We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a relaxing family holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Club

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Club to your Saves list
Colony Club
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Porters, St. James, Porters, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Northampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for a relaxing family holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Lovely medium sized hotel and staff really excellent.a real Bajan feel.
Probably not for you if you are a Hotel Snob but for high quality relaxed accommodation and excellent food you will find the Colony Club hard to beat.

Special mention for Meschelle one of the waiting staff who was so lovely to our youngest boy.

If we came back to Barbados we would definitely consider this Hotel.

Ps although the Spa is small the massages are one of the best I have had....and I have had a lot.

Lovely holiday. keep up the good work Colony Club.

Mr and Mrs Wardley.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Club, responded to this review, April 18, 2014
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Wardley,

Thank you for your kind review on your recent stay with us.

On behalf of the entire team at Colony Club, we are thrilled to have provided a true Barbados experience for you. We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful holiday and were able to enjoy the many great aspects of our hotel, from our Laguna Restaurant to our relaxing spa services.

I will be sure to pass along your warm remarks to Meschelle, as I know she will be so happy to have been mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Frankie F. – Social Media/Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    50
    16
    4
    0
See reviews for
43
148
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We spent a week at the Colony Club and had a great time. The room was overlooking the beach and was clean and adequate. The bed was very comfortable and huge, needed a walkie talkie to speak to my husband!!!
The staff there could not do enough for you they were polite and helpful at all times. The grounds and garden were kept beautifully. The pool cleaned every day and the beach combed everyday too.
Some of the staff were so helpful Chucky thank you, also Terry your smile and laugh were very infectious, thank you.
I did the yoga and aqua aerobics and both were fantastic , I enjoyed them very much. For the money we spent we both thought it was reasonable. I would recommend this hotel for couples and couples with young children.

Room Tip: Our room was a good view of the beach and the sea. 205
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

Had two weeks here recently having been before 18 years ago and found it much the same. Since our last visit we have travelled extensively and are therefore more critical than we were first time round. Staff were mixed in terms of friendliness and helpfulness. Food was average- certainly not 'fine- dining' and breakfast quality was not as good as other hotels in the West Indies. Omelettes made to order were the best choice. Making toast was a long- drawn out experience as the two toasters were so inadequate that bread had to be put through twice which meant queues -with frustrated guests. The Sunset Bar and Terrace were lovely after an afternoon on the beach but service was very slow and often took 15- 20 mins to get a drink. Eating at night here was difficult as candlelight was not sufficient to dine with. The Bajan Fish buffet was average but the International buffet was better. We ate next door at the Coral Reef Club several times where both the service and food - for almost the same price- were impeccable.We also ate at other local restaurants which were equally good. Such a pity that the Colony Club with a better beach couldn't
match the culinary expertise of their neighbour.! The beach is great for swimming and combined with the water sports is hard to beat. Downside is the close proximity of the sun- loungers which are hard to get front- line if you arrive late. Beach touts are around a little but are well- mannered and not intrusive.Our room was at the back of the hotel and away from the main building. It was a bit dated but a very big room which we kept rather than asking to change. Housekeeping was a bit erratic - not consistent- and our room wasn't usually serviced until mid- afternoon. The supplied hairdryer was so sticky and was obviously not cleaned regularly.Footpaths were hosed every morning which made them slippery- a bit dangerous,The hotel is in a lovely situation with a great beach but we feel that if we came back again we would use it as a base only and eat out much more often- which a lot of guests seem to do.

Room Tip: Room 127 was very spacious, secluded but with no view. A bit dated but very private with lots of war...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Club, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Coc1948,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Colony Club.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful beach, as well as our variety of complimentary water sports.

We regularly receive compliments on of the high quality and selection of dining choices here at Colony Club. We were disappointed to hear that we were not able to meet your tastes. We also regret to hear of your disappointment in our housekeeping. The comfort and happiness of our guests is our main priority, and our housekeeping team works hard to provide a clean and comfortable environment for all of our guests. We will be sure to address these issues to ensure we deliver the level of service and product standards that we strive to meet.

Again, we appreciate your feedback, as it helps us to continue to identify areas for improvement to enhance the overall experience for our guests.

We do hope you give us another opportunity to welcome you back to Colony Club in the future.

Sincerely,
Frankie F. – Social Media/Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We did LOTS of research before we settled on the Colony Club. Our pockets aren't bottomless but we love Barbados and a week in the sunshine after an English winter was worth saving for. There may be more stylish hotels on the West Coast, and the Colony Club may not have the refinement of the privately owned Sandpiper or Coral Reef but there's much to love about the meandering pool, beautiful gardens and wonderful staff (on the whole - there are some properly grumpy ones in amongst the general smiling). Our room was right at the back of the property which suited us just fine - totally quiet each night and while the bedding wasn't the best (ripped sheets, not good) it was perfectly ok for an entry-level room. The breakfasts are terrific and the lunch menu more than adequate (starters are a good enough size to keep you going until dinner). Dinner's a bit mixed - vast portions, delicious fish, beef not so good and occasionally more than we could manage. The buffets which happen three times each week are fine but pricey - we had a very special last night a la carte dinner for two at Coral Reef for less than the set price of Colony's 'International Buffet'. The beach is lovely though the 'tradition' (encouraged by the staff) of bagging sun beds before breakfast is frankly ludicrous and adds a level of stress to what should be perfect relaxation. There were always beds by the pool by the afternoon when the beach is in full sun and the drinks service to both beach and pool is charming and efficient. So the Colony Club may be slightly rough round the edges but it's a fabulous location and the good far outweighs the easily overlooked deficiencies.

Room Tip: Nothing wrong with the rooms at the back of the garden. Lovely views over the trees and no noise fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Club, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear MaryMH41,

Many thanks for taking the time to share your comments from your stay at Colony Club.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the many wonderful aspects of our resort, from our lagoon-style pools and beautiful gardens to our dedicated staff.

We are delighted that you were satisfied with your room and room location, as the comfort and happiness of our guests is our main priority. We are sorry we did not have the opportunity to address your concerns with the bedding, as we would have been more than happy to resolve the issue to meet your preferences.

With recent renovations to our Laguna Restaurant, we are glad that you enjoyed our quality of food as we have expanded our menu items to incorporate healthy and seasonal options, while integrating the local Bajan cuisine. In regards to our nightly dinners, we offer six à la carte evenings, and one buffet evening (our ‘Seaside Grill and International Buffet’).

Again, we thank you for sharing your feedback as this will assist us to continuously improve and enhance our product and service offerings.

We do hope to welcome you back to Colony Club in the future.

Sincerely,

Frankie F. – Social Media/Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Godalming, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

When we arrived at this hotel I was initially really unimpressed. I was really put off by the tiny swimming pool that was mostly shaded. I am not a great beach fan, preferring to jump in the pool rather than the sea. However, I have completely changed my mind, I loved the beach and the soft sugary sand, the waves and that gorgeous sea smell just bowled me over. The staff are very friendly, the food is excellent and the hotel is clean. The only issue I found was the beach attendant was I would describe slightly off. There was a red flag as the sea was choppy, but this red flag consisted of a towel stuck on to a stick. That water was strong and the flag barely visible, but I did notice the pool attendant moved it so people could see it, but they ignored it and carried on going in.

Room Tip: We upgraded to a sea view room, but it was side on to the sea. We could see it but only if we looke...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Club, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear legobrio,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us at Colony Club.

We are delighted that our resort helped play a role in changing your mind about the beach, and that you were able to enjoy the many aspects of our beautiful shore.

Although we do not have an Olympic-size pool, our guests generally love our lagoon-style pools that wind throughout the property and are positioned to offer guests different areas where they can swim, sunbathe, or enjoy a nice, cold beverage while relaxing in the pool.

Again, thank you for your feedback, as we do use the input from our guests constructively in an effort to improve upon our offerings.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Frankie F. – Social Media/Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

stayed here for eight nights and we were very impressed. We've stayed in many hotels in Barbados and chose this one this time because of the location (it's close to Holetown). The staff were all very friendly, the food is good and the rooms are lovely. We had an ocean view room (306) to start but it was right next to the kitchen and the fans started at 5.30 in the morning. We asked to move and it took a couple of days to sort, because of that they gave us a luxury ocean view for 3 nights with no extra charge. These rooms are really nice with huge balconies. We also looked at a luxury pool room and they are lovely with steps down into the pool. You can walk the beach in both directions and there are lots of restaurants, bars and shops in easy walking distance, we didn't have to use any cabs. The breakfast buffet was very good and there was lots of entertainment in the evenings. We never had any problems getting sunbeds, there seem to be plenty and they are super comfy. The watersports were great. We will definitely return to this hotel, it ticked all the boxes for us.

Room Tip: luxury ocean view or luxury poolside but avoid 306
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Guest Relations Manager at Colony Club, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Angie058,

Thank you for your warm comments, and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are grateful that you have highlighted all of the wonderful amenities and services offered at Colony Club, and we look forward to the pleasure of seeing you back in the near future!

Sincerely,

Frankie F. – Social Media/Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

We visited Colony Club Barbados 11 years ago and had a great holiday then. It was nice to see the place again and look at the things that had changed. The staff are still really friendly and helpful and we again enjoyed the whole experience. The sun bed situation can get a bit fraught with beds being 'reserved' from 7 am but we always managed to find a good spot. There are activities on offer to suit most people. You can do any or none. I did the Art course which was really interesting and fun with a local artist giving help and advice. Nothing was too much trouble and all requests were dealt with straight away. Can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms seem best. Very quiet and efficient a/c.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Club

Address: Porters, St. James, Porters, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Colony Club 4.5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An exclusive retreat with elegance and colonial charm." Where old world charm meets new world standards of quality and comfort. The 96-room Colony Club is the Elegant Hotels Group's flagship property in Barbados with lush gardens, healthy dining options, complimentary watersports and fitness classes, organic garden, WiFi, bespoke tours and more. Ideal for couples and honeymooners seeking an exclusive retreat with impeccable service in a stunning location, Colony Club tempts guests back year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Cheap Tickets, Regatta Hotels, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Colony Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Club Hotel Porters
Colony Hotel Saint James
Colony Club Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.