We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So chilled, nice food and people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfer's Cafe

Surfer's Cafe
Maxwell Road, Oistins, Barbados
1-246-420-9283
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 restaurants in Oistins
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Taunton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“So chilled, nice food and people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Great food for after a hard day's surfing or just lounging. A really chilled out bar, with art work on the walls, a view over the water and that real surf shack feel that all the adverts promise. It's one of those places you can just sit and watch the world go by.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    127
    67
    14
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Beautiful setting right over the water - magnificent cocktails, fabulous food, great service, and very chill and comfortable. Went back the next morning for coffee!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Poor food, great setting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I really wanted to like this place - the location and view is fantastic. The food, however, was a big let down.

I am no food snob and I even gave them two chances: firstly eggs benedict (the worst I have ever had - unbelievably salty, poor quality ham, and separated Hollandaise), and secondly a chicken spinner sandwich which was mediocre at best (cold, tough chicken).

If the standard of the food could be improved, this would be a great place.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Credit
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic find in Oistins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Little gem in Oistins! Great food, fab service, nice venue in seaside seats. Live music was a nice touch. We ate here a few times on our recent vacation and everyone we referred at our hotel LOVED it. Great laid-back place, no attitude and amazing value! Will definitely be on the list on our next visit to Barbados. Wonderful place

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Impressed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We reserved a table over the water but when we arrived the table was taken, we were shown to another table to order and have a drink and when the other table became available we moved there. We had An evening meal and the food was delicious and the service great and good value. Will definitely visit again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Surfer's Cafe also viewed

Christ Church Parish, Barbados
Christ Church Parish, Barbados
 
Oistins, Christ Church Parish
Rockley, Christ Church Parish
 

Been to Surfer's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Surfer's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.