We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Royal Pavilion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Royal Pavilion to your Saves list
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   St. James, Porters BB24051 , Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Up to 50% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence
Newmarket
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

I have stayed at hotels all over the world. The hotel was lovely, on the beach, and the staff team made my family and me feel so special throughout our stay. This is a truly wonderful hotel because of their people. We will book again next year!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you very much Douglas D! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are pleased that you had an outstanding stay.

Our team is our greatest asset and we are grateful that you recognized them in your review. We are glad that that you had the chance to get to know them.

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    147
    54
    29
    9
See reviews for
122
421
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tarrytown, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The Royal Pavilion is exactly how they made me feel...like Royalty. I traveled alone and stayed 10 days in July at the Royal Pavilion. Needing some desperate R&R from a growing NYC company, Barbados was just the place to de-stress and relax.

From my first contact while planning my trip Tawanda Thompson was a godsend. Traveling by myself and crunched for time, Tawanda really helped me plan my stay, I was provided a list of possible activities and places to go and do prior to the trip. My entire experience was amazing. As a business owner and CFO, attention to detail and getting things right the first time are words we live by. The staff at the concierge desk: Tawanda, Charlene, Samantha, Diedranna, and Shamara were all top notch. As I mentioned to Tawanda, if you have a tag line, it should be, “The Fairmont Royal Pavilion, where the kindness never stops.”

The rooms were great, I got a great deal through American Express 4 and 8 night were free as well when I joined the Fairmont Presidents Club I received a $100 food credit and breakfast buffet free. The breakfast buffet was amazing, and didn't really need to eat until dinner. The food was plentiful and really good. I'm vegetarian and I don't eat eggs so having fresh fruit, oatmeal, yogurt was great for me. For you happy carnivores out there, plenty for you. It is a proper English breakfast but if you are an American you'll find plenty of your favorites too. It's about $35 a plate so if you get get a deal do it.

Also with the Amex deal I was supposed to get an upgrade to a suite, they did not have one upon arrival, but I'm glad they didn't my room was perfect on the 3rd floor and all rooms are ocean view, the suites are on the 1st level so all you do is hop over a wall and you are on the beach. But my room on the third floor had a wonderful porch with table chairs and lounge chairs, perfect for a morning meditation and listening to the waves 20 feet in front of me. On the last day I was even able to throw one of my new friends a bottle of sun screen to them on the beach. Sunsets in front of the room, and I even saw a full moon on the water in the middle of the night, it was magical.

I happened to be staying during my birthday, I didn't tell the hotel but somehow they found out about it and Tawanda personally bought a birthday cake to my room, it was a wonderful gesture and made my day. From the moment I stepped foot on the property, David greeted me warmly and made me feel welcome right away. At meal times, Crystal and Joyce always found a nice seat for me and were really great. George, Earl, and Joseph also were really great and we had a nice chat several times. Big Kevin helped me with my IT issues to make sure I could be connected on the property. The wifi is ok, not great but good enough for me to get some work done via gotomypc. The woman who cleaned my room, I did not catch her name, so i just called her Mama (who else would clean up after me?), she was wonderful too. Her shoulder was hurting one day so I was happy I could share some Advil and Tiger Balm (ointment for pain relief) to help her out so we became buddies.

Charlene at the concierge desk was really amazing too, when I was on property she helped me out with so many areas of my trip and introduced me to a great couple from Manchester and we spend a good amount of time together and we have become good friends. Charlene stopped whatever she was doing to help me and was just so very nice and pleasant. I decided to tease her a bit when she told me she was going on Holiday to Jamaica and I said to her, “Oh really? I was going to propose to you tomorrow, I had the ring and a Jet and everything. Oh well, that’s too bad.” Her face was priceless, she didn’t know if I was serious or kidding, it was really funny and she was a good sport about my joking.

Also, I cannot forget the boys working the towels they were great. Always smiling and pleasant. I loved being able to leave my sandals at the steps and pick them up later, it took me a day or two to stop worrying that they would be stolen (I am from NY after all ). One night I left my sandals at the North Exit and was out at Ju-Ju’s Beach Bar and Cafe right next to the hotel (the owner Johanna is awesome, great food and fun people) until quite late, I thought my sandals would be gone. But one of the boys put my sandals with the other furniture on a shelf and I was able to retrieve them.

I practiced with the Bajan Judo team the Sensai there Ian Weathers is amazing, I was warmly welcomed and helped train with some of the athletes going to the Commonwealth games. They open the wide doors to the huge dojo and fresh air blows in. Hot and humid but incredible dojo and wonderful to train at. Ian is amazing and his students are really friendly.

Went horseback riding on the eastern coast rocky and wild, recommend doing that as well.

The last time I was in Barbados I stayed at Sandy Lane, I also visited them for lunch this time around. At Sandy Lane I felt the staff was really good, and friendly, but at the Royal Pavilion I felt that people were kind and friendly not because they had to be, but because that is just the way they are. Everything felt more natural and like I said to Diedranna, “Sandy Lane is very nice, but the Royal Pavilion is Home.”

Totally recommend it, I almost never stay at the same hotel twice but I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get the third floor, great views and no one on top of you. All rooms have ocean view, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you very much JudoCJ! We are so glad that you enjoyed your time with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience.

We love hearing that “were kind and friendly not because they had to be, but because that is just the way they are.” Our team impresses us each and every day and we are so happy when other people take a moment and share their compliments. The team could not be more worthy of them.

Thank you again. We look forward to your next visit,

Adam Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslingden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Picked up at the airport ,with an old fashioned meet and greet ,avoided the queues and whisked to the Hotel.Even check in was luxury ! .No standing at a desk ,sat in comfort where I was brought my first Banks beer whilst we filled in the normal detail.Then taken to our beachside room where it all wa a bit too much ,Mrs P and were straight in the sea for a spot of skinny dipping ! (luckily for the other residents it was now dark ) .Nothing was rushed and the service was very polite and not in your face.perfect.

Room Tip: Push the boat out and opt for a room that leads straight onto the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you kindly Dave P! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are glad that you had such a wonderful experience. We're thrilled to hear that your stay was "perfect" - that is quite a compliment!

Your tips will prove invaluable to future travelers and we are grateful that you shared them. We value your recommendation and thank you again for leaving a review,

Adam Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The staff greet you like a family member or an old friend and go out of their way to make you happy - on my birthday, there was a birthday card signed by the staff and a bottle of wine, numerous members staff wished me a happy birthday when they saw me on the day and the weekly Manager's cocktail party fell on my birthday and when we arrived back late from our day out, they sent us four extra glasses of champagne! Nothing was too much trouble and when our flight home was cancelled, they offered to upgrade us, but we were happy just to stay in the same room with a late check out! Free activities - Swimming with the turtles with Ryan the Lifeguard who was reassuring and attentive to a poor swimmer and walking around the gardens with the knowledgable Winslow the Gardener are treats not to be missed! Palms restaurant sunsets at the waterside with delicious food and classical music are unforgettable - I want to go back! Dee Soko

Room Tip: Choose on the beach ground floor room with your own terrace seaview, jump over the wall ane you'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you very much Denise S and Happy Birthday! We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and are pleased that you not only had a outstanding stay but that you want to come back. That is quite a compliment!

Our team is our greatest asset and we are grateful that you recognized them in your review. Ryan and Winslow are incredible and we are glad that you had the chance to get to know them. We’re also glad you enjoyed all the hotel has to offer!

Thank you again,

Adam Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We have just returned from a two week holiday at the Royal Pavilion . What a great place for a holiday. Lovely beach ,pool, bedroom, restaurants but the secret of it success is it's amazing staff . They really work as a team. From the minute we walked through the doors , we were treated wonderfully. We could not fault anyone within the team. Some comments on trip advisor mention that the hotel is a bit tired. It may be , but actually , there are so many positives that any negatives are cancelled out . Thanks you to everyone at the RP for making our stay so special.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, General Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you kindly Janebredin! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate you taking the time to share your experience. Reviews like yours are invaluable to future travelers and we couldn’t be more grateful.

Your compliments toward our team are much appreciated. We agree one hundred percent!

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review. We hope to welcome you back in the future,

Adam Knight
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We keep coming back so they must be doing something right! Another great stay seeing many of the staff who have become friends over the years but also spending time with friends who also make a point of returning each year at the same time.
The hotel and its staff are special and it's like having a second home abroad without all the added expense that goes with that.
If you want a 5 star hotel where everything runs to clockwork, the rooms are immaculate and you are treated like royalty don't go to the Pavilion.
If you want something special, memories are important and you find it difficult to leave, then try it.
A special mention to Jamal who made our stay even more special this year

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Dear Beachbumsalso,

Thank you for coming back and taking time to write a review about your recent trip. Jamal is indeed a great staff and your kind words about him will definitely be a great motivator.

It was a pleasure having you at the Fairmont Royal Pavilion and we look forward to welcoming you soon again.

Kulbhushan Tyagi
Director of Operations/F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

.

Fabulous hotel and location. Can't rate highly enough.

But ..... before people start writing, up in arms, re the review of blonde Canadian Christine (below) - she DIDN'T eat dolphin! 'Dolphin' is just a local name for the fish known as Mahi-Mahi !

.

Room Tip: Ground floor, beachfront, is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalPavilionHotel, Manager at Fairmont Royal Pavilion, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Barbadosbelle1,

Thank you for your kind comments and we are glad to see that our guests are reading the reviews with keen interest.

We look forward to see you back soon again and in the meantime if I could be of any assistance, please let me know.

Kulbhushan Tyagi
Director of Operations/F&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porters
0.6 mi away
Colony Club
Colony Club
#1 of 3 in Porters
4.5 of 5 stars 273 reviews
2.8 mi away
The House
The House
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 387 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#1 of 8 in St Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,156 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
#1 of 2 in Paynes Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#3 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Royal Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Royal Pavilion

Address: St. James, Porters BB24051, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Royal Pavilion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Groupon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Royal Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Royal Pavilion
Fairmont St. James
Barbados Fairmont Hotel
St. James Fairmont
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Royal Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.