We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best holiday ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Royal Pavilion

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Royal Pavilion to your Saves list
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   St. James, Porters BB24051 , Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Essex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“best holiday ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in March 2012 and found it absolutely lovely. The service, room, setting and overall ambience was second to none. The Palm Terrace restuarant, food, service and music entertainment was excellant.
We are planning to come back to Barbados this year but have opted for a villa this time but purely due to cost, however we will go back for a meal.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

601 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    126
    48
    27
    9
See reviews for
104
341
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012 via mobile

Fairmont Barbados is a luxury property in the Bajan peer group. Therefore, I cast aside any price/ quality review - you pay for luxury, you get it.

The staff/ guest ratio is very good, and the middle/ upper management is on board and on duty and available, which helps a lot in maintaining standards, especially if you have any issues to be resolved.

The property is great. It becomes evident if you take the walk on the beach, like we did, all the way down to Daphne's. You begin to appreciate your own lovely, clean, quiet and spacious beach. The restaurant facilities are fantastically located right on the beach front, including the breakfast terrace Taboras.

The breakfast is very good, perhaps add on some green salad and fresh vegatables and it would be perfect. Berries and fruits are delicious.

The staff is friendly. The service is extremely personal. The Beach Club team comes on top with their friendly and active approach. We had a turtle excursion just for our family, and one the Fairmont trump cards is the proximity of the turtles, it was very nice to feed them without all the other tourists who have to arrive here on the big boats and catamarans to experience the same. The complimentary water sports activities was very good.

Rooms are tidy and all are well located to experience the sea. Aircon in our other room was a bit too loud at times.

Concierge services were up to the expected standard.

There is local live music during lunch and dinner, which may not be to everybody's liking, we could have done well without it.

There are many good restaurants in the neighbourhood, please, make sure you book them well in advance, we missed Cin Cin, Tides and Cliff completely. FishPot will be reviewed separately, it was our favourite. The hotel food was good, especially the BBQ lunches were delicious, Mahi-Mahi and other local dishes are well represented, which is really great.

Overall, a very good choice, for a very special outing over Christmas holidays - Fairmont is unpretentious luxury in a great property for a grown up holiday experience!

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We stayed two nights before boarding a cruise in November 2012 and the greatest thing about this property is that there is not one single bad room. ALL 72 (?) rooms have wonderful west facing views of the ocean and the hotel is right on the beach. My experience is that there is always a better located room, but not on this property. We booked through HotelClub and even if that was a bit pricey, it was about a third of how much the hotel charged when booking through their own website.

The downside of this hotel is the price level of food and beverage. Breakfast was a steep €22 pp and quite honestly it did not quite match the price. It's not that we couldn't afford it, but we did not think the price was matched by quality. As a guest, you are almost forced to eat at the hotel since the selection of outlets near the hotel is very limited. Complimentary afternoon tea was served, but even that was not very good.

Barbados is not high on our list of places to go back to, but I would definitely consider staying here again if we were to go again. Beautiful beach, peace and quiet, wonderful rooms and, best of all, sea turtles just off the beach.

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms. All rooms are facing the beautiful beach. We are happy we chose a double roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed at the property for two nights before continuing on to Grenada for ten days. The welcome to the hotel was warm and very accommodating (a very nice personal touch, including chilled towels and rum punch). We had a room on the third floor overlooking the beach -- it was very comfortable, spatious, and had the usual Fairmont amenities (including complementary internet). The cleaning staff and front office staff were friendly and provided for all needs. We had dinner one night at the main restaurant and the second night the Italian night at the "beach" restaurant. Meals were reasonably priced (not inexpensive, but not out of line); breakfast, too, was very good.

The hotel is located a ways north from Bridgetown -- it is on a relatively wide and long beach by Barbadian standards ... among the two best beaches I have experienced in Barbados. The grounds of the property are nice-manicured and well-kept, and rooms and facilities are well-maintained. We can be picky and had absolutely no complaints.

Room Tip: By our standards, the beachfront junior suites were not worth the extra cost -- rooms on the second...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

Following a break here in 2009 we decided to come to the Royal Pavillion again. The hotel is great, the beach and water sports excellent but just a couple of things have let them down: staff in the restaurant and bar are not as attentive or personable as 3 years ago, whilst the beach team have been very poor at looking after their guests. Overall I'd say 9/10 but for a west coast Barbados hotel at this price it should be 10/10

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I stayed in one of the top floor ocean view rooms and I found it to be of slightly lower quality than I've seen at other Fairmont hotels. it didn't feel like "luxury" Air conditioning units may need to be cleaned/filtered , and matress was soft. Food was not great on Location, beach food was good. Location is great, right on the beach, turtle are not to far. Still enjoyed my trip, but will not come back to this Hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Service at the Fairmont is exceptional. Many of the staff have been employed by the Fairmont for 15-20 years. As a result, staff are experienced and empowered to solve issues, and additionally have a sense of ownership with respect to the hotel. Highly unusual to find this level of service.

Having sought out the best restaurants along the Platinum Coast, we decided to dine at the Royal Pavilion one night of our visit. The food was extraordinary. This was not your typical hotel restaurant that gets by as a result of having a captive audience. The preparation of of the butternut soup was to perfection, as were the two fresh fish dishes we enjoyed. The restaurant was on par with, and I would even venture to say, superior to, the best fine dining establishments we visited on our trip.

We also attended the manager's cocktail party. It was at this event that you come to appreciate that the Fairmont truly is a community of loyal and long serving staff, and loyal and long term guests. Many of the guests were repeat visitors over a 10+ year period, and the staff knew them personally.

Wayne Kafcsak, the general manager, does a fine job of keeping this finely tuned institution running like a well oiled machine.

We will return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairmont Royal Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Royal Pavilion

Address: St. James, Porters BB24051 , Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Royal Pavilion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Regatta Hotels, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairmont Royal Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Royal Pavilion
Fairmont St. James
Barbados Fairmont Hotel
St. James Fairmont
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Royal Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.