchenware and dusty bottles of odd shapes. The dinner was prepared by owners. It wasn’t anything particular about this dinner, but food was tasty and authentic. House wine was something special. I have never had such wine experience. After drinking 2 liters of wine I was feeling good even the next day!

This farmhouse is ideal place to explore the neighboring villages. Be prepared that the farmhouse is located high above sea level and it could be cold even during the summer time. Farmhouse features a swimming pool, but it was too cold to swim during our stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catania, Italy
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2010

This farmhouse is located in the heart of the Madonie and it's the place you choose if you want to get away from city traffic jam and noise. You need to drive a very long track in the country but then from your room you can only see "nature". Of course if you're looking for nightlife, this is not the place!
We only had dinner there once, food was ok but nothing special.
I would recommend it as a hotel, not as a restaurant.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2009

Large rooms, amazing views across the fields, Shame the shower/bathroom was quite small. Large pool, and huge patio area. So quiet. Access is down a very long track, but worth the drive. Real home cooking, and we were made to feel so welcome. We just didn't want to leave. Small villages around and about worth visiting. We found a woodland walk marked out through the trees.A great place to relax and slow down.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2007

My husband and I stayed here at the beginning of our two week stay in Sicily. We were certainly expecting much more considering what they charged.

The pros:

very quiet spot in the middle of farmland
convenient (by car) to see other towns that were beautiful

the cons:

they had no heat on and it was freezing. They would not turn it on and gave us a duvet to stay warm
the shower was very very small (even by European standards)
one hostess we had was absolutely awful. She had a cold at the time and purposely coughed all over our food without covering her mouth. She scowled at us every time we asked anything of her.
our rooms were not cleaned during the day so we came back to an unmade bed twice

we had such an awful time we shortened our stay there and went somewhere else.

There are other agritourism places to stay in the area. I suggest you try those. Even when we told the owner what had happened, they offered no credit to us (we were even charged for having a cup of cofffe just before sitting to breakfast)

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Antico Feudo San Giorgio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antico Feudo San Giorgio

Address: C.da San Giorgio Strada Statale 120, km 45+990 | 4 Km (2,5 Miles) Tremonzelli Exit Motorway Palermo Catania, 90028 Polizzi Generosa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Palermo > Polizzi Generosa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Polizzi Generosa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Antico Feudo San Giorgio 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The farm house is located in the center of a big working organic farm, where we produce olive oil, grapes for wine, wheat; we restored this building some years ago, we made a nice swimming pool large 16 x 8 meters (a swimming hat must be worn into the water), the parking and the country road (long 2 km). Our area is usually windy and cool, that's why we decided not to put air conditioning in rooms and apartments but we can provide you with a fan. In Antico Feudo San Giorgio you can relax yourself, enjoy our food and also plan a great tour of the island because we are well located and you can reach in not much more than one hour driving all the best places to visit (Siracusa, Agrigento, Piazza Armerina, Cefalu and the Madonie, Etna and Catania, Palermo). Antico Feudo San Giorgio is in the heart of the Madonie Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Antico Feudo San Giorgio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antico Feudo San Giorgio Polizzi Generosa, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antico Feudo San Giorgio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.