We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“almost amazing beach front hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels to your Saves list
Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels
4.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   Dover, Barbados   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“almost amazing beach front hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We stayed at Turtle Beach from 4th-14th May on an All Inclusive basis. The service provided by most of the staff was absolutely first class. The food was delicious and varied each day. I especially liked the fact that the hot breakfast was actually hot. There was always someone around to ask if you needed another drink or if everything was okay with the meal. The waiting staff were always polite and gave a smile as they responded to our thank-you's with a 'your welcome'. In truth i felt that during the quieter times the staff were falling over themselves to be nice and helpful. On one occasion i was asked no less than 6 times during one sitting if i would like another drink. This level of service was difficult to replicate at busier times which then made the service appear slower and less adequate.
Our room was plenty big enough though unfortunately the cleaner failed the 'tissue test'. We had returned from lunch on day 2 and she was just finishing up. The cleaner swept and then mopped the room through as we sat on the balcony to keep out of her way. The following morning i left a small corner of toilet tissue on a floor tile ( in an area which would be walked on) to see if the room was likely to be given similar attention for the rest of our holiday, sadly this was not to be as the tissue remained in place right through to day 10. Some may say this is sneaky behaviour on my part but i would ask you to consider that the room should be cleaned in a consistent manner and not just cleaned well whilst the guests are present. That is not to say that the room was not well maintained with daily towel changes etc.
The hotel has three restaurants and to access a la carte for evening meal you have to check which restaurant is providing that style of service and be sure to reserve a table before 4pm (as the hotel advise). Buffet style meals did not require a reservation. At one lunchtime ( 12.30pm) i asked if i could book a table and was advised that that particular restaurant was fully booked. The staff member then told me i should have reserved a table during breakfast time and pointed out that she had seen us 'come down for breakfast'. The manner of the worker was such that we almost felt like we were being told off. In her efforts to seem helpful she added that the Asian buffet for the evening was 'not all Asian' as there was salad available. We did have a laugh about this but recognised that the workers response was nowhere near professional enough.
The hotel provide a couple of shuttle buses on a few days of the week to well known shopping outlets. A shuttle to Lime Grove in Holetown is free. Lime Grove houses various well known and expensive shops but catching the shuttle gives you an opportunity to explore Holetown for the 3-4 hours that you are there. Next to Lime Grove is a petrol staion and immediately next to that is a small shopping mall for those that do not necessarily want to buy designer labelled articles.
The shuttle to Bridgetown to shop at Cave Shepherd (think Debenhams with Duty Free option)costs 10 Barbados dollars each. Well worth it considering that you once again have around 3-4 hours to explore the town if you wish. On our return to the hotel after visiting Bridgetown we arrived back at the restaurant for 2.30pm. There was no-one eating at the tables but all the food was still available and the restaurant was not due to close for 30 minutes. My wife went up to get her meal first and had to ask a staff member if a wrap could be prepared for her from the wrap station as it was currently unmanned and this was one of her favourite lunch time choices throughout the holiday. Approx 5 or 6 waiting staff looked unsure what to do (some giggled nervously) and after some discussion a worker was sent to the appropriate station to prepare the wrap. It seemed that the staff had felt there work was done early for the day as the majority of them went and sat at a table for a chat and a drink. I mention this as my wife was left standing around clearly needing assistance for a good couple of minutes. I confirmed with a waitress that the restaurant was indeed still open for another 30 minutes or so. Incidentally, during breakfast and lunch times the restaurant is visited by a high number of birds as they have asy access. I strongly advise that once you have got your table the bird situation needs to be monitored as despite their cuteness they are also cheeky and will drink from your glass or peck at any food that is left at the table. On one occasion a waitress placed a tea bag over a guests jug of milk and a bird then removed the teabag before helping itself to some milk.
The hotel has its own beach area and provide a towel and drinks hut. The staff are led by 'Captain Sam and his crew'. They encourage a few beachfront games and will occasionally take a tray of chilled drinks to sunbathers as they lie on their loungers. It was such a shame that on day 3 one of the workers approached me as i was sunbathing and having asked if i was having a good holiday he followed this up by asking if i would like a drink. Naturally i said 'yes please' and asked for two cokes. Unfortunately he must have forgot to pour them and i eventually went to the hut approx 30 minutes later to get them myself. The same chap was serving and this led to one of those awkward moments where we both pretended that we had never seen each other before as i did not want to appear to be complaining and he was either suffering from amnesia or was not able to apologise for his forgetfulness.
On one evening we decided to order room service as in over 30 years of holidaying together we had never done this (dont know why). We ordered and 30 minutes later the food arrived. Sadly it was luke warm and the dessert was not what we had ordered at all. We only had to pay for delivery so just put this down to bad luck.
These negative incidents could easily have been avoided and i would stll recommend the hotel as a great place to have a holiday. Entertainment is on offer most evenings and is usually by way of various singing acts. I am not Simon Cowell but can honestly say that a couple of the acts were awful yet entertaining because of it (if you know what i mean), think completely out of tune.
Barbados people (Bajan's) are very charming and friendly and the island itself has so much to offer for those that want to explore its beauty as well as its shopping opportunities. Hire a car or a driver and see the East Coast. The beaches are very clean all over the island and the sea is always warm and inviting.

Room Tip: all rooms are suites with good facilities so ask if you want a specific view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,959 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,001
    622
    183
    101
    52
See reviews for
683
740
11
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex, UK
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

OVERVIEW:
We stayed at the Turtle Beach in May after spending lots of time debating whether to stay at TB or pay a little more and stay at Crystal Cove. We are a family of 3 and spent 7 nights in an Ocean view room with a 2 year old boy. Our first impressions were poor. We arrived at the hotel and received a quick briefing on the admin side of things and shown to our room. We did request a quiet area as we didn't want our boy to be disturbed by music in the evening but we were given a room in the far corner of the hotel which looked a little unloved! The air con didn't work, it smelt of damp and generally looked old and tired. We went for a walk and the hotel was very busy and the pool area was crammed!

However, those first impressions were quickly quashed. We asked to move rooms and this was achieved the same night we arrived. We moved to a room on the 1st floor (room 247). Our bags were moved for us as was the cot. This new room was much better, everything worked, we had a great view and the room looked newly refurbished - we woke up the next morning with a fantastic view, a cool comfortable room, had a great breakfast and the hotel felt a little more quite and relaxed - we were happy again ready for a week of fun and relaxation.

PRO's
- The staff. Most of the hotel staff are very helpful and thoughtful. Most are friendly, always saying hello and they are not at all pushy for tips. We had one instance of the staff really going the extra mile which we were extremely grateful for.

- Cleanliness: The hotel is very clean, their seem to be lots of cleaning staff and there always seems to be deep cleaning going on somewhere.

- The food. The food was always excellent. Their was a good variety each night and there seems to be something for everyone. It was good quality, fresh and hot.

- Pool/beach service: We were often offered drinks/ice creams/fresh fruit by the pool and on the beach, this was a great touch.

- Drinking water: We were a little cautious about drinking the tap water at first. However we were assured by many people that it was ok. In the end we drank lots of tap water, It tastes great and was safe, even for our toddler.

- Air con: When set up correctly the air con in the rooms was excellent

- Toddlers: Although you need to be 3 years old to go to the kids club on your own, if you have younger children you can take them to the Nursery and use their facilities and toys which are very good. There is also a nice park area with swings and a slide.

CONS:
- Bar: It was not obvious what drinks are available, there was only a menu for rum cocktails, (however, they will make many drinks inc moijitos and milkshakes, you just have to ask)

- Sunbeds: Despite the hotel stating they have a policy of customers not reserving Sunbeds, by about 9am all the Sunbeds had towels over them with some of the guests not turning up until gone midday. This is terrible manners and meant we would be without shade/sunbeds even though we only wanted to use them for an hour or two. The hotel needs to enforce their policy better.

- Umbrellas: There are not enough and you definitely need some shade.

- Queues: For some reason at meal times you cannot take a seat and get your food, giving your room number later. You have to queue up, sometimes for a long time and wait to be seated (not ideal with a cranky and hungry 2 year old)!

- Hotel swaps: Despite being told you can make use of their sister hotels, we tried on several occasions to go to Crystal Cove and every time we asked they said it was full up. We got there in the end but only by getting up at 6.45am so we could be at reception by 7am to be first in the queue.

- Restaurant bookings: Again if you want to dine in one of the two a la carte restaurants you had to be at breakfast very early to book as it was first come first serve (we tried to book at 9am (during breakfast) and the first avaliable slot they had was 9pm).

- Drinks at dinner: Almost every meal we would make a drinks order as we sat down to eat and almost every time the drinks would come near to you finishing your meal. (Although water was provided instantly). It’s Probably best to get drinks first and take them with you.

- Houskeeping interference: The housekeepers were great except we were twice disturbed mid afternoon when our toddler was having a nap by people entering the room without knocking.

OTHER NOTES:
- Sea: We had a yellow flag the whole time. The waves were big but we actually enjoyed this, the sea was warm and great for swimming, it was ok to carry a toddler in if you are a strong swimmer and don't mind the waves splashing you. Our little boy loved being in the sea

- Sun: TB has a good breeze so it doesn't feel quite as hot as other places on the island, however the sun is just as strong and it was very very easy to burn. Keep applying the suncream there were lots of interesting tan/burn marks on the hotel guests!

- Local area: Safe and nice for stroll

- Birds: There are birds everywhere in the restaurants at meal times, however this is normal in Barbados and they were not a problem and the hotel are excellent a keeping the food covered.

- Aircraft: They fly over the sea near the hotel but there is very little noise, they are not a problem.

- Toddlers: A cot was provided for our 2 year old however it was a bit on the small side (although our son is big for his age).

TB vs CRYSTAL COVE
- CC was a great hotel with more couples than TB.

- The sea at CC was much calmer but there was a lot more coral which makes wading out to sea hard work. I preferred the sea at TB.

- CC seemed quieter and more luxurious. I would happily pay a bit more to stay at CC but saying that we were also happy to stay at TB and visit CC.

WOULD I RECOMMEND TURTLE BEACH?
Yes! If you are looking for a fun, easy family holiday then TB is perfect.
If you are looking for a luxurious honeymoon, No.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We got married at Turtle Beach and couldn't have asked for more, we had the perfect wedding day we were hoping for. Kinda organised everything we wished for, she was great.

The hotel is clean, friendly, the staff are all lovely, the food is good, lots of choice. The water sports team are great. We were in a group of 13 of mixed ages and there was something for everyone. I used the spa for a manicure and wedding makeup and I was very pleased with the results!

This was our first trip to Barbados and we would definitely visit turtle beach again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Located right on the beach, Sam in charge of the water sports was brilliant, catamaran trip a must, saw flying fish and turtles, will definitely go back to revisit one day .cocktails a must I went around the board twice in two weeks .

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for reviewing your vacation at Turtle Beach Resort. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and I am delighted that you had such a fantastic time. We eagerly look forward to greeting you with our warm and friendly Barbadian hospitality once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

I met my son for a 4-day get-together in Barbados, as he lives in Canada and I flew in from England. It was a great choice. The islanders are wonderfully warm and friendly, with none of the edginess I have experienced elsewhere in the Caribbean. And the service at Turtle Beach is outstanding. It's an all-inclusive resort hotel, which means there are absolutely no extras, unless you crave a bottle of French claret. If you want, you can have four meals a day, including afternoon tea. Smart, black-skirted servers attend to your every whim; yellow-shirted young men bring fruit punches and Cokes to the poolside, of which there are several, including a large open hot jacuzzi. I had a touch of pharyngitis after my flight and the lady at the hotel shop directed me to a local health clinic, when she could have made a cynical sale from her stock of aspirins. That's how caring the people are. One afternoon, open sandwiches were brought to my room, even though I had not asked. The buffets are fresh and copious with Anglo-Caribbean cuisine and, if you tire of that, you can book into an a-la-carte restaurant. The sea on this side of the island can be boisterous, with high crashing waves and a strong undertow, but the red flags go up when they should. There are plenty of blue loungers with integrated shades, for those who want to relax and sailboats available for the more adventurous. In the evenings, too, the management keep up the standard of being generous to their guests, with excellent local pop groups, jewellery shows, etc. As many as 90 per cent of the guests are English with a small smattering from the USA and Northern Europe. They are a comfortable crowd to be with - clean casual family people, some with babies and toddlers, and others of advanced years. It's a far cry from Sandy Lane or other hotels, where you can be exposed to the fashionistas of Worth Avenue or Rodeo Drive. In short, if you want a stress-free break with solid fare and good service in the Caribbean, Turtle Beach is a fine choice.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write about your enjoyable vacation at Turtle Beach Resort. It is pleasing to read about your lovely stay with us and all the staff friendliness and caring service which you experienced. We, the Management and staff at the resort truly do care about your happiness and look forward to doing it all over again, if you should decide to visit us again. We do hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Rochelle, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We visited Turtle Beach on April 17th - April 28,2013. This trip was so relaxing enjoyable. The entire staff was so accommodating and very polite. We stayed at numerous resorts throughout the caribbean and we found this resort being very delightful. We had an ocean front view which was simply breath taking our room # was 2437. We saw many wedding ceremonies and enjoyed the steel bands play from our balcony. The food was very good Breakfast,Lunch and Dinner. We would have liked if the refrigerator was stock with beer and bottled water. However, they had bottle water for an additional charge. We would like to thank Tara @ the front desk for all her help and Crystal for mailing my set of keys which I had left there. Thank you again.

Room Tip: If you like the sound of the ocean then I would suggest to stay in a oceanfront.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TracessYarde, Guest Relations Manager at Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay at Turtle Beach Resort. I am pleased that you had such an enjoyable and relaxing vacation. It is a delight that staff was so helpful to you during your stay and have become memorable to you as a result. We look forward to seeing you again hopefully, and with this next visit as our repeat guest, you will be pleased to know that your mini fridge will indeed be stocked. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We just returned form one of the best vacations ever, I cant say enough good things about the Turtle Beach Resort and their staff. It was so much more than I expected, We were greeted at the entrance with a rum punch, and check in was a breeze. Everyone is so freindly and always a warm smile. A special thanks to Raquel, Maradona, Damien, Duran, just to name a few, Captain Sam and his crew are amazing, and so attentive, a special thanks to Ricky and Dario they always made us feel like part of the family. I can go on and on, Thank you all so much, we will be back to see you again.

Room Tip: We were in Room 205 on the second floor, Oceanfront, beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels

Address: Dover, Barbados
Location: Caribbean > Barbados > Christ Church Parish > Dover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Dover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"A vibrant blend of contemporary style and informal elegance." A truly magnificent all-inclusive property of 161 rooms situated on a glorious stretch of the south coast of Barbados. Turtle Beach Resort uniquely combines contemporary style, informal elegance, lively atmosphere and a superb range of facilities suitable for all ages, including a supervised kids Club (for children aged 4-12) setting new standards for all-inclusive holidays to the Caribbean. Complimentary WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Regatta Hotels, Caribbean Online Mgt Corp., Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotel Dover
Turtle Beach Barbados
Turtle Beach Resort Barbados
Hotel Turtle Beach
Turtle Beach By Elegant Hotels Barbados/Dover

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turtle Beach by Elegant Hotels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.