We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unmissable - the best day out on the island” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hunte's Gardens

Hunte's Gardens
Castle Grant, Barbados
+1 246-433-3333
Website
Improve this listing
Attraction details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Unmissable - the best day out on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

I have visited Barbados many times and no visit would be complete without a visit to Anthony's garden. The place is simply breathtakingly beautiful and each visit I make Anthony has developed another secret space to just sit and soak in the beauty. The water lotus is amazing in July but regardless of the time of year there is something special to see. Anthony's hospitality is legendary and after a wander around the gardens - he is very happy for you to take picnics - an hour on his terrace drinking his rum punch is a brilliant way to end the visit. A very special place - a little bit of heaven on earth.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    734
    78
    18
    8
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Key West
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An enchanted place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My wife and I drove to Hunte's Gardens and spent a good amount of time taking in the splendor and tranquility that is contained in a visit to these amazing gardens! What an enchanted place! So many species of plants and trees..it is truly spectacular! To think the location is the site of a sink hole also is amazing in itself. I like the overall layout of the gardens what with starting out up high and then taking steps to walk down to a central courtyard (with benches along the way) Very nice! I took several pictures and was constantly in awe over the breath of the collection. I saw several species I didn't know but later asked Mr. Hunte about. One in particular was the Lotus plant (of which there are two) I would highly recommend to anybody with a horticultural interest to visit Hunte's Gardens. Afterwards, we tried the delicious rum punch and sampled the Foursquare rum as well (which was also quite nice!) And had a nice short chat with Mr.Hunte himself. What a lovely place to live. He was very nice and generous. I will surely return to his gardens on future trips to Barbados!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“An exquisite tropical paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

A stunning garden with the happiest plants I have ever seen. Anthony is a wonderful host. His relaxed manner and botanical knowledge makes the visit welcoming and informative. The overall view is colourful, dramatic, breathtakingly beautiful and enhanced by classical music seemingly coming from nowhere. Not to be missed.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Enchanted indeed...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Anthony Hunte has billed his self-made masterpiece of a garden as 'The Most Enchanted Place on Earth' and the gentleman could well be right. A colossal undertaking for one man and a few helpers, Mr Hunte has transformed this sink hole and once tip into one of the most beautiful, tranquil gardens you will ever have the good fortune to enjoy. If, like us, you are also lucky enough to visit on a quiet day you may also be entertained by the owner himself. Eden in Barbados.

Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Just Heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We arrived at this wonderful and unique garden as it opened on Sunday morning and enjoyed it all to ourselves. Greeted at the entrance by Mr Hunte himself we were asked if we would prefer to leave the sounds of the morning to the birds or to soft classical music? We opted for the former and then spent a memorable couple of hours "lost" and transfixed within this beautiful garden. Stepping stones lead you through the secret garden where carefully and thoughtfully positioned comfortable wicker and wrought iron chairs are discovered, and they beckon you to rest a while to enjoy the vista from different vantage points.

Mr Hunte was pleased to tell his story with enthusiasm and freshness despite probably having told it a thousand times. And it is an inspiring story well worth listening to, whether in the garden or under the shade of his veranda. .. but I will leave the story telling to the man who does it best. Do visit.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hunte's Gardens also viewed

Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
 
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Hunte's Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hunte's Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.