We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views in a tropical paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Naniki

Naniki
Barbados
246 433 1300
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Caribbean
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
london
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Amazing views in a tropical paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Well it took me 4 years to find this retreat but finally i made it. Just so difficult to find. The signs need to be replaced and new signs put up especially. When you arrive as you are not sure if it is a house at a dead end or what.... The resturant needs some new table mats and cushions,plus new cutlery but the views up in the hills of st.joseph are breathtaking. The owner tom hinds a ver shrewd gent has built 10 bungalows in the grounds for rental and has plans for further business ventures. The service is slow and you are not given a menu and although the food is buffet style you have to ask what is inside the stainless steel containers, and you will then be served. The food is typically bajan which is tasty but you are not made to feel very welcome which is a shame. There are jazz sessions sundays but the staff were not sure when i asked. With a bit more organization and improvements it could be a great restaurant

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    10
    8
    3
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hartford, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A perfect experience once again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I visited Naniki again twice in February and both times it was just as wonderful as the last. Great staff, fantastic cooking and breathtaking views!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, CT
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent as always!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Another great meal at Naniki, and the setting is just as relaxing and amazing as always. After seven years visiting the island this is still the best Bajan food at any island restaurant. The services is always top notch as well.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

First and foremost, the restaurant is not nearly as nice as the ad would have you believe.

However, since we were in the neighborhood we decided to stop by for lunch. It is a bit of a tricky drive to get there but the views are very nice once you get there.
The property consists of about 9-10 bungalows in a well manicured lanscaped area and a main building. The restaurant is located in the main building.

Once we sat down it too a while for the service to get started, but I guess when you are on Island Time its to be expected. The biggest complaint that I have was that of all the items on the menu about 20 or so they only had 4 available. None of the fish on the menu were available so it started off bad right from the get go. Forced to make a different decision I went with the Jerk Chicken.
Once it finally made its way to the table it was really delicious, certainly the best jerk chicken that I ever had. For dessert I had the bread pudding which was OK but nothing special.

Overall the food is excellent, the views magnificent but the fact that they run out of food is a big minus.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Spectacular Atlantic Ocean view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Genuine Bajan cuisine served with a smile.
A bit hard to find but you will enjoy the location and the simple Bajan food.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Naniki also viewed

Saint Joseph Parish, Barbados
Bathsheba, Saint Joseph Parish
 
Bathsheba, Saint Joseph Parish
Saint Philip Parish, Barbados
 

Been to Naniki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Naniki, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.