We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel for a relaxing holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Club to your Saves list
Colony Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Porters, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence 2014
A TripAdvisor Member
“A wonderful hotel for a relaxing holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had a thoroughly relaxing week at the Colony Club Hotel. Our room was excellent (luxury poolside room) and we liked the spaciousness of the hotel which is very well laid out. The gardens are a feature of this hotel and we also loved the beachfront location. The hotel is kept very clean and well maintained, the staff are welcoming and provide a good level of service. We found the quality of food and choice for breakfast was impressive.

One minor thing that we felt could be improved was the timing of the yoga sessions which often clashed with either breakfast or dinner times.

We intend to return to the Colony Club.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    149
    47
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
39
140
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We have stayed at Tamarind Cove twice but decided to have a change and try the Colony Club. It was a special occasion our Golden wedding anniversary. We booked a pool garden view although we did like the look of the pool access rooms we decided to book the pool garden view. Our travel company had said that as we were previous guests of Elegant Resorts we may get an upgrade. He said he would email them 2 days prior to our departure. We had a very warm welcome from the staff and was told to leave our luggage and take a seat in the lounge and relax. We were asked what drink we would like and we sat very relaxed with a rum punch. We were shown to our room ( pool garden view ) there was a chilled bottle of sparkling wine waiting to greet us and a vase of roses and a card from the hotel. A lovely surprise. We were disapointed not to have been given an upgrade. We were disapponted in the room as it had an adjoining door. On a previous holiday we had an adjoining door and the guests in the next room were very noisy. the next morning we asked to be moved but we had to pay for the upgrade. We had a Junior pool suite it was a beautiful room but it really wasnt in the right area for us. We thought it was too quiet and we could just about see a glimpse of a pool down below. We felt like we were in a jungle the trees are just huge.We had a lovely holiday but just wished we had booked the pool access room in the first place. We have now learned not to expect anything! The staff are just great. A special mention to Antonio he loves his job and it shows .He will go far in life. Canapes, ice cream, cold towels & cucumber for the eyes, all presented on the beach with a smile from Antonio. All the beach staff are excellent. They put the large towels on the comfy sun beds. with an extra towel which is a nice touch. Breakfast is great. We just thought that the food was very pricey nearly as much as the top class restaurants therefore we found it very quiet in the evenings as everyone seemed to be going out. Music finished about 10.30 we never saw any dancing it really could do to be a bit more lively. We had a few meals in the hotel resturant in the evening we thought the food was good. I did think that the dining room in the evenings should have had nice white tablecloths on them. I was ill the 2nd week of the holiday and the staff were great, it really made me feel looked after nothing was too much trouble for
them. Hoetown is just a short stroll away., a few bars and restaurants there. The beach at Colony Club is one of the best in the area, sea is wonderful. There were a few issues with the sun beds as the ones in the morning sun got taken first. There are a lot of trees blocking the morning sun. On the day of our departure we were given a pool access room to use until our taxi arrived, This will be the room that we will book on our return. Yes we will be back even though i Have given a few negative comments.
Nothing is ever perfect what one doesnt like another does. Overall the Colony Club have lots of repeat guests and the staff make this happen. You wil go a long way to find staff as good as them. Many thanks to Jason for finding my misplaced item.

Room Tip: pool access rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Colony Club, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear 914olaT ,

Congratulations on reaching your 50th year of marriage! We thank you for choosing to celebrate such a momentous occasion with us and we are happy to know that you appreciated the special touches that the team prepared in honor of your anniversary.

We always strive to please our guests, and whilst we do note special requests, as always they are subject to availability and are thus not guaranteed. We always encourage our guests to book the room category of their preference, to ensure a most comfortable and enjoyable stay, and we’re so happy to know that you found the room that you like, the Luxury Poolside Room.

We’re pleased that you enjoyed our signature beach service. It really is the little things, such as receiving afternoon canapés and ice cream on the comfort of your lounger, that goes a long way. I join you in commending Antonio and the entire Colony Club team for the stellar service they provide daily to all of our guests and I’m sure they will be pleased to know that they have made such a fond, lasting impression.

We also thank you for sharing your constructive comments, as we are always eager to receive feedback from our guests to better help us recognize any areas that could be improved upon.

Overall it appears as though you had a truly enjoyable stay with us at Colony Club Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you again upon your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Khadijah D.
Social Media/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Just returned from our third trip to The Colony Club and it did not disappoint. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. The food delicious. The beach excellent. Newly refurbished Junior Garen Suite,beautiful.
Thank you Gayle and staff for another memorable holiday. Hope to see you next year.
Joan and Ian Menzies , Tulliallan, Scotland.

Room Tip: Our favorite room is a Junior Garden Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Colony Club, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Joan M,

Thank you for sharing this review of your third visit to Colony Club Hotel! It was certainly our pleasure to welcome you back with us and we're pleased to know that you once again had a great stay.

We're happy to know that you love the recent renovations we've made to the majority of our guests rooms, where they now mirror a modern, yet sophisticated look with the new décor reflecting the luxurious feel of a Bajan plantation home.

We also hope to welcome you again next year for another excellent visit!
Kind Regards,

Khadijah D.
Social Media/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We have been to the Colony Club twice now and it is just perfect for us - quiet, lovely comfortable rooms, good location, friendly staff, etc, etc. We travel to Barbados in October so it will always be a bit quieter anyway, but can't imagine wanting to stay anywhere else now.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First time in the caribean, normally we stick with the Indian ocean. What a beautiful island with wonderful people. Not as great as some of the places in the Maldives but lovely just the same.

Colony club was originally the home of wealthy aristocrat... whose wife persuaded him to convert it to a hotel. Or so the story goes.

It's one of the nicer hotels on the island. Great views... staff were lovely, especially the water sports team. Food drink all great.

It's walking distance to lime Grove... The local mall... We tried most of the expensive resteraunts like Nici... but in the end my fave was the incredibly simple Just grillin.

Awesome place

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations at Colony Club, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Dear gerald b,

Thank you for sharing this review of Colony Club Hotel. We are quite honored to know that you chose our property and island for your first visit to the Caribbean! We hope that it will be the first of many.

Colony Club is a retreat rich with history and it seems like you certainly did your research. We are situated in quite a prime location as you have mentioned, providing our guests the perfect gateway for experiencing everything the island has to offer.

Thank you for your kind comments highlighting the high quality dining experience, lovely views and even lovelier staff.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Khadijah D.
Social Media/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I have lived on the island and still go back once a year. I love going to the colony club either for lunch or a milkshake. Beautiful place to swim at dusk and watch the sunset. If you are thinking about staying here it is one of the nicest places on the island and you will have a great time.

Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is probably the fifth review of this place because we keep coning back. Prices have gone up and that still has not fended is off.

The place is outstanding in all respects, congratulations to a great team headed up by a superstar.

Nothing is perfect, the beer is too warm you must make your own chilling arrangements an hour so before you need one. Cocktail of the day a problem as the bar has no coconut water, slightly comparable to a Fullers pub not having London Pride.

Get over all that and you are in paradise.

Room Tip: All good wouldn't panic to get sea view, just buy a postcard and stick on the wall
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Club

Address: Porters, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Club 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An exclusive retreat with elegance and colonial charm." A magnificently restored former gentlemen's club, where old world charm meets new world standards of quality and comfort, the 96-room Colony Club is the Elegant Hotels Group's flagship property in Barbados. Ideal for couples and honeymooners seeking an exclusive retreat with impeccable service in a stunning location, Colony Club tempts guests back year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Regatta Hotels and TripOnline SA so you can book your Colony Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Club Hotel Porters
Colony Hotel Saint James
Colony Club Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.