We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Base” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Halcyon Palm

Save Saved
You added Halcyon Palm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Halcyon Palm
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Sunset Crest | St James, Sunset Crest, Barbados   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
West Molesey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Base”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Second time we have been to this resort, staying at Halcyon Palm, I think the better of the two, although Travellers Palm has the restaurant and reception. We always stay for three weeks over the Xmas/New Year break and the service never falters. Yes, we have had some problems with the apartment this year, but they were immediately dealt with. The owners do need to spend some money on regular maintenance though, so these little mishaps don't happen. It is a great base, with friendly staff and good food in the bar restaurant if you want it.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    27
    23
    3
    7
See reviews for
18
31
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
london
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2012

we travelled the 8th of september 2011 with virgin holidays. the price we paid would not even cover our flight much less a one bedroomed appartment in a lovely residential part of barbados. i travel quite a bit to the carribean and am well aware that you must not expect european standards when it comes to accommodation.

the staff always tried to oblige us while on holiday. there was a mix up with rooms but they allowed me to pick where i wanted to stay and cleaned it for us. the rooms were large and the appartment could easily sleep 3 adults and a child.

the cleaning is done every other day so bear this in mind. i suggest if you really want it cleaned nicely bring some all purpose spray and clean it before you unpack. the fridge and kithchen generally a bit run down. but a swift clean up and its o.k.

the pool was clean and situated right outside the appartments. you have a little veranda and cable tv. a microwave,kettle,some pans and crockery were also at hand.bring some washing up liquid and tea towels and a beach towel this is not a resort.
the pool is not very big but was always clean.

the shower was adequate but my daughter moaned as it was a little rusty and midew. this is partly because of the very high humidity in the carribean which wears away paint and metal surfaces.we always had hot water apart from one day when there was maitenance going on.

you are 15 minutes stroll from a small mall with a supermarket that stocks waitrose food lol.the food prices are similar to what we pay here in england. i tried when possible to buy local brands of bread etc but i bought my own tea/coffee/snacks from england to save money. there is also a kentucky fried chicken shop and my fav fast food outlet little chef in spieghtown 15 mins by bus which is lots of fun.. the roti den was anather fav. again 15 mins by bus but the bridgetown bus.

the cheaper resturants a main meal and a soft drink will set you back around £15 each. not really cheap for what you are getting but hey you will have saved a few pounds on your holiday so you can afford to eat out in some of the nice resturants which there are many.

this appartment complex is on a private estate and is a really nice area and people are very polite here.bear in mind this is quite an exclusive area near sany lane etc and is much quieter than lawrence gap. there is also quite a walk to discovery bay beach around 20 minutes..
i would also add that virgin are really nice to fly with. the flight stewards were all so very nice. lovely crew. we even saw some when we were out one night at the reggae lounge and they were having a great time.

anather tip if you are travelling with virgin book the v-room i really loved it. the food was lovely a high breakfast/brunch kind of thing. with excellent service and lots to do with the children. even 2 tiny babies were catered for with a padded play room. excellent.

in all i thoriughly enjoyed my stay here its not sandy lane so dont expect accommodation like that. and be prepared to give it a little bit of a clean up if your paticular and get out and enjoy yourselves.
if you want to self cater but you want more plush envioroment then try a 4-5 star resort but you will be paying a lot more!

Room Tip: much of a muchness here but this is a split site. the other site had a bar and resturant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

stayed here for 2 nights and re-booked at another hotel. this was way below basic and i would not stay here again. Although staff friendly they were not that helpful . i had to drag our cases to the halcyon from the travellers were the reception is without any suggestion of help even though my mum is 76.
the room was far from clean and the rest looked pretty bad.
the bar wasnt open on the second night as the bar staff hadnt turned up..no alternative place to go was suggested..if this had been my first visit to barbados i would not have returned .
Luckily i have been before and there are some fabulous hotels to stay at just not this one!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sunset Crest hotels

swindon
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

we stayed here in october and we didnt expect anything wonderful because we did get such a bargain deal the rooms are nice and clean but the surroundings needs a tidy up the pool area was a bit of a mess need a good paint and some of the sunbeds have seen better days, the pool around at the travelers palm is better which you can also use. We went to barbados to go and lay on the white sandy beaches though so it didnt really matter to us. The air conditioning is a must but is expensive so take some extra money for that the location is good just down the road from sandy lane which is a nice beach to go on you can swim out to the turtles :) also holetown centre is about a ten minute walk to all the restuarants. so its a good base if you want a nice cheaper alternative to an all inclusive.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

This was self-catering accommodation . It had everything you needed, supermarket and restaurants nearby. Was cleaned every day with fresh linen and towels every second day. Accomodation was comfortable and it was a great base for travelling around the island. Very quiet neighbourhood and no crowds by the pool. Tremendous value. I would go back.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed at Halcyon Palms for 3 weeks and enjoyed every minute. The rooms were spacious, the beds comfortable and it was peaceful at night. Having visited Barbados every year since 1988 and stayed all over the island,it is getting more difficult to find good value for money SELF CATERING accomodation.This place ticked all the boxes.Yes it is a bit tired in parts but go with the flow,don't "nit pick" and you will have a great time.By the way we did not see one cockroach or creepy crawlie.That is what I call cleanliness.The beds were changed frequently and so were the towels.Friendly staff. Will be booking for next year.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011

Barbados has always had the reputation for being for the rich and famous, not so, thanks to Virgin Atlantic. This is the second time we have been, and manage to get great deals.
The first time we stayed in the Halcyon, we found the apartments large but rather dated, I suppose the price we paid we could not complain, it suited us. The kitchen area was big enough for us to cook, and clean.
Maid service was almost daily, with fresh bedding and towels.

However, the second time we went, we found the Halcyon to be more tatty and in need of a fresh lick of paint, the pool area was in very bad neglect, with broken loungers which were black!
The towels grubby, and the bathroom grouting in need of a good clean.
We were told they are going to get an overall in April of next year, which we hope they do, as these are good solid roomy apartments, and affordable.

The Halcyon is situated among pretty houses and villas, and it's like you are living with the locals.
It's very quiet and peacful, not suitable if you like to party! And if you are up early enough, you get to see the monkeys over the road.

You cannot fault the staff, and the warm reception they welcome you with, nothing is too much trouble.

This year, because Barbados is so expensive, we stayed in more and cooked for ourselves which saved us a lot of money, we bought local goods which is cheaper, as the main brands are imported and ridiculously pricey. The apartments have a proper sized oven which abled us to do proper meals, and not like the two ringed hob you get in Europe.

Air con was about £100 for the fortnight, which is needed, and it was lovely to go to bed at night and be able to sleep, it is not noisy, but a gentle humming.
The safe cost approx £20 for the fortnight. We hired a car for a week direct from Wendy in reception and not through Virgin, which cost £200. Barbados is a beautiful island, and a car is a must to explore, and visit more beaches.
The beach from the Halcyon is about a 20 minute walk away (surfside) which we did not mind, as the exercise helped with the excess food and alcohol :)
Shops and restuarants are also 20 minutes away, with 'Just Grillin' being affordable with lovely food.
Catch the Reggae bus into Bridgetown which is an experience in it's self.

What we like about Barbados is, that it is very safe to walk around even at night, although I take a torch to walk back to the Halcyon, the people are one of the friendliest I have met and go out of their way to help you.
We found this year, that you can have unlimited internet connection from reception for about £25 for the fortnight.

We are booking to go again next year, and just hope that the Halcyon gets the promised lick of paint it so desperately needs. It would be a shame if Virgin pulled it's contract out of the Palms resort, as it is affordable for people like us.

Room Tip: We always ask for the top floor. Very peaceful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Halcyon Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halcyon Palm

Address: Sunset Crest | St James, Sunset Crest, Barbados
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Saint James Parish > Sunset Crest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Specialty lodging in Sunset Crest
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Halcyon Palm 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Halcyon Palms is an intimate collection of 25 One Bedroom units located in the heart of the West Coast. We offer an affordable option for those wanting to experience the famous platinum coast at an affordable rate.Sister hotel to Travellers Palm we can accomodate families, groups or private getaway for couples. Short stroll away from Travellers Palm. Beautiful poolside view from all rooms. An excellent locstion for that deserved restful unforgettable holiday at this charming intimate resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Regatta Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Halcyon Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halcyon Palm Hotel Sunset Crest
Halcyon Palm Barbados/Sunset Crest

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Halcyon Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.