We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sunday Lunch at the Colony Club” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Club

Save Saved
You added Colony Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colony Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Porters, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save Up To 30%!
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Porters
Seoul
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch at the Colony Club”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

First class dining experience. Buffet lunch with tiger prawns, king prawns, smoked salmon, green mussles, crab legs, flying fish, king fish and everything in between. Chicken, stews, cold salads, Angus beef steaks, lamb chops, prime rib joints and ham joints. Hot and cold vegatables of all kinds. All food was prepared and presented with perfection. Nothing on the buffet was allowed to be empty even though the restaurant was crowded. Staff was attentive and courtious. Wine list excellent with a very nicely priced Chablis. Set price which included VAT and service which made the actual meal cost very reasonable for what you receive. Also the setting is great. Open air beside a large shallow pool type lagoon with live steel drum music. Located on St. James coast, $25 US taxi from Bridgetown.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    327
    167
    53
    20
    7
See reviews for
102
338
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a lovely week in Barbados on the West Coast which offers a lot of good hotels and restaurants all fairly close in proximity to each other. The Colony Club, in my opinion, was good but was not consistently good. (Im giving it 4 circles - very good, because its more than a 3 circle rating of average) It has a great position right on the beach and is a 10 minute walk into Holetown where there is some shopping and bars. The hotel's service is not consistently efficient for it to be a 4* hotel and can be quite laid back and sometimes horizontal! If you are used to snappy customer service, this may not be the hotel for you. Although, Barbados, as an island, is pretty laid back so maybe not out of the ordinary here. No one is rushing anyway. Some of the reception and restaurant staff were very friendly and cheery but some were not. Cory and Matthew serving drinks to the sunloungers were excellent. The food was good. The breakfast offered cereals, fruit and full english, the evening meal was very good but there was a lack of atmosphere in the restaurant. We were on half board but missed a few dinners to eat out at restaurants we wanted to go to through recommendation (Tides, Cin Cin, Daphnes, The Cliff). The rooms were average (cleaned each day very well). Ours had a nice sea view and you could hear the waves lapping on the shore from your room. The complimentary water sports were great as rather underused as a fair few guests seemed to be in the 60+ age group. The 3 water sport guys were great and would take you sailing, waterskiing, for a boat ride up or down the coast to go celeb villa spotting or fishing with reel and bait. The hotel has two tennis courts but as it was about 28 degrees we played at 6pm when its dark and about 4 of the lights had gone, so we told reception and next day they were mended, but if its 4 star why were they out in the first place? The hotel seems to miss a hands on Manager casting an eye over everything. We never saw the Manager during our week there. There was a complimentary excursion to the east coast on a Wednesday which is worth booking. Sharon who is head gardener does a short tour around the pool gardens which was very good indeed. The sunlounger experience was more miss than hit. The towels were late to come out each day and usually the supply ran out fairly early on - again there was nobody responsible for this and when you come to a dream beach like this one, you want a welcome and an experience. I warmed to the hotel towards the end of the week when you got used to its ways but apart from the individuals I have mentioned, the hotel didn't seem to operate in a particular happy and efficient way, it felt a bit unloved. We hired a car for the day and went over the island, Speightstown, Bathsheba etc. The St Nicholas Abbey (not an abbey at all but a former sugar plantation) was worth a visit for the film it shows. Definitely coming back to Barbados, but probably wouldn't chose the Colony.

Room Tip: Garden & pool rooms darker from shade of palm trees. Ocean view rooms lighter and the sea is ri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The staff were very friendly and helpful particularly Corey on food and beverage who was exceptional !
Very pretty beach area in fact one of the best in st James but the rooms were very ordinary and desperately need refurbishing
Food excellent and the Mosquitos and sand flys we're a huge problem as there is a lagoon pool by the rooms which attracts them

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Second visit to Barbados, first to the Colony Club. What a find! From the moment we arrived we were made to feel so welcome. Beautiful gardens , wonderful pools and proper comfy sunbeds! From treats on the beach at lunchtime to rum sours watching the sunset on the sun deck was truly wonderful. While the quality of food at the hotel is exceptional it is worth sampling the local restaurants.... The Lonestar and The Beachhouse are two of our favourites. We stayed in a ocean view room which we loved for both the view and listening to the waves each night as we went off to bed. Pure bliss! Hubby enjoyed the water sports , especially the paddleboards. Loved taking our daily walk along the beach to enjoy all the xmas decorations nearby villas had placed in their gardens...amazing. Already looking forward to our next visit!

Room Tip: Ocean view room 202... great view and steps from the beach, bar and restaurants!
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
341 reviews 341 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Had a great week at the Colony Club, from the welcoming rum punch to room initiation, we knew it was going to be good. Ocean view rooms offer a step onto the sand and into the beautiful turquoise water, just be careful of some reef close to shore, then a swim out to the pontoons. All water activities included, reasonable restaurants, a good value proposition, apart from close to Christmas the room tariffs go up exponentially! Its only a short walk to Holetown for alternative restaurants, cafes and some shopping.

Room Tip: ocean view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Stayed here to celebrate 25 happy years of marriage and what a celebration. Complimentary drinks while we checked in in the comfort of the lounge and,then up to our eaview room with a bottle of fizz waiting from the hotels manager. Wonderful views of the Caribbean only yards from our door, peace and quiet even tho the hotel was full. The breakfast was a feast every morning with everything from blackened fish with hot sauce to eggs benedict and fresh fruits and juices. Ice cream and frozen fruits delivered to your sun bed on the beach in case the work was getting too hard!! Even typing this is convincing me that we must return. Complimentary watersports and trips up and down the coast to the sister resorts or just for a spin to cool down on the motorboats were simple to arrange. I took advantage of the yoga class held in an air-conditioned room with picture windows overlooking the azure seas while hubby went for a round of golf at Barbados Golf Club, enjoying a fantastic package which included club hire, trolley and transport to and from the course for $75. Bonus was meeting Irish Golfing Legend Roddy Carr (Milks a Winner!) What a gentleman. Fab food on site and everywhere we went and you can choose to suit any budget. Holiday of a lifetime.

Room Tip: Choose 101, 201, or 301 if you love to watch the sea and sunsets. Basic but perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knowle
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We arrived at Colony Club to be greeted by the customary welcome rum punch while the porter took the luggage to our junior suite which was situated overlooking the pool. 

Our initial impression regarding the hotel grounds was that this was not a large property but compact and very well kept.  In terms of ambience and the feeling of luxury the view from the Sunset bar and deck overlooking the beach definitely had the 'wow 'factor. The pool bar was also well situated and a hub of activity as guests typically enjoyed the numerous rum cocktails, particularly around happy hour at 4pm.

Security was good when we were there too. There was always a discreet security guard sitting on the beach moving on any particularly persistent beach vendors, although I have to say this wasn't a problem while we were there.

Location is good, close enough to holetown to walk or catch a bus. Barbados is small enough for the hotel grounds to be the starting point of any trip around the island.

The service in both the Laguna restaurant and the Sunset bar and deck was generally good
we only had one bad experience being the first lunch we had on the sunset deck when it took ages for our food to arrive. The waitress later apologised and we only noticed when we came to settle up that the hotel had deducted this meal from the overall cost of our bill (around $40). Amazing really.

In terms of the accommodation our junior suite was fantastic.  Our four year old daughter was also staying in our room and she had a converted sofa bed which was fine. The bed was queen size and very comfy whilst the room also had the benefit of its own bar. The bathroom was of a high standard with a big corner bath, we did have a few problems with the flushing of the toilet but I guess this sort of thing is not uncommon at most hotels. Every night the maids would bring in a turn down treat and you could also arrange to eat outside on the bedroom patio area if you wished to do this at lunchtime.

One of the best things about the Colony Club was the standard of food. This was amazing!
My wife and I have been fortunate enough to eat at some of the best restaurants around the world and we both agreed that the food quality served here is definitely 'up there'. We would actually say this was the best food we have been served at any hotel in terms of variety, taste, and size of portion.  One thing the hotel does put on is a Bajan Fish grill on the sunset deck on one week night and a Lobster and Jazz night on another. Entertainment is provided and the choice of food is out of this world with chefs cooking actually on the beach at sunset. The one night we were invited to the The Managers cocktail party on the Sunset Deck, I thought this would be simply a tray of pre poured out cocktails, it wasn't, it was effectively a free bar of anything you wanted for around 3 hours! Now that's customer service!

Finally I need to mention the various trips that we went on that were put on by the hotel itself. The island tour and the visit to Oistins fish market both at a nominal charge.

We noticed that a number of guests were regular 'returners'.  We generally always try somewhere different every holiday but if ever there was a place to return this would be it.

We highly recommend Colony Club. Go on treat yourself!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Colony Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Club

Address: Porters, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 hotels in Porters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Club 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An exclusive retreat with elegance and colonial charm." A magnificently restored former gentlemen's club, where old world charm meets new world standards of quality and comfort, the 96-room Colony Club is the Elegant Hotels Group's flagship property in Barbados. Ideal for couples and honeymooners seeking an exclusive retreat with impeccable service in a stunning location, Colony Club tempts guests back year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Caribbean Online Mgt Corp. so you can book your Colony Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Club Hotel Porters
Colony Hotel Saint James
Colony Club Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.