We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Club to your Saves list
Colony Club
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Porters, St. James, Porters, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence
Paphos, Cyprus
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

just had a fabulous week at Colony Club. Probably one of the best, if not the best hotel I've stayed in. The grounds are stunning, and it's nice that it's not a huge hotel, it feels quite intimate. I stayed in a poolside room, which was gorgeous. The beds are massive, and comfortable. No bath, but a very large walk in shower. Plenty of storage, robes, slipper, free WIFI. A nice touch too, a bottle of rum punch. We were on the ground floor and the terrace was fab, two sun loungers, hurricane lamps and a further seating area and parasol next to the entrance to the pool. Loved it!
Beach service was excellent, every so often cold towels would arrive, canapés, ice cream. By the way the sun loungers are extremely luxurious :-) and they supply sun cream.
Food and drink was top notch, and the daily happy hour made drinking at a five star hotel extremely affordable. The staff in the main were lovely, a special thanks to Antonio, beach ambassador, who made me laugh every time he appeared! So polite but amusing too!
What's really great is the location too, as you can walk safely to Holetown, and visit other restaurants and bars, as well as walk to Lone Star either via the beach or road.
A fantastic choice

Room Tip: Poolside ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    52
    17
    5
    0
See reviews for
45
160
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Me and my wife stayed here for a almost a week in May, As soon as we arrived we were treated very nicely and they even upgraded our room for our anniversary. The hotel is very nice. Its on a small side but everything is at your door step. So you don't need to walk for 20 minutes from point A to point B like other big brand name hotels. The staff is very nice, and will do anything you ask them. The hotel has free water sport activities which is a big plus, but book them early. We had breakfast included, we enjoyed it every morning with different variety of foods to choose from. We did not have lunch or dinner at the hotel restaurant but heard from others that it it is wonderful. Grounds are kept very nice and the beach is amazing!!! Had no problems with sun chairs.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We have been visiting the Colony Club Hotel in Barbados for the past four years and cannot praise it enough. The bedrooms and public areas are immaculate and the staff without fail are helpful always smiling and cannot be criticised in any way. The food is delicious and the beach and pool areas are clean. We plan to visit again in January. Enough said!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms are as good as beachfront ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The area is beautiful as you travel to the hotel and the thing that struck me the most is the building which is unbelievably beautiful. The resort itself is very good with easy access to everything and a lovely bedroom. Kids will the access to the pool and the beach which includes a poolside bar and many sea activities including swimming out to a platform and banana boating The atmosphere is lovely with many restaurants and very friendly People overall very good and will go there again. If you decide not to come here you are making a mistake.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife & I stayed at The Colony Club for 12 nights in April/May 2016 and thoroughly enjoyed it. This was our third visit and it won’t be our last! Each time we have visited has better than the last.

On arrival we were very warmly welcomed and shown to our room - a Superior Ocean View Room which gave us pleasant views over the attractive garden/pool/beach bar to the beach. The room was spacious, very clean, well maintained, and smartly furnished. The en-suite had two wash-hand basins and a shower over the bath.

The atmosphere at the Colony Club is friendly and relaxed. The staff are all very helpful and friendly and service throughout is excellent – nothing is too much trouble. Indeed it’s fair to say that it is the staff who make the hotel what it is! Another positive in this regard is the high visibility and friendliness of Gayle & her management team.

The hotel has an attractive beach with great swimming and some snorkelling. Particular mention has to be made of Antonio, one of the beach ambassadors, whose unassuming, friendly service and attention to the smallest of details is exceptional, even in a hotel where service is a forte! The beach was not the same on his days off!

The buffet breakfast at the Colony Club is excellent, both quality & choice, as is lunch at the Sunset Bar & Deck. From the Colony Club it is only a 15 minute walk into Holetown where there are many evening dining options ranging from casual to fine dining and many other restaurants are within a short taxi ride.

We enjoyed our time at The Colony Club and would highly recommend it. There are very few hotels to which we would return, as we like to explore different parts of the world, but we will definitely return to the Colony Club again as we really like, and rate, both the hotel and its Barbados West Coast location!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Colony Club, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Alastair_8 ,

Thank you for taking the time to share such a glowing review of our property, Colony Club Hotel!

At Colony Club we continuously strive to provide our guests with an exceptional and memorable holiday experience which exceeds their expectations, and it is such a pleasure to know that we were able to provide you with this wonderful experience on numerous occasions.

We could not have better described your accurate depiction of Antonio's detail to attention and passion for providing excellent service. He is without a doubt, as are all of our team members, the heartbeat of Colony Club and the reason so many guests such as yourself return year after year.

As you have mentioned, Colony Club boasts a prime beach front location, providing our guests the perfect gateway for experiencing everything the island has to offer. We're pleased that you found both the quality and selection of our culinary offerings to be of a very high standard.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Colony Club upon your return visit for what is sure to be another wonderful holiday.

Kind regards,

Khadijah D.
Social Media/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Just returned from a week's vacation at this resort and it was amazing! Stayed in one of the luxury pool rooms, excellent choice. The food was amazing, especially loved the free breakfast every day, so many choices. All of the hotel staff were great, so nice and made sure we had everything we needed. My special thanks to Ryan and Omar , our waiters at the Sunset Grill and Antonio who served us cold fruit and towels on the beach. I would definitely come back here, truly hated to leave Paradise!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My partner and I stayed in the colony club between 9 and 19 May 2015. On arrival we were offered a cooling fruit cocktail and shown to our room. We had booked a luxury pool room but were upgraded to a junior suite overlooking the pool and gardens. The room was large with a lovely lounge area, 4 poster bed, beautiful bathroom with a sunken bath and there was a bottle of champagne on ice compliments of the hotel. The pools and beach are lovely and I have to mention Corey and Antonio two of the beach ambassadors who bought us drinks, cold flannels, fruit and savoury snacks. They were delightful with excellent customer service skills. Food in the restaurants at breakfast, lunch and dinner was delicious and beautifully presented. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Fitness centre is well equipped and Waves beauty salon offered fantastic massages, manicures etc. we booked on a bed and breakfast basis but I would strongly recommend booking a half board option as food was very expensive ( very nice though so worth it) also if you decide to go to Chattel Village to do some shopping walk!! The first time we ordered a taxi and it cost $10 U.S. It only takes 15 minutes to walk!! evening entertainment is very good, usually singers who were all very good. I would strongly recommend The Colony Coub and would choose it again

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and it was quiet with privacy on the balcony (which was huge!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Colony Club, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Sandie S,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Colony Club by Elegant Hotels. We are happy to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that our team treated you so well. They truly are a credit to the hotel and your glowing comments will be shared with the entire team.

Our culinary team works diligently to provide an unmatched dining experience, and we’re pleased to note that you found the quality of food at all dining periods to be of an excellent standard and very well-presented. Our guests often echo your lovely comments on our signature beach service is. It really is the little things that go a long way, such as receiving afternoon canapés and refreshing cold towels on the comfort of your lounger.

We look forward to hosting you again soon for what is sure to be another wonderful, relaxing holiday.

Kind regards,

Khadijah D.
Social Media/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Colony Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Club

Address: Porters, St. James, Porters, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Colony Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An exclusive retreat with elegance and colonial charm." Where old world charm meets new world standards of quality and comfort. The 96-room Colony Club is the Elegant Hotels Group's flagship property in Barbados with lush gardens, healthy dining options, complimentary watersports and fitness classes, organic garden, WiFi, bespoke tours and more. Ideal for couples and honeymooners seeking an exclusive retreat with impeccable service in a stunning location, Colony Club tempts guests back year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., TripOnline SA, Regatta Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Colony Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Club Hotel Porters
Colony Hotel Saint James
Colony Club Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.