We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Peace” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels to your Saves list
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Dover, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Plymouth
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pure Peace”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Myself and my partner visited this hotel in June, It was not what we had expected but still a beautiful, airy hotel. The staff were very friendly throughout our stay and everything was clean and tidy.

The entertainment was good, however we felt there wasn't much of a variety, mainly singers or bands. Where as we are use to a variety from other hotels we have visited. We did find ourselves having little to do once the entertainment had finished usually around 11 pm.

We were celebrating our anniversary and were informed by Elegant Hotel we would have a surprise in the hotel room, which we never received, this was a little disappointing.

Food was amazing, lots of choice and yes there is the average British food there but lots of Caribbean influenced foods, Oriental foods available (depending on the day there are different themed foods.)

Overall though this hotel is lovely, beautiful beach (although the sea is rough, being North Atlantic side), Stunning food and the staff were very welcoming. I would definitely recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
88susieQ,

Thank you so very much for your review of your lovely stay at Turtle Beach. We are so pleased that you decided to spend you special anniversary with us.

We appreciate you highlighting the wonderful theme nights and food choices we have on our property. Additionally, we are pleased that the staff was very welcoming as we continually strive to provide our guests with the best possible experience.

I am very sorry to hear that you did not receive your special anniversary surprise upon arrival, but I will mention it to the hotel.

Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Alexa G. – Social Media/Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    622
    183
    101
    52
See reviews for
683
740
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014 via mobile

Fab place, total chill out. Room was fab, we had an upgrade as it was our wedding anniversary so thank you to turtle beach for that. Fab ocean view. Rooms are spacious - only minor downside there are few plug points & none near mirror for ladies to do hair. With sandals opening next door maybe think of a slight refurb to update rooms? Staff are all so pleasant & helpful. Buffets are brilliant, breakfast & evening. Downside was a la carte booking system wasn't explained so missed out on Asiagos on our anniversary night so maybe put booking system into room directory? Tipping staff was also difficult, maybe a cruise like system as we felt awkward just tipping our favourites - Ryan, Donna & concierge. Overall highly recommended, you will so enjoy.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We have just returned from a 16 night all inclusive holiday to the Turtle Beach.As soon as we arrived we were treated like royalty by the staff.They seemed to want to do anything and everything for us.They were polite,cheerful,and good at their jobs.This continued throughout the holiday.
The room was clean,quite large and comfortable.
The bar staff were plentiful,cheerful and helpful.Also the "shorts" were named brands which is unusual for all inclusive holidays.
The swimming pools were clean and tidy and more often than not we were able to get a sunbed.
The hotel had a private beach area which was lovely and had staff which looked after our every need.They even brought round trays of drinks for us every so often.The only problem was that the water was rough and you couldn't swim in it.The safety flag was either red or yellow the whole holiday.This was the only disappointment.
We went on a couple of excursions organised by Virgin One was the bus trip around the island and the other was a trip around the coast on a catamaran which included swimming with turtles.On both they were good value for money,great fun and the couriers great,helpful,knew their jobs and very happy and cheerful.We would recommend both trips to anybody going.
On the whole we had a great time,and would recommend Barbados and Turtle Beach for anybody wanting to go to the Caribbean

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a sea view as they are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EHGSocialMedia, Social Media/Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Bobandbreda,

Many thanks for the lovely review of your stay with us at Turtle Beach.

Thank you especially for highlighting our fantastic staff. We continuously strive to provide our guests with an incredible experience, so it is wonderful to hear that we were able to deliver on that front.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed everything the island had to offer, including the Virgin One tours around the island.

We look forward to seeing you at Turtle Beach again in the future.

Sincerely,

Alexa G. – Social Media/Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed at Turtle Beach from June 7-14, 2014. Great place! The food was awesome, staff friendly, room was spacious and extremely clean and comfortable.
Now for the disappointing part, the ocean water was very rough when we were there (perhaps it was just the time of year, the red flag was up the whole week), excellent for boogie boarding and splashing around in the waves, but not so good if you are looking for a relaxing swim in the ocean. That was not possible the week we were there.
I also knew going into the vacation this was a family resort so I knew there would be small children. I was just surprised at the amount of children that were present. A screaming 6 month old at dinner at the next table was not ideal. Overall however, it was a wonderful time. There was entertainment every night as well. On the Monday and Tuesday night there was a quartet of ladies called Virgo. All I have to say is Wow, can those ladies sing. Wonderful evening for sure.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Best holiday I have ever had.
Would definitely recommend.
The sea is rough but that gives you a lovely breeze so you never melt lol.
Fantastic kids club.
The gap for evening entertainment is walking distance and safe. People are very helpful and friendly and dont hassle you.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This was our second vacation to Barbados. Loved it the 1st time so went back for more. This time we booked the all inclusive with Denise from The Tropical Travelers and it made all of the difference in the world. When we arrived we were greated at the airport by Rose who was assigned as our own "personal concieger" and then on arrival at the hotel we received a very warm welcome from the staff at Turtle Beach. Rose spent time with us and help us plan our excursions and she personally called and booked the excursion and transportation for all events. Hotel was great and we had a wonderful ocean view. The staff was extremely helpful and curtious. This was a wonderful vacation! Thank you Denise and The Tropical Travelers for making it everything we were looking for!

Room Tip: Great view of the ocean from the upper rooms. Rooms with king beds are very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S Yorks
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

This has been the best hotel l have stayed in for the food quility, we were there in may this year, the staff were very nice and friendly, the room was very clean and spacious, The birds that came in the restaurant were a bit annoying but other than that it was fine, we used the buses at the end of the street very cheap. Plenty of good restaurants to eat in outside of the Hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor, 500 yds from the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Address: Dover, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Dover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.