We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ups and downs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Club to your Saves list
Colony Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Porters, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ups and downs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel had a lot of what I was looking for: not too big nor too small, a wonderful calm beach, kids friendly but nor specific for children, good food. I was surprised, positively, by the great amount of complimentary water activities as well as of other tours, etc. Rooms were great, they had a kids club, my kid really enjoyed everything. Visuals are very nice too! Kid loved feeding the fishes. A lot of great restaurants nearby.

Negative surprises: I had read several reviews about how everybody in the staff is nice and polite, and while some were indeed and really wanted to help, some were almost rude and not helpful at all. Maybe some guidance and training can help, because this was a problem we met almost everywhere in Barbados, with very few exceptions. Other negative issues: people "reserving" the beach lounges for hours while they go do other stuff. I ended up having to go to a farther pool with my child or sitting far because someone left a book in a chair at 6 am and the chair remained empty in front of me. Not the hotel's fault, of course, but maybe they could adjust the number of chairs and adopt more strict guidelines for using the beach and pool structure.

After all, still think it was the best option for my family, really enjoyed the stay and it was unforgettable for my kid, which was the whole point of the trip.

Room Tip: It would be nice to ask for a room closer to the restaurant and main pool, making for an easier acce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations Manager at Colony Club, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Dear Camila F.,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to review your stay with us at Colony Club.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our variety of daily activities, as we consistently try to provide plenty of amenities for our guests to enjoy while staying with us. We are also glad to hear that your children enjoyed the holiday and the kids club.

We sincerely apologize if you found some of our staff unfriendly or inattentive. We strive to provide only the most exceptional service, so we will definitely review with the respective departments and reiterate the importance of excellent customer service.
We do hope to welcome you back to Colony Club in the future.

Sincerely,

Alexa G. – Social Media/Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    178
    56
    20
    6
See reviews for
116
371
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We just returned from our vacation in mid July 2014. This was our first time in Barbados and we did a ton of research on the Island and hotels before landing on a few. Colony Club was our first stop. We are a family of four, with two kids 13 and 11. This resort is amazing (and I use the word resort because not all all hotels in Barbados are resorts). The staff is so friendly from the moment we arrived. Below is an overview:

1. Beautiful resort!
2. Get room 111 if possible. It is a garden view, Jr. suite that steps right out to the pool with the waterfall.
3. Rum punch is great - though be careful, it is lethal. :)
4. Incredible beach - we visited three beaches and this is by far the best. Calm, clear, not rocky at all.
5. Great activities - swam with turtles, water skiing, snorkeling.
6. Food - the food is great and the breakfast each morning was excellent.
7. Family friendly - we met two other families while there. The kids ran around all week while we were there and it was great to be able to let the kids roam the resort and know they were completely safe.

We try to never go back to the same places twice, but believe we will be coming back here again. Our other two hotels were Ocean Two and Tamarind. I will write separate reviews on them.

Colony Club will not let you down if you are looking for a fantastic resort in Barbados west side.

Room Tip: Room 111 is an excellent garden view, jr suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We came here on our honeymoon for 8 days in July, 2014. The hotel was amazing, we had a great time. Some of our favorite aspects:
-Watersports! They have a huge selection of included activities--water skiing, wake boarding, tubing, banana boating, along with hobby cats, kayaks, stand up paddle boards, and snorkel gear. We were never bored if we wanted to do something.
-They also have great complimentary tours included (SUP turtle tour, deep sea fishing, walks to town)--though if you want to participate book as soon as you arrive, they get filled up. And beach cricket on Saturdays!
-even Pilates, yoga, and other classes are all included.
-the beach is great--there is some coral off the beach which is great for snorkeling--if you want though just to the right of the resort there is a public beach with no coral.
-They bring around vegetable canapes, fruit and ice cream around 10 AM and some afternoons--which was just great!!
-The staff is really great and eager to please. Very helpful. We switched rooms to be on the third floor for a better view and they were happy to accommodate.
-Breakfast buffet had a great selection and was always very tasty (which is a surprise for a large buffet!). Lunch and dinner were not super cheap but were delicious!
-Happy Hours are great--and the afternoon happy hour comes with complimentary sweet potato crisps.
-Very close to holetown which has a great deal of dining recommendations (The Tides is a perfect splurge meal!)

We wish we were back already.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations Manager at Colony Club, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Hollie B.,

Many thanks for the fantastic review of your honeymoon, and congratulations on your marriage! Thank you for letting us be a part of a very special occasion.

It seems as though you had the chance to experience almost everything we have to offer at our resort, and we are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed every moment of it. Thank you for highlighting the many amenities that we offer here at Colony Club.

We continuously strive to provide our guests with an amazing experience, so it is wonderful to hear that we were able to deliver on our promise once again. We are delighted to have helped make your honeymoon fantastic and memorable.

We do hope to welcome you back to Colony Club in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alexa G. – Social Media/Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

First went to the Colony Club October 2013 for a week had a great time but it was too short. Went back this year July 2014 and took our 2 daughters for 10 days . We all had a great time and did not want to come home. The staff are exceptional very attentive to your every need . Rooms are very nice , kept to a high standard. The water sports are great and Jason and Keo do everything to accommodate you.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very spacious, so I don't think it matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was my 5th visit and we agreed the best yet. I have been with both family and mums and daughters trips and this hotel has been fantastic for both.

Pros:
- The beach/sunset deck/pool area is absolutely idyllic. Great that you can sit on the deck or the pool and actually be by the sea. (Note most or all of the other comparable hotels have the pools at the back often all in shade)
- The beach is big, lots of space to sit and beach ambassadors who bring canapes, fruit and ice cream as well as come round for drinks orders
- Food is delicious (breakfast, dinner and deck all day menu all great)
- Happy hour cocktails
- Water sports boys (Jason, Roy and Keon) are all excellent, really helpful and very friendly.
- Good proximity to Holetown, approx a 10/15 min walk or a 5 min bus ride, we were a group of girls and felt very safe and the locals were so helpful.
- Sun loungers are very comfortable

Cons (or maybe points to note rather than cons):
- The wifi is good in the rooms but round the pool and beach is very difficult to connect. However I would point out you are on a holiday and if your wifi need is that desperate there is a beautifully air-conditioned computer room or you get better wifi on the chairs in the pool 'island'.
- Depending on who serves you some cocktails do seem to contain slightly less alcohol at happy hour

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our first time in Barbados after a couple of busy days in New York and, despite our late arrival, we were greeted with a cheerful receptionist who treated us to a complimentary rum punch.
Our room was exactly what we wanted- Spacious with a balcony overlooking the intimate beach. Flower petals, champagne, fruit and treats were also available.
The breakfast buffet was consistently good with plenty of healthy options available.
We did the complimentary island tour, paddle boarding, snorkelling and yoga which were all well worth doing.
Minor criticisms:
1. Holetown is pretty expensive and our budget was stretched eating out every night. The hotel food is expensive but well worth the price if you fancy a good quality meal. If we were to return, we would go full-board or all-inclusive (if available).
2. Beach vendors selling Aloe got a little irritating after a couple of days.

Biggest selling point for the hotel is the staff who consistently deliver outstanding customer service. Always smiling, always happy, always willing to help or to stop for a chat. They are all a credit to the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations Manager at Colony Club, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
HL2111,

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review of your stay with us at Colony Club. We are so happy to have had you back for a fifth time.

We always strive to provide our guests with an incredible experience, and it is lovely to hear that you were impressed with us yet again. Thank you for highlighting our many inclusions and amenities as well.

We will pass along your thanks to Jason, Roy and Keon at the water sports and the entire team at Colony Club.

We look forward to seeing you at Colony Club again in the future for another wonderful holiday!

Sincerely,

Alexa G. – Social Media/Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

The Colony Club ticks all the boxes. Nice staff, particularly Carol, Shernell, Trevor and Henderson, who all deserve a special mention. Breakfast and dinner at the hotel are very good, and the location lends itself to a a short walk to Holetown if you prefer to try something different.

The guys at the water sport cabin do a great job and will always try to accommodate.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Club

Address: Porters, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Club 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An exclusive retreat with elegance and colonial charm." A magnificently restored former gentlemen's club, where old world charm meets new world standards of quality and comfort, the 96-room Colony Club is the Elegant Hotels Group's flagship property in Barbados. Ideal for couples and honeymooners seeking an exclusive retreat with impeccable service in a stunning location, Colony Club tempts guests back year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Travelocity so you can book your Colony Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Club Hotel Porters
Colony Hotel Saint James
Colony Club Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.