We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely staff, great position but not quite 5 star!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairmont Royal Pavilion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairmont Royal Pavilion to your Saves list
Fairmont Royal Pavilion
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   St. James, Porters BB24051 , Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Up to 50% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely staff, great position but not quite 5 star!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great place to relax with wonderful views from the rooms, however a few things that prevent it from being 5 star. Although the breakfast buffet was bountiful,the feeding frenzy by the birds when a table was vacated was not great on the hygiene stakes- only a few of the staff even bothered trying to do anything about it. The main restaurant was only open on selected evenings which meant we had to go out for our last night. However the beach was wonderful, the staff were lovely and the garden areas were exceptionally well kept and maintained.The rooms were very comfortable with plenty of space and well stocked with towels and toiletries.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    148
    54
    30
    9
See reviews for
130
429
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stevensville, MD
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My wife and I just returned from our 21st trip to the Caribbean. We went from October 18 - 26 and thoroughly enjoyed the experience at the Fairmont. The room (1st floor suite) was terrific...great view, a lot of room, plenty of closet space, excellent service (cleaning, towels, +++ an early evening snack delivered to our room each day).

Upon our arrival in Barbados, the hotel had a representative that expedited our trip through immigration and customs and had our car standing by to drive us to the hotel...the entire time in the airport upon arrival was less that 30 minutes!!!! Make sure to pay for the hotel's transfer service - well worth it!!!

The people from the front desk folks (Tawanda) to our two butlers who took care of everything for us (Dawn & Peter) to the people in both restaurants and the beach attendants - ALL very friendly, professional, and personable.

The food was great - explore a few "other" restaurants (The Cliff and Cin Cin - outstanding)...but the breakfast buffet, the dinner events, manager's cocktail party, all wonderful.

The grounds are beautiful, well maintained, and always being "tended"....

AGAIN - the staff is OUTSTANDING!!!!! - and committed to making sure you stay is perfect.

The only small negatives are:
1. The beach is beautiful but a little narrow - not as expansive as other resorts we've visited (Anguilla, Aruba, Mustique, Antigua,etc.),
2. You are routinely interupted by beach vendors trying to sell you jewelry, art work, boat rides, etc. When you're trying to relax,this can be annoying -but the venddors ARE very friendly and respectful.

ALL-IN-ALL - we would rate this as a 4.75 / 5.00 resort experience. The property manager's take a great interest in their job and their comittment to their guests.

Word of warning - if you want to go to an off-site restaurant or a tour...the taxis seemed very expensive.

This is definately a GO!!! JUST TRYTO AVOID TRAVELLING THROUGH MIAMI - WORST REURNING TRIP EVER....WE HAD 2 1/2 HOUR LAY OVER, BUT DUE TO THE INEFFICIENCIES AT MIAMI - WE GOT TO OUR GATE WITH ONLY 5 MINUTES TO SPARE! THE WORST RUN INTERNATIONAL ARRIVAL TERMINAL I HAVE EVER SEEN!!!!!

GO TO THE FAIRMONT - felt llike we were leaving friends....just plan around Miami.

Room Tip: Ground Floor - outside space was much roomier vs. 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The Fairmont in Barbados has every possible amenity in it's rooms that you could possibly think of. We slept superbly for our last night in the islands after 3 weeks of sailing. The beach is lovely, good for a nice walk. The beds are super comfortable, the bathroom, has a separate shower and tub. There is a flat screen TV, although it was never turned on. There is the standard coffee and tea is available, plus a mini bar. There is internet, as per their website. Afternoon tea was simple, and comes in tea bags, not loose tea. This service is also complimentary. My husband and I love the Fairmont brand, however, the overall cost of dining is over the top, and we do not think breakfast (toast {4 slices} and coffee with a side of bacon for two with a coffee each) at 30$ usd, is worth it. I am sure their food for lunch and dinner are fine, but how much is it really worth??

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed at the Fairmont with my family for ten days and we had a wonderful time. The service was excellent and the staff friendly. All the rooms were facing the ocean with fantastic views. Great facilities for all kinds of water sports and tennis courts. Highly recommended particularly if you can arrange a package tour through British Airways or American Airlines where you get over 50% discount on published rates.

We held a cocktail reception for 30 family members and friends by the pool side. Management was incredibly helpful and accommodating with our last minute request. :-)

Room Tip: Every room faces the ocean so you cant go wrong but I preferred 2nd ad 3rd floor rooms as they had m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retired of Sussex
Level Contributor
48 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

The hotel staff could not be more helpful..the rooms are beautiful with a lovely view of the ocean.
Food was excellent but be warned everything you have whether it be a drink at the bar or a meal there is a 10% service charge.
Hope to return next year, by which time the wonderful waitress Kerrianne will of had her baby and be back at work.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was our second destination of our honeymoon, and one word to describe the experience is WOW!, as soon as we arrived we were presented with a refreshing and a cold towel. The checking experience was so good, all I had to present was my credit card details. The staff constantly provided a first class service throughout the seven days. The room we stayed was the oceanfront deluxe room, it was so spacious and clean and had all the amenities that one would expect in a 5 star hotel. We had a balcony that provided views across the beach which was so amazing. The location of this hotel is about 5 minutes by car away from Limegrove Mall that has designer shops and very good restrautants. So if you want to come to Barbados stay at this hotel as you will have first class customer service and the location is brilliant to vist the rest of Barbados. I am already plannning another visit to this fabulous hotel next year!

So a big thank you to the staff at Royal Fairmont Pavillion for making our honeymoon an forgetable experience!

Room Tip: book the Oceanfront Deluxe Room! outstanding views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerpen, Antwerpen, Belgium
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have just returned from the Hotel after a two week stay. Prior to setting off I was preparing myself for slow service and rip off prices for wine. However the Staff are very friendly, proffesional and the service rapid. The wines are priced very reasonably similar to what we pay at the restaurants in Europe. i.e. The Ritz-Coupole Paris, or Caprice in London. The rooms are not at the hight of luxury, as we have had in the Seychelles and Mauritius, but adequate and the mentality of the Barbados people is very different, as they do not have the rip off attitude and are actually very pleased that you are visiting their island. You feel safe to walk in the streets and go out at night. Different to what I expected, having been briefed by my friends in Jamaica. The sea is like a warm bath and the beach facilites are OK. I would recommend this hotel for the afternoon tea and quality.

Room Tip: Pretty much the same throughout all sea facing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Porters
0.6 mi away
Colony Club
Colony Club
#1 of 3 in Porters
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
2.8 mi away
The House
The House
#2 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
3.0 mi away
Beach View
Beach View
#1 of 26 in Saint James Parish
5.0 of 5 stars 716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
Ocean Two Resort & Residences
#1 of 8 in St. Lawrence Gap
4.5 of 5 stars 1,179 reviews
8.7 mi away
Hilton Barbados Resort
Hilton Barbados Resort
#3 of 8 in Saint Michael Parish
4.0 of 5 stars 2,226 reviews
2.9 mi away
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
Tamarind by Elegant Hotels
#1 of 2 in Paynes Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Royal Pavilion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Royal Pavilion

Address: St. James, Porters BB24051, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fairmont Royal Pavilion 4.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Fairmont Royal Pavilion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Porters
Fairmont Hotel Royal Pavilion
Fairmont St. James
Barbados Fairmont Hotel
St. James Fairmont
Fairmont Royal Pavilion Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairmont Royal Pavilion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.