We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little too quiet!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Club to your Saves list
Colony Club
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Porters, St. James, Porters, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A little too quiet!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We have vacationed in Barbados before and the hotels we stayed had more night time activities. The beach has a sharp drop off as soon as you enter the water. apart from that, the hotel and grounds were very nice. Also, there is a promenade that runs along the beach which takes you pass other hotels as well as private residences....some very grand and other not so grand. We were able to walk along the promenade down to Lime Grove Mall in one direction and to the Fairmont Royal Pavilion in the other. The room was nice and our balcony overlooked the pool. The food was very good and I was stuffed every night. Travel time to and from the airport is about 40 minutes and quite scenic. The island is small and I was able to circle the entire island in a day which included stopping at points of interest on the way.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    50
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
43
146
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norton Lindsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Having stayed at the sister hotel - The House - which we enjoyed albeit with a few caveats, we were looking forward to our stay here. We were not disappointed and it did score a few brownie points over the house e.g. more extensive gardens, better pool(s) areas and an on site restaurant. OK, unlike The House, children are welcomed though whilst we were there we did not encounter any overtly boisterous activity just kiddies enjoying themselves which if you cannot do at that age, it is a sorry state. We had a poolside room which was super though the pool was about 3ft deep so not the best for a chubby like me but great for cooling. The pools nearer the beach were deeper so for the 'missus' - a keen swimmer - it was great.
Though not expecting to see any, a family of green monkeys turned up outside the rear of our room which was an unexpected treat which gave us a few moments of hilarity.
The hotel is expensive as is The House and having talked to others, there are apparently other hotels of a similar stature but offering an all inclusive package which would be an attraction to us next time as meals in the hotel and elsewhere are EXPENSIVE!
However, it did not attract from our stay and would seriously consider again.

Room Tip: Pool rooms away from the beach are quitter but still easy in reach of everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have very mixed emotions about this hotel because I did have a wonderful holiday in Barbados and the staff were so friendly.

But sadly there were a string of disappointments that cannot be overlooked, especially when you're paying a significant sum of money to stay here.

The first and most important is the fact that the hotel now seems to cater for large package tour holidays. This gives the hotel a bit of a down market vibe. Rather unfairly, it appears that the independent travellers (who invariably pay full price) are given the worst rooms right at the back of the compound, whilst those on the package tours get rooms right on the beach.

Second the rooms do need to be updated. The bathrooms appear tired and some appliances just don't work anymore. For example, our air conditioning unit kept leaking water all over the room and bed!

Finally (and most annoyingly of all) the hotel management do nothing to stop people laying their towels out on sun loungers early in the morning to reserve places by the pool or the beach. It's absolutely insane - by 7 am people are going out in their pyjamas to chuck towels onto deck chairs! The management need to stop this from happening and remove towels and items that have just been left to reserve places. They also need to remove some of the loungers from the beach - it is currently rammed full of deck chairs that are so close to each other. This looks tacky and is more akin to a cheap Spanish beach resort than a pricey Bajan hotel.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Colony Club, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear mushis,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review of Colony Club Hotel. At Colony Club we appreciate receiving feedback from our guests, as we are always eager to find out what they loved and what areas they felt could be improved upon.

Colony Club offers a number of room categories to suit varied tastes. Whether a guest books through a tour operator or directly with us, we always encourage our guests to book the room category of their preference. Our rooms were completely refurbished a few years ago, and we continue to make improvements and enhancement to the look and feel of our rooms, such as the newly installed Nespresso machines in all guest rooms. We continuously assess new opportunities to keep our product current and your feedback will certainly be considered in the next phase of updates.

Management and the beach ambassadors are currently diligently monitoring the reservation of beach loungers, and items are removed from loungers after two hours of no guest use.

We appreciate the opportunity to remedy any issue or inconvenience our guests may have while with us, and we would have preferred to speak with you whilst you were here to discuss and address your concerns.

Although Colony Club may not have been the ideal accommodation for your needs, we thank you for your feedback as it helps us to identify any areas for improvement to ensure the highest level of guest satisfaction.

Kind Regards,

Khadijah D.
Social Media/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Beautiful design and location, right on the beach with a pool perfect for both kids and adults. Excellent food, superfriendly and helpful staff, the hotel manager Gayle Talma goes out of her way to make sure that everything is perfect for you. We will definitly come back for many years to come!

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Today is the last day of a week long stay here at Colony Club, and I have to say I am very sad!!! This is place is so relaxing, pampering and kid friendly it's awe inspiring.

I have be traveling to Barbados since I was a child (about 39 years), so I have stayed at a lot of places on Barbados. This is my second stay at Colony Club and it's now my home away from home when in Barbados for the next 39 years or as long as I am able to travel.

The property is perfect island living, the beach is perfect in the true meaning of the word perfect, and the STAFF from Gayle Talma on down are world leading (so above world class).

My 8 year old daughter said it perfectly this morning when the hotel manger asked about her stay. As we all know kids and drunks are the only ones that tell the truth!! :)

"It was a great trip BUT next year we are staying two weeks not one"

Sean H. George



Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Colony Club, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Dear Livingthedream007,

Thank you for sharing this glowing review of your recent Colony Club holiday experience! We are absolutely thrilled to read such glowing comments, assuring us that your stay was truly enjoyable and memorable for the entire family.

We are honored that such a seasoned visitor to our island has now found their home away from home with us, and we, too, look forward to welcoming you back for years to come.

Colony Club sits on a pristine stretch of white sand beach, and we are happy to know you found the beach, property and staff to be world class.

We look forward to welcoming you and family back to Colony Club soon for another relaxing and enjoyable holiday, for two weeks next time around!

Kind Regards,

Khadijah D.
Social Media/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Our second stay at the Colony Club and quite frankly we will happily return. Our visit was over the Easter holiday and the hotel was in fairly full swing. Being the school holidays it was a true family hotel with children a plenty. No complaints at all - it did everything it needed to. Lovely staff, clean and well equipped on a beautiful stretch of the platinum coastline. A good honest hotel and with a happy wife & children I can ask for no more.

Room Tip: With children get a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Colony Club, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Andy W,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review on your recent holiday experience at Colony Club Hotel.

Easter truly is a wonderful time for a family holiday, and we are pleased to know that you and your family thoroughly enjoyed your Easter break with us.

You've certainly summed up some of the key elements that together create the Colony Club experience, including our prime beachfront location on the platinum coast and our wonderful staff.

We look forward to welcoming the entire family back for your third visit to Colony Club soon!

Kind Regards,

Khadijah D.
Social Media/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barbados
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The food is great at all times but Sundays are better. Easter Sunday was exceptional. From the seafood starters to the fantastic grill to the carving table...exceptional fare. Staff service is great and ambiance is fantastic. Beside the freeformed pool for the eye, you have a pan band for the ear. Highly recommend.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Club

Address: Porters, St. James, Porters, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Colony Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An exclusive retreat with elegance and colonial charm." Where old world charm meets new world standards of quality and comfort. The 96-room Colony Club is the Elegant Hotels Group's flagship property in Barbados with lush gardens, healthy dining options, complimentary watersports and fitness classes, organic garden, WiFi, bespoke tours and more. Ideal for couples and honeymooners seeking an exclusive retreat with impeccable service in a stunning location, Colony Club tempts guests back year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Regatta Hotels and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colony Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Club Hotel Porters
Colony Hotel Saint James
Colony Club Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.