We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So Happy to be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Colony Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Colony Club to your Saves list
Colony Club
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Porters, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“So Happy to be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

When we left the Colony Club in November of 2010 we had just survived a Hurricane and 3 days without power and water....but we survived thanks to the wonderful staff at the Colony.
Fast forward to October of this year and we're back at the Colony.
The same faces greeted us upon our arrival, those same faces that had been so supportive a few years prior. We were pleasantly surprised to see that a number of renovations had gone on during our absence, the pools looked fresh and inviting, the Sunset Deck looked amazing too.
We stayed in our "regular" beach front 1 Bedroom (+Den) and it was just as we remembered.
The Colony Club has a wonderful feel about it, the gardens are extremely well kept and the pools are located throughout the property. The Food is very good and there are a number of themed nights that are both entertaining and diverse in nature.
The Beach has returned and is a great place to sit and enjoy a good book.
The water is fantastic and there is always a water sport available right next door.
The Sunset's you'll see from the Colony Club are stunning.
My family and I are looking forward to returning as soon as possible.

Room Tip: All the rooms are very well appointed. The Garden Suites are the best bargin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    180
    56
    20
    6
See reviews for
119
374
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We just flew back from a short break in Barbados at the Colony Club and it did exactly what it said on the tin....beautiful, relaxing, friendly, romantic and the weather was perfect every single day. I couldn't recommend this hotel more and have heard from other friends who have been to Barbados that it is one of the top 3 on the island so we took recommendations from those who have been many times before. Only small complaint (and nothing to do with the hotel) was that at the time, the beach next door was going through a coral preservation project which included moving alot of large rocks with a huge JCB all day. Probably only a short term affair and will have probably ended come high season.

Room Tip: The far left of the complex is likely to be more peaceful than the right as it is situated next to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woburn Sands, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Half term week UK October 2012
The most friendly staff that we have met,food excellent ,we didn't do meal plan as we went to other places which we think is worth doing ,the fish pot and the cliff are outstanding
Rooms excellent we had a garden room ground floor ,which was like having your own pool
Beach was lovely, the friendly "guard" did enough to keep things private
Highly recommended for peace and quiet , flights easy ,transfers easy ,
Maybe some renovations to teh outside areas woudl keep it up to date
Business centre really for the kids, wifi not good around the resort but you ban buy from local telecom provider ,but in todays business climate wifi should be strong everywhere
we look forward to going back soon
Interestingly, we met quite a few returning guests ,all the staff remembered them ,so we look forward to that as well

Room Tip: ask for ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Stayed here last year, and really want to go back. The resort is very nice, clean, and relaxing. Kids are allowed to stay at the resort, but never caused any problems for those trying to enjoy peace and quiet. However, we went during the off season, so I am not sure how busy the place gets otherwise. The rooms were extremely comfortable... the only problem we had was housekeeping not coming to the room as the hotel said they would. During one occasion, the housekeeper opened the door without warning while we were changing, but we had the door chain latched, so we were mostly just startled. The food was very good, but pricey as we had expected. Breakfast was included with our stay, and provided a huge assortment of options... which were all delicious. We walked to Holetown on multiple occasions to shop at the grocery store, get souvenirs, and go to the bank/ATM.
The resorts beach had quite a bit of coral reef in the area located directly in front of the lounge area, but once you got out into the water, it was beautiful. Also, a bit further down the beach (all Barbados beaches are public) you could find areas that were completely sandy and free of reef. The resort had complimentary water activities, which was a big perk as well. The Colony Club staff are friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We loved this place! Friendly staff, amazing destination....we couldn't fault the place! We advise you keep ontop of your bar/hotel bill as the cost does add up and if u haven't booked yet do consider adding a meal plan however expensive it looks it's probably a good deal, we thought it would be easy to eat out at an equivalent price but it's not....it's costly and the food here is good enough to eat here for most meals with the occasional meal out. We recommend the happy hour cocktails, but they are really strong.... Go to jujus bar and lonestar, they are fab, my boyfreind proposed at lonestar, everyone clapped!!!! We hope to return for the honeymoon. The best thing of all to be honest were the people.... Nicest in the world, go here!!!!!!

Room Tip: Poolside rooms a must, if u r flush, the deluxe beachside room was amazing but try to barter costs d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a great experience at the Colony Club. Arrived late and were welcomed with Rum Punch and a plate of food in our room. The staff were all warm and friendly. Karene took care of all our wedding plans. No worries! Weather was warm and beach was absolutely beautiful.Enjoyed both the beach and the pools. It did rain one day(tropical depression). We relaxed on our balcony, complete with bed. Enjoyed watching the beautiful humming birds. The whole trip/wedding was so relaxing and romantic. Colony Club took care of any and every request we had to make us comfortable.

Room Tip: Had to use stairs to get to second floor. But worth it for the views . Plus could watch the birds in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

A wonderfully calm & beautiful property. A little dated, but a great Bajan hotel. The staff we're fantastic, apart from a couple of very surly waiters. The bar staff were great, except one. The dining staff equally so, except for one, Nigel. At times it seemed like the "regular" guests ruled the roost, pushing out the newcomers. The management were excellent, welcoming everyone with a personal "touch" The rooms need updating, old is not always "charming".

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colony Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colony Club

Address: Porters, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Porters
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Porters
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Colony Club 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"An exclusive retreat with elegance and colonial charm." A magnificently restored former gentlemen's club, where old world charm meets new world standards of quality and comfort, the 96-room Colony Club is the Elegant Hotels Group's flagship property in Barbados. Ideal for couples and honeymooners seeking an exclusive retreat with impeccable service in a stunning location, Colony Club tempts guests back year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Tingo and Despegar.com so you can book your Colony Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Club Hotel Porters
Colony Hotel Saint James
Colony Club Barbados/Saint James Parish

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colony Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.