We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Already planning our next return to turtle beach...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels to your Saves list
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Dover, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Already planning our next return to turtle beach...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2010

This is the friendliest hotel we have ever stayed at for sure!
And the staff are what makes this hotel stand out as something special...

It was our honeymoon so we high expectations as we have previously stayed at Excellence Riveria - Mexico which has the "wow" factor with its suites and 7 restaurants etc.... But we were not disappointed. A warm welcome greeted us and we were helped to our room. This was the only negative of this resort - Some of the rooms are very "tired" looking but I am lead to believe that this is a typical standard for the caribean. After much consideration I went back to reception and explained we were on honeymoon and were not happy with the quality of the room. We were very quickly upgraded to a much better wing of the hotel and room and balcony twice the size! So now the holiday could start.....So thank you Ella on reception for sorting this small hitch!

There are 3 restaurants to chose from and all are of a very high standard. The Italian restaurant is fantastic but please note does not allow children and men must wear full trousers and no trainers/flip flops! But worth some visits while you stay. The main restaurant is superb and pretty much all holiday is a la carte ( we only had buffet twice in 2 weeks) Another good reason for this restaurant is most nights there is live music and it is of a good quality & completes the evening if not heading out for the nightlife of St Lawrence Gap. Breakfast & lunch has very good choice daily too. We never had it but there is room service available at a small charge I believe. Petro the restaurant manager is a diamond and always on good form.

The drink choice is good for an all inclusive. And Ryan the bar man makes the best cocktails ever - with an extensive listing available. Even the house white wine offered was nice!

We loved Crystal on information desk who helped book us some restaurant reservations, she remembered our names all holiday which is always nice!. We ate twice out of the hotel as it is nice to come of resort of course! So a must if you go is Champers restaurant. Very romantic and massive portions so my advice is don't eat all day! They knew it was our honeymoon so the restaurant gave us best table which was on cliff edge decking with the sea lapping up the rocks all lit up. They even decorated our table with wedding confetti (its the small detail that counts)! We also ate at Pisces which was very special too and equally had great ocean table views.

You can walk to St Lawrence Gap and be in the main nightlife in 10 minutes but a taxi is only 10 babardos dollars. Taxi is recommended if you wish to avoid the locals trying to "sell" you "stuff"! The best bar which everyone seems to go to is Mcbrides but dont go before 11pm. They do different themed nights including live bands, DJ's, 70-80's nights etc.

The hotel is due for refurb end of 2010 so be interesting to return for our 5 year anniversary and experience even more luxury but hopefully no refurb with the staff as they are just simply the best!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    622
    183
    101
    52
See reviews for
683
740
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnshire
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2010

Just got back last week, and we all loved it ! Yes, the odd things needs a bit of a paint and the shower in the bathroom needs updating, but generally nothing is too much trouble here. There weren't enough cushions for the the sunloungers one day, but the next day a load of brand new ones arrived. Captain Sam's Watersports centre is fantastic, all the boys are fab with the kids and they can't do enough to help with drinks, ice-creams and towels etc. The Tommy Turtle Kids Club was a great place for the kids to escape the sun for a couple of hours and covered any age of child from 4 upto 10 in our case. We will definately be returning to here, and would highly recommend to anyone

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uncasville, Connecticut
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

My husband and I, after pouring over reviews on tripadvisor, settled on Turtle Beach. After a 4 1/2 hour flight (with no food) we were welcomed with rum punch and lunch! The front desk staff check you in while you're seated in the lobby and they explain everything. The food was pretty great for buffet style. Dinner is a la cart every other night with a choice between two restaurants (there are 3 total at the resort). I won't lie, service is slow for a la carte (dinner lasted about 1 1/2-2 hours) but you don't really notice it too much because the atmosphere is lovely.
The rooms could use a little work ( touching up paint, etc) but we hardly noticed because our room was rather large (we had a junior suite with a pool view) with a lovely balcony that overlooked the pool and part of the ocean. The bed was huge and quite comfy...and air conditioning was a gift from God considering how hot it gets there.
Whomever complained about the drinks being too strong; last I knew that wasn't a bad thing. The drinks and food were excellent. The staff at the activities desk were super helpful and aided us in planning excursions during our stay. We didn't do too many water sports, just the sailing and boogie boarding. It would have been nice if they didn't charge for jet-skis.
While my husband and I went there for our honeymoon, and it was large enough to get away from people if we wanted, the place is also great for kids.
We loved Turtle Beach and would go back in a heart beat.

P.S. The only one thing that I would complain about is the entertainment every night. It doesn't get over with until 10:30 p.m. which means that you don't fall asleep til then. Not a big deal, but I didn't think it was necessary to have performers every night.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2010

Our daughter and fiance chose Turtle Beach for their tropical island wedding. With some trepidation we spent the wedding week with them and his family. We needn't have worried. We had a superb week in a lovely relaxed and friendly resort, and could not have been looked after better. The resort could benefit from some refurbishment of the rooms, but this in no way detracted from the enjoyment of being there. For an all-inclusive resort, the quality of the food and drinks could not be faulted. If you are a wine buff, lower your expectations and enjoy what's on offer, especially the cocktalis and the Mount Gay Rum ! We would most definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2010

Very briefly.
Outstanding service at reservation with Elegant Hotels (my trip had to be rescheduled twice due to incredible circumstances - snowstorm in New York and two kids with pneumonia the following week), but the staff was incredibly helpful and the management showed unheard of sensitivity.
The resort is a very good location, though it need be mentioned that the sea is always a bit rough due to the wind, but one can still swim safely, also for the kids. The wind makes also the heat much more bearable.
The structure is very nice and the rooms are very spacious (there were 4 of us - my wife, I and 2 kids aged 2 and 4) in one Ocean View Junior Suite and there was plenty of room.
Food is fine, not unforgettable though, and always aplenty, especially when served at the buffet (at lunch and every other night). Dinners a la carte can be a pain for families with kids, since service is not expedite (which I guess makes perfect sense for all other guests who are under no pressure to finish the meal). However, all the staff is extremely helpful and goes a long way to satisfy any need (but they do it in their own good time, though).
You can visit the other resorts of the same chain in the island, which is a good opportunity to change landscape and have a glimpse of Barbados. Been once at Crystal Cove, which is much smaller than Turtle Beach, somewhat cosier, with a smaller beach and more tranquil sea, but less appropriate with small children (lots of stairs) and the food did not seem as varied and good.
In the end, it was really good value for money and would certainly recommend the structure, especially if you have small children or are really for a lazy vacation (if the kids are bigger and you wish to move around I guess Barbados is a good place for more adventurous holidays - no need for an all-inclusive resort, also costwise).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2010

My husband and I and our two children stayed at the Turtle Beach hotel for the first time and have just returned. We are already planning our second visit.
There are so many good things to say about our stay, firstly The welcome we recieved and the friendliness of the staff, nothing was too much trouble for them.
The food was amazing, we looked forward to every mealtime and especially enjoyed the italian resturant on our own whilst the kids ate together downstairs.
The downside to the food was I ate so much i now need to work hard to lose the extra pounds.
The beach is fantastic and Captain Sam, The watersports guy is lovely. My children enjoyed the jet skis and my husband ,the fishing.
We were approached quite a lot by local sells people on the beach but if you are not interested in what they have to offer, we found that a friendly and polite conversation with them saw them on thier way, I saw some people be quite rude to them but there really is no need as they are all very nice respectful people.
I totally recommend Turtle Beach to families with children of any age, The variety of pools,the fact they could help themselves to drinks at the bar,the internet room and the amazing beach and sea kept them so entertained that my husband and I felt like we were on our second honeymoon.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2010

Excellent location,excellent room, excellent food, Perfect cocktails, fantastic service by fantastic staff. thanks to all for a perfect holiday.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Address: Dover, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Dover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.