We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels to your Saves list
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Dover, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Third time in Barbados and second time at Turtle Beach. So glad we went back and will return again. Staff very friendly, room spacious and clean, food excellent and Captain Sam's team were very helpful and patient.
We enjoyed everything especially walking along the lovely beach in the sunshine at 6:30 each morning.
As we had explored most of the island tourist attractions on previous visits we just lazed on the beach watching the surf roll in. The one attraction we did visit was the recently opened Garrison Historic Centre which we thoroughly enjoyed and would recommend it as it told the historic links between Barbados, England and the USA.
As a retired couple we felt very safe walking outside the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear David_and_Julia2: Thank you for writing this lovely review about your second stay at Turtle Beach Resort. It pleases us to know that the staff, the room, the food and our beach where you enjoyed those early morning walks, were all highlights of your vacation.

We are glad that you visited the Garrison Historic Centre where you gained knowledge of our country’s history. We eagerly anticipate welcoming you back to Turtle Beach Resort where our warm Barbadian hospitality will be awaiting you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    622
    183
    101
    52
See reviews for
683
740
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We went to Barbados and stayed here at turtle beach hotel. The hotel was great and the staff were very polite and helpful. The kids club helped us with our 2 boys so they were out of the hot sun in the afternoon. The kids club was great both of love it and the staff in there are very friendly and helpful.

The whole complex was great and right on the beach, the food is different every day and very well prepared and the kids food were able to eat early and entertainment in the evening is great.

The staff in the restaurants again very helpful and polite and always helped out when ask.

Would really recommend this hotel and Barbados, it's a great place to go and very friendly people.

Thanks to the hotel staff for our great stay and looking after the 2 boys throughout the 2 weeks we were there.

Thanks again.

The Lad Family (UK)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear JayL L: Thank you for posting such a nice review about your enjoyable stay at Turtle Beach Resort.

We are very pleased that you found our staff to be so polite and helpful, particularly those in the Kids’ Club. We are glad that you also enjoyed the food and the variety offered as well as the evening entertainment.

We truly hope to see you and the entire family again in the near future, where we await you with our warm Barbadian hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We spent 10 days at the Turtle Beach resort over Xmas 2013 , and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Our rooms were newly renovated and very nice and spacious. The beach was beautiful, although be forewarned that it is on the south coast of Barbados and the water can be rough, but it was great for sailing and boogie boarding, not for snorkelling. The staff at the hotel were very accommodating and happy to get you whatever you needed. Service was excellent. The food was also quite good and there was a wide variety of dishes that changed every day so you didn't get bored. They are constantly doing improvements to the property, which we noticed after new years , as they brought in all new gym equipment , new furniture in the lounge and beautiful new umbrellas. We were a large group and everyone seemed to really enjoy themselves

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms . We were on the fourth floor overlooking the garden and ocean with a great...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Jessemil: Thank you for posting a review about your enjoyable Christmas vacation at Turtle Beach Resort. We are genuinely delighted that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay, particularly your newly renovated rooms, the beautiful beach, the friendly and service-oriented staff and the tasty food.

We are happy that you noticed the changes on the property as we constantly aspire to improve our facilities and services for our guests. We sincerely hope to welcome you back to the Turtle Beach Resort in the near future where you will find even more awaiting you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

The location to the secluded beach is the high point of this hotel. When we were there no problem getting a great spot on the beach. Food was nice but they need to control the birds in the dining room. There mess and scavenging was off putting. Room was a good size and well appointed. Having the bar/snack hut beside the beach and pool was nice. Meals can be had here. The staff were on top of people going in to the sea and ensuring they kept out of danger . Boogie boards were available to surf the waves. The sea was good to swim in as long as it is not too rough.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Neil M: Thank you for posting a review about your stay at Turtle Beach Resort. We are very pleased that you enjoyed most aspects of your stay such as the beach, food, room, bar hut and the beach staff.

We are examining ways to reduce the presence of the birds at meal times; however in the meantime we ask guests not to leave their meals unattended. It is a continuous struggle as some guests like the birds and feed them which encourages their presence. We are also very mindful to keep the food on our buffets covered at all times as we always put the health of our guests first.

We hope to welcome you back to Turtle Beach Resort in the near future where we await you with our warm Barbadian hospitality!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was our second year back to Turtle Beach over Christmas - and it was amazing. From the warm and friendly arrival to the day we left, the staff were so helpful and friendly. Charles Maynard, the general manager was visibile throughout our stay, constantly checking that guests were happy. He was very attentive and hands-on, and that is rare to see in someone in his position.
Captain Sam, Maradona, Hilary and Emerson were fantastic throughout. They went over and above to make sure we had a good time.
The beach is gorgeous, and Captain Sam runs it so well. His team are great and we never had to lift a finger to get beds or towels. Gregg, Dario and Michael looked after us well.
Maradona was awesome and made sure that when it was rum punch'o'clock, that we had what we needed!
Hilary and Emerson were great in Chelonia and Waterfront. They really looked after us well.
The food was ten times better than last year. The level of service and friendliness was just unbelievable. We were really made to feel at home, and I cannot emphasise how good that made us feel. This particular vacation is a real chill-out vacation for us, and the staff really made it. Thank you to Charles and his team from all of us in Room 134.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear IM_ON_VACATION: Thank you for taking the time to post such a nice review about your second stay at Turtle Beach Resort. We are very pleased that you enjoyed all aspects of your vacation, including the beach, the food and particularly our friendly and helpful staff.

It was our immense pleasure to ensure that you had a memorable time with us once again! We eagerly look forward to welcoming you and the family back to Turtle Beach Resort in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stocton-on-Tees
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We have just spent Christmas in Turtle Beach we were really disappointed, food quality, choice and presentation terrible. Waterfront restaurant at lunchtime was dirty,chaotic and disorganised troughs of food that was cold and unappetising, salad selection was pitiful , soup like dishwater. Appeared to be lots of bosses milling around talking but not doing anything I could of organised it better myself. A La Carte was spotless and very well presented but again food cold and unappetising, Christmas Dinner was disgraceful freezing cold and overcooked, our only saviour every night was cheese and biscuits to fill up on. On a positive note entertainment was fabulous 8pm until 10pm every night just a shame it finished so early, the place went dead after that not even any quiet background music. Beach staff were very helpful and friendly, sunbeds on beach very comfortable but could do with a good scrub. We went to Asiagos A la Carte Restaurant twice service was slow but we were not in any rush, even though both times there was hardly any one in, food was really poor yet again. Breakfast is a bun fight people queuing trying to make reservations for evening and we are all waiting to be seated for Breakfast.
Toilet facilities really poor only one Ladies and Gents toilet to accommodate beach, pool and Waterfront Restaurant and they are not very clean at all, towel machine in Ladies broken for the whole time we were there. Needless to say we will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Dear Dee S: Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay at the Turtle Beach Resort. We are sorry that although you enjoyed some aspects of your stay, such as our staff and the entertainment, we did not meet your expectations in all areas.

We respect and appreciate that individuals have different tastes and preferences regarding food, and while some may enjoy the food, others may not enjoy it as much. We do wish, though, that you had informed us about your disappointment while you were still at the resort, as it would have given us the opportunity to prepare personalized meals for you. It is not our standard to serve cold and overcooked food to our guests, and we do apologize if this was your experience. Please also accept our apologies if you experienced slow service while dining in our restaurants. We will continue to stress the importance of quick service at our departmental meetings. We have recently introduced a Dinner Reservations desk in the Activities office which has minimized the queuing in the restaurants. The Waterfront restaurant has been recently refurbished and we are in the process of renovating the bathrooms. After our nightly entertainment soft background music is played in the bar until its closure at 1am. Please understand that the resort is family-oriented and while some guests prefer for the entertainment to end later, there are guests with young children who prefer it to end earlier.

Be assured that we will continue to focus on our Business Philosophy and its commitment to achieving high guest satisfaction levels. Please let us know if you change your mind and decide to visit the Turtle Beach Resort once again so that we can grasp the opportunity to make up for your disappointment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful place , lovely people , perfect location . Worth upgrading to a suit though theres a big difference to standard rooms . Family hotel in the middle of paradise would definitely recommend . Will go back

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear JDLCP: Thank you for posting a review about your honeymoon at the Turtle Beach Resort. It is very pleasing to know that you enjoyed our staff, the resort’s location and particularly our island paradise.

We hope to welcome you back to the Turtle Beach Resort for your Wedding Anniversary or even sooner. Wishing you a blissful marriage and a healthy, prosperous and happy 2014!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Address: Dover, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Dover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.