We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful resort! ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Club to your Saves list
Colony Club
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Porters, St. James, Porters, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Wonderful resort! ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Just returned from a week's vacation at this resort and it was amazing! Stayed in one of the luxury pool rooms, excellent choice. The food was amazing, especially loved the free breakfast every day, so many choices. All of the hotel staff were great, so nice and made sure we had everything we needed. My special thanks to Ryan and Omar , our waiters at the Sunset Grill and Antonio who served us cold fruit and towels on the beach. I would definitely come back here, truly hated to leave Paradise!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    52
    17
    5
    0
See reviews for
45
156
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

My partner and I stayed in the colony club between 9 and 19 May 2015. On arrival we were offered a cooling fruit cocktail and shown to our room. We had booked a luxury pool room but were upgraded to a junior suite overlooking the pool and gardens. The room was large with a lovely lounge area, 4 poster bed, beautiful bathroom with a sunken bath and there was a bottle of champagne on ice compliments of the hotel. The pools and beach are lovely and I have to mention Corey and Antonio two of the beach ambassadors who bought us drinks, cold flannels, fruit and savoury snacks. They were delightful with excellent customer service skills. Food in the restaurants at breakfast, lunch and dinner was delicious and beautifully presented. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. Fitness centre is well equipped and Waves beauty salon offered fantastic massages, manicures etc. we booked on a bed and breakfast basis but I would strongly recommend booking a half board option as food was very expensive ( very nice though so worth it) also if you decide to go to Chattel Village to do some shopping walk!! The first time we ordered a taxi and it cost $10 U.S. It only takes 15 minutes to walk!! evening entertainment is very good, usually singers who were all very good. I would strongly recommend The Colony Coub and would choose it again

Room Tip: We were on the 3rd floor and it was quiet with privacy on the balcony (which was huge!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Our first trip to beautiful Barbados, and the fabulous Colony Club…but sure it will not be the last! The hotel was recommended to us by friends who have been visitors for many years, and as expected we had reservations…will it live up to our expectations??
Should not have worried!
Everything & everyone at the Colony Club is excellent. Lovely, spacious, very clean Luxury Ocean view room,….and it REALLY was that! Large bathroom area. Daily cleaning, and evening turn-down service.
Good choice at Breakfast. We ate once in the restaurant for the Steak night. Great food,quality Steak, cooked to perfection with accompanying sides. Relaxed atmosphere.

Each day at the beach you are served with frozen grapes, canapés, then afternoon ices. Cold towels are handed to you to help cool down. Excellent service by Antonio.
The entire Staff are friendly, welcoming, polite, attentive, and helpful.

We spoke to many guests who have been visiting the Hotel for many years now, and they were all very helpful with hints & tips on things to do, places to go etc. Thanks Guys!

If you are thinking of going to Barbados, PLEASE give Colony Club a try…you will not be disappointed…..Honest!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First time for us at Colony Club after recommendations from our travel organiser.

On arrival we found that one of the rooms we had booked and confirmed had not been allotted to us. This was quickly resolved by the reception staff, however one of the rooms had been renovated and the other had not, therefore we paid the same price for two rooms of different quality.

Although the hotel tries hard to provide a 5 star product, this is not achieved. Breakfast is only served until 0930hrs, unless you want to take it in your room. So if you miss breakfast by a couple of minutes, you can't get anything to eat until 12.30hrs when the sun deck restaurant opens (poor).

Considering this is a 5 star hotel, I would expect to be able to stay in the bar after 12 o'clock midnight, however the bar is closed and it's off to bed because there is nothing else on offer. I don't want a party/night club hotel, but as I keep saying, this is a 5 star establishment and I have never known in any hotel across the world that I have visited that the bar closes without question at midnight.

Sun lounger wars!!!
At 0600 hrs every morning the same people emerge from their rooms with magazines or flip flop in hand to command their entitlement to their own sun lounger. The hotel policy is that loungers cannot be reserved. The management should explain this to the staff because you end up with two rows of unoccupied loungers whilst their 'owners' disappear for hours on end whilst people who have not been so greedy and ignorant are unable to claim a lounger. Management please note. This needs addressing urgently. I don't travel half way across the world, pay a premium rate for a hotel to be treated as though I was in a 2 star hotel in Benidorm.

Good points are that the majority of the staff are extremely friendly and helpful, although there are one or two grumpy faces now and again.

For most of the time service is good, however on occasions we had to wait over half an hour for ordered drinks to arrive.

I appreciate that the hotel is situated directly on to the beach, which the public have access to, but it gets a little annoying when you continually have to say no to the beach hawkers. Security is present on the beach, but they don't seem to have much effect.

Because the hotel is so close to the sea, it does get weathered, however it is now a little grubby around the edges and not as clean as I expected.

Overall a nice hotel, great poisoning, friendly and attentive staff (most of the time) and a relaxing place to be.

I would question the 5 star rating and would suggest it is more 3plus - 4 star.

Would we return. Possibly, but would try out other options first.

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Everything about this hotel is first class.

Service is amazing!! Our favourite is Antonio (I think that's his name) from around the pool. He is a credit to the hotel!

Staff are always helpful
And smiling!

Breakfast is wonderful.

Water in the room
Every evening, fantastic huge rooms and bathrooms.

Wouldn't hesitate to recommend and we will be rebooking.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

When arriving at this hotel you can get the wrong impression if you have travelled a lot! Once you settle in and start enjoying the quiet friendly atmosphere of the hotel you will be very impressed with it. This hotel is great value for money compared with hotel around this area. The food at the restaurant was amazing (not cheap). If you enjoy your food this restaurant will not disappoint you :-)

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Colony Club, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear MiguelLuisFerreira,

Thank you for sharing this glowing review of your recent holiday experience at Colony Club Hotel. It's always a great feeling to know that we have made a wonderful impression on our guests, particularly those visiting us for the first time and are unsure of what to expect.

Our culinary team works diligently to provide an unmatched dining experience and we will be sure to share your complimentary comments with the team.

Once again, thank you for your lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Khadijah D.
Social Media/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Our yearly visit to The Colony Club and each year it seems to get better. Gayle and her team run a fantastic operation helping to make a perfect vacation.
We had a pool view junior suite which had been decorated since last year with new furniture and looked great.
Cleanliness throughout the hotel was improved upon from previous years.
The only downside is the early morning morning rush to get a front row sun bed.
We made more new friends and we all loved Antonio, the new guy on the beach.
The water sports team were also deserve a special mention for their patience.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Colony Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Club

Address: Porters, St. James, Porters, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Colony Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An exclusive retreat with elegance and colonial charm." Where old world charm meets new world standards of quality and comfort. The 96-room Colony Club is the Elegant Hotels Group's flagship property in Barbados with lush gardens, healthy dining options, complimentary watersports and fitness classes, organic garden, WiFi, bespoke tours and more. Ideal for couples and honeymooners seeking an exclusive retreat with impeccable service in a stunning location, Colony Club tempts guests back year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Regatta Hotels, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Colony Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Club Hotel Porters
Colony Hotel Saint James
Colony Club Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.