We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Utopia of the north” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Animal Flower Cave

Animal Flower Cave
North Point, St Lucy, Barbados
246/439-8797
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Caverns/ Caves, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A series of caves at sea level that have been eroded by the sea and are now populated by (and named after) sea anemones, flower-shaped animals.
Brantford, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Utopia of the north”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

North of Barbados is a kept oasis. That all should visit and stay for a drink. The bar is beautiful and breath taking of the sea. Then head under ground to explore the cave. Manny Did a fanatics job, super friendly also the staff.
Definitely a high light of the trip.
Peter

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    80
    18
    14
    13
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blakeslee, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Breath taking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

This is an absolute must visit when in Barbados. The caves are beautiful, the pools are refreshing. The "animal flower" is actual the sea anemone. I could have spent my whole day there. They were renovating the bar and restaurant when we visited. This will be a welcome addition to the site.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Waste of time”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

This is a cave like any other. Animal flowers? There are 3 brown anenomies in a small pool in the cave (about an inch tall). There is a pool to swim in if you want to but we were ready to go after 10 minutes. Beware of the guys that jump in front of your car as you approach the road that the cave is at the bottom of. We thought they were ticket sellers but nope... just really pushy sellers. Try not to stop for them or they push their wares into your car and hassle you to buy as much as they can push on you. Oh and watch if you go to look at the small stall they have at the cave. One seller will quote you one price and if they disappear another seller adds 30 BD onto the price you were first quoted! If you are really looking for something to do then go and have a look but wear trainers as the stairs are very steep and its rocky in the cave plus slippy at bits. We actually laughed once we were sat back in our car as it is called animal flower cave! It would be as well just being called the cave then people wouldn't be expecting more than what it is.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardsley on Hudson, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Mother Land !!! :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I have been going to the north point, The Animal Flower Cave every year since 1987 & bring my sons since the were born....... it is an awesome spot and a must do each trip to Barbados..... you can sit on the cliffs edge & just watch the waves crash against the sea walls, go down into the cave & swim, spend all day if you like no ever rushes you..... best time is early morning when you have the place to yourself.... can't wait to see the finished improvements that Manny is overseeing and even better cant wait to eat in his new restaurant that he building there..... will be spectacular no doubt..... hopefully will see you again in Dec Manny....

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Like nowhere else”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This was an amazing experience, and one of the things that made it so fun for my kids was meeting Billy the goat, who took a gentle fancy to their clothes, and Bob the bird, who hung around until he got some crumbs. Theo was a great host, and so was our guide. It's incredible down there: the light, the water, the stalectites, the sound of the ocean right outside. I'd thought there was no way I would swim in a dark cave, but once we got down there you just have to, it's so beautiful and the water's so clear. We didn't meet anyone coming in, maybe because it was the end of the day. Definitely worth the trip. We would have gone back if we could. The steps down are very steep so I would not go with kids you have to carry. It's also dependent on the weather, so maybe call if it looks choppy.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Animal Flower Cave also viewed

Saint Thomas Parish, Barbados
Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
 
Saint Philip Parish, Barbados
Bridgetown, Saint Michael Parish
 

Been to Animal Flower Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Animal Flower Cave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.