We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Annual Yoga Retreat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ayii Anargyri Natural Healing Spa

Save Saved
You added Ayii Anargyri Natural Healing Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ayii Anargyri Natural Healing Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Ayii Anargyri Street, Miliou 8049, Cyprus   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Miliou
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Annual Yoga Retreat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our London based yoga studio visits annually for a week long retreat each June. The grounds are stunning, the sun always shines, the spa is amazing and it's an ideal spot to practice yoga twice a day. There's plenty to do in the afternoons, the staff make you feel very well looked after and the value is excellent. The food was always good, but with the addition this year of Chef Patrick Dwyer, the food is now outstanding. Our group of 20 rather fastidious diners were thrilled each night with the creations from the kitchen. The fish was fresh and expertly prepared, the produce was obviously locally source and delicious and the variety was amazing. The wines are reasonably priced and well chosen. Easily the best food for miles around, be sure to stop by for dinner if you are in the neighborhood, even if not staying at the resort. Absolutely superior!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    87
    62
    27
    16
    9
See reviews for
8
144
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

This has got to be one of my best holidays ever, the resort is about 40 mins from Paphos, located in a little village called Miliou, in the hills. There is nothing around it, so you either need to hire a car or travel by taxis. However there is a bus service, so do ask at the hotel reception about the timetable, as that can save you money.

The hotel was just beautiful, the rooms were very clean and spacious. Air-con worked just fine. The towels, as mentioned by other people were a bit frayed and old, this let the standard down just a bit, as the sheets were of good quality. My room didn't have a bath tub, just a drain in the floor in the bathroom, but once I had got used to it, it was fine for me. Breakfasts were just fantastic, with a huge selection of cheeses, yogurts, fresh fruit, fresh bread, fresh orange juice from the trees in the orchard, cakes, and there was a hot selection of different types of eggs, ham etc that were ordered directly from the waitress. The staff were fantastic, and as the week progressed you just felt like you were part of a family there. Service was a little slow, especially if it was busy but I didn't have any problems waiting.

I travelled as a group, part of a yoga group. We organised an excursion to do some snorkelling with was fun, there were lots of activities to be done and these could be organised by reception for you. We got a little bored to staying by the hotel pool everyday, so we ordered taxi's to take us to Latchi Harbour to the beach, which is about 10 mins in the car, but too far to walk. We would have lunch at the beach for a change of scenery.

Evenings were spent at the hotel where we had dinner, Denis our waiter looked after us for the whole week. We were a handful, 18 of us in total. The food was absolutely delicious, each dish was prepared freshly, with different flavours. There was one meal in particular where we had lamb shank and the meat was cooked perfectly it fell off the bone and melted in your mouth. Well done to the chef who listened to us and created a lovely menu for the week. Deserts were so tasty, I just couldn't fault anything.

I didn't use the spa, but others did on the group. There were mixed feelings about some of the treatments, but Ingrid the spa manager did look after us well and was always at hand to help out.

This is definitely the place to go if you want a relaxing time, chilling out by the pool, having treatments in the spa. It's great that there are no children allowed. One thing I think is important is the need for a kettle in the rooms and a fridge. I hope this is something done before my next visit next year!! Thanks again for such a lovely visit, see you next year!!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel. It was a very nice place to stay if you want to get away from the stresses and strains of life. The hotel is very clean. Our room was airy and tastefully done for the hot climate. The bed was very comfortable and large! The bed linen was of good quality. However,the bath towels were unfortunately fraid and could do with replacing. Just a minor point! The breakfasts are outstanding and offer a comprehensive selection of various foods from continental, cereals, fruits, yoghurts, croissants, pastries and a choice of hot breakfasts etc. The food is very nice and we ate at lunch time and a couple of times in the evening. The only critisism we can make is the fact that it would have been nice to have a choice of authentic Cypriot food other than the a la carte every evening. The food was of a satisfactory standard but quite pricey and in our opinion, we have tasted better. All in all a very nice hotel set in tranquil surroundings. The staff were pleasant and helpful to.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We held our wedding at Ayii Anargyri and had a lovely day. The venue and location are lovely. As part of our wedding package we got a bungalow room to get ready in and overnight. The room was much more basic than I expected with frayed towels and no hand soap in bathroom. The air con was great though and plenty of room for me and my bridesmaids to get ready. Also looked out onto the pool and bar which was nice.

We tried to order some sandwiches for lunch which was a bit of a hassle as the staff are very laid back and weren't willing to accommodate our request and had to order proper meals from the menu, which took an age to get.

The wedding itself was lovely outside the old chapel, with a drinks reception in the old bar and reception on the terrace. the set up and the food and drinks were gorgeous. We had been told that the terrace area would be ours however other people were using it and adjacent areas. This didnt really bother me during the day. I was told there wouldn't be people sunbathing during the reception and there were but again this didnt bother me at the time.

We had breakfast the next morning, again another slow affair with very slow or laid back staff. It was nice but as I was slightly hungover I didn't appreciate it as much as I could have.

The hotel is in a lovely location with stunning peaceful grounds. I'd imagine if you were staying here on a retreat you might be put out by the weddings there, but for us it was a great venue. I didnt try the spa. I would love to stay here again and experience a holiday at the venue. Thanks for a great wedding

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poynton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Idyllic setting for a relaxing holiday with great food. We stayed bed and breakfast but half or full board may have been better value for us as we ate in a lot. The lunches were excellent and good value and there only seemed to be one other restaurant near by in Miliou which served excellent food at great prices. This was a small local taverna frequented by locals and other guests from the hotel and very friendly. Service in the hotel restaurant was sometimes slow but we were not generally in a hurry! Use of the spa pool, sauna, gym and relaxation room was included but treatments would have been extra. If you want to get out and explore you will need a car. We liked the no kids under 16 policy as we wanted a peaceful chill out holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building overlooking the front of the hotel have nice balconies overlooking trees...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Top Contributor
429 reviews 429 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
195 helpful votes 195 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Ayii Anargyri stone-builted hotel and spa, is the ideal place for persons who want to relax in a quiet dreaming atmosphere in the nature. It is located at Miliou , a small village between Paphos and Polis Chrysochou, very near to Latsi, Akamas and Aphrodite's baths.There is nothing else to do around except to walk in nature and having Spa at the hotel. So is not good for families or people who love having various activities at their holidays.The swimming-pool is small and cute, the hotel and Spa very clean and stuff polite and helpful.Breakfast and food generaly are very good, but at Miliou village, you will find also Pangratios Tavern with really excellent traditional food.The only thing we found as a disadvantage, is that the Spa is not in the hotel, but at a next building. That because the hotel, years ago was a monastery and later used as a hotel, so the Spa was added .That's why rooms are not in a unique building as were monks-cells and that's why there is a small chapel of Ayii Anargyri (they were Doctors}, that is used now to organised weddings.Have a nice stay and relax................

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I am sat at the Spa this very minute relaxing by the tranquil pool. The spa is fabulous and offers everything for everyone. Children are not allowed, a plus point for some of us. Plenty of deals for the spa treatments, just speak to Ingrid who is the Spa manager, nothing is too much trouble. The restaurant is top quality, the only fault is the over eater an obvious personal choice of mine though. The breakfast was superb.
Our room in the Monastery is an original monks cell, plus an en suite and luxurious bedding etc.
staff are welcoming and polite, nothing to fault so far.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ayii Anargyri Natural Healing Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayii Anargyri Natural Healing Spa

Address: Ayii Anargyri Street, Miliou 8049, Cyprus
Location: Cyprus > Paphos District > Miliou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Miliou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Ayii Anargyri Natural Healing Spa 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to a dream – a dream that unfolded in 1983. We cordially invite you to steep yourself within a vision that will bring relaxation, health, well-being and no little luxury. In the spring of 2009 Ayii Anargyri Spa resort opened its doors and present the world with a sublime experience. Set in a valley of mature trees, the resort offers a unique retreat, a place of profound calm and the opportunity to enjoy the health-giving waters which have benefited visitors for so many years. This boutique hotel with accommodation for 150 guests in Suites or Classic rooms, has dedicated spa facilities in the grounds, a generous swimming pool and conference facilities for 50 people. Cuisine from locally grown produce will reveal all that is best in traditional Cypriot fare – food that is garden fresh, nutritious, flavorsome. The hotel provides the means to benefit from the time-tested remedies of the mineral rich waters which flow here – but there is so much more. An abundance of scenic attractions will delight any nature lover. Also outdoor pursuits like cycling, walking and bird watching are just a few other possibilities to make your stay a tonic for body and mind. History of healing: The Spa was first formally opened in 1649 by two brothers, Cosmas and Damianos. Their generosity in offering treatment often without thought of reward gave rise to the name Anargyri – without silver. They became known and loved locally for their selfless acts and affectionately known as saints. In the 19th century the waters were properly analyzed and did indeed contain health-giving minerals. Now the new luxury spa will offer a variety of treatment rooms and therapies many involving the sulphur water which rises naturally nearby in this tranquil setting. Ayii Anargyri has something unique. From the Cyprus hillside, a mineral-rich spring carries the soothing waters renowned for generations for their healing qualities. This remarkable stream has been channeled to the new spa where it is combined in numerous treatments now advanced by modern science. The waters are beneficial for joint or muscle discomfort and some circulatory problems. The therapies are natural and non invasive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Ayii Anargyri Natural Healing Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayii Anargyri Natural Healing Hotel Miliou
Ayii Anargyri Natural Healing Spa Cyprus/Miliou

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ayii Anargyri Natural Healing Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.