We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Table

Captain's Table
48 Grigoriou Afxentiou | Zygi, Zyyi 7739, Cyprus
+357 24 333737
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 10 Restaurants in Zyyi
Price range: $25 - $254
Cuisines: Barbecue, Mediterranean, Seafood, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Enfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Perfect. the food the service the place all perfect.the best in zygi. i will definatly go back again and i would recomend all to go.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickKalavas, Public Relations Manager at Captain's Table, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your custom.

We are currently in the process of reconstructing our new website where we will also provide our customers with the opportunity to check the menu, prices,book their meals and enjoy culinary photos and seaside views of our premises.

We look forward to serving you again soon.

Kind regards
Captain's Table
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    14
    8
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Went for a buiness meeting yesterday and all was excellent. The staff were very helpfull, the food was deliscous and very plentifull. They also have amazing views of the new marina. Would definatly go again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickKalavas, Public Relations Manager at Captain's Table, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your custom.

We are currently in the process of reconstructing our new website where we will also provide our customers with the opportunity to check the menu, prices,book their meals and enjoy culinary photos and seaside views of our premises.

We look forward to serving you again.

Kind regards
Captain' Table
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Cyprus”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Me and my husband had diner there last week and we can't wait to go back again. Firstly the location is the best, right in the middle of the marina with breathtaking views. We ordered the meze which was started with a big village salad and a tray of different dips then they brought us 8 different fish items to eat, we were already started to get full,then a lovely fish souffle arrived in a real seashell which was deliscous, after the brought us two more plates of grilled cuttlefish and octopus and a grilled seabream. Everything was cooked perfectly and the waiters were very helpfull by pouring our wine for us all night and explaining the various dishes we were eating. After our meal we had our coffees and I had homemeade tiramisu which was very good and my husband had the carrot cake which was the best we ate all over the world. Overall the best dining out experience we ever had. Would recomend to all.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickKalavas, Public Relations Manager at Captain's Table, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your custom.

We are currently in the process of reconstructing our new website where we will also provide our customers with the opportunity to check the menu, prices,book their meals and enjoy culinary photos and seaside views of our premises.

We look forward to serving you on of our tademark mediterranean meals soon.

Kind regards
Captain's Table
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vouliagmeni, Greece
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“The leftovers of the captain priced for a shipowner”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We drove there because of the fame of Zygi and the accreditation that Captain's table had received from Kathimerini newspaper food column.

Alas! Zygi is a typical bad example of touristic and real estate exploitation against nature & taste.

The thinks are worst with Captain's table, a kitsch, luxury pretentious taverna, with a glass-full of dried stains- above the table clothe so to protected it!
By reading the menu we became blindfolded by the exuberant pricing: 12€ for 20cl of ouzo. 95€ to 130€ per kg for a lobster. 16€ for an octopus first plate and 32€ for any main plate!
Anyway having driven 40km to come we did not leave and ordered. Everything was from average to bad, the service indifferent, all plates arrived simultaneously so they got cold and did not appeal to taste. For that kind of money it is completely unacceptable to be offered a paper napkin, cutlery & glasses of the most humble fast food joint. Last but not least the bill had a serious mistake.

Captain's table offers the leftovers of the captain priced for the wallet of a shipowner.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nice position, open air dining, good seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We dined here on our last day in Cyprus, en route to Larnaca Airport. There are several sea food restaurants in Zygi and thus one looked the best. There is a large open air patio behind the restaurant with an awning to keep off the sun. It overlooks the harbour and there was very pleasant warm sea breeze when we lunched there. The portions looked substantial so we ordered sea food pasta and 2 plates. I good decision because it was lunch time and it was perfectly adequate. Very tasty, reasonable price and with such an extensive menu available well worth a visit for dinner

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickKalavas, Public Relations Manager at Captain's Table, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your custom. We are happy to hear you acknowledge our efforts in providing the highest possible quality in an ideal location and would be more than happy to welcome your family again for a fresh mediterranean meal at our premises.

Kind regards
Captain's Table
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain's Table also viewed

 
Zyyi, Larnaka District
Zyyi, Larnaka District
 

Been to Captain's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Table, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.